We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, modern room, complete facilities at a very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #273 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good location, modern room, complete facilities at a very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Bangkok City Hotel promises what it has to be awarded as a Trip Advisor's Traveller's Choice 2012's hotel. This is a great hotel, located at the centre of the town. It is only 10 min walk to Ratchathewi BTS Station which connects you to other places of interest like chatuchak market and other bts stations. 20 min walking distance to all the great shopping paradise in Bangkok. Near to the hotel there are lots of hawker stalls selling local food like Pad Thai, TomYam and others (name it, there are lots!). Next to the hotel is a 7-11, and not far from there is a massage centre, Siam Health which provides a good massage skills. It is easy to get cab or tuk tuk just in front of the hotel. The staffs cant speak fluent english, but the service is satisfactory. The buffet breakfast is basic and delicious. The room really amazed me as you cant imagine what you get for the minimal amount you paid. The room is spacious, modern, clean, the toilet is complete, there is a hair dryer (which u cant find in most budget hotel), and the bed is so comfortable. There is a counter in the hotel, providing transport services to any places. We get the service starting from picking us up at the Suvarnabhumi airport, tour to Pattaya, and Damnoen Saduak Floating Market as well as the train market. The driver is friendly, punctual and the transport provided is clean and comfortable. Overall, it was a great experience staying in this hotel and definitely I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    502
    281
    50
    31
See reviews for
234
269
106
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
387 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

An average hotel with some friendly and helpful staff and some rude and unfriendly staff. Rooms are not big. If you add in an extra bed, the room seems congested. The twin room seems bigger than the double room. Toilet is ok with corner bath (not suitable for old people). The meals provided room service is good and reasonably priced.

We booked 2 rooms and one of the aircon was not working properly, for which the hotel techician
attended speedily. Lift lobby and lifts are not airconed, causing the lifts and lift areas to be pretty warm during the day.

Hotel provide transport to and from airport, for a price of B1000 one way by mini-van. If on your own taxi cost no more than B300 one way.

Unknown to us, we also discovered unknown guests staying with us in the rooms over the three nights we stayed there. The children were obviously terrified. We had a total of seven baby cockroaches (about 1 to 2 cm long) living in the rooms and toilets. When brought this matter to hotel, they can only spray insectcide in the room. Seems these guests are living in the wall to wall headboard and in the toilet bath. Highlighted this matter to the hotel manager for which he reacted positively.

Hotel is 10 mins walk to BTS station and about 20 mins walk to Platinum Mall and 25 mins to Big C. 7-11 is less than 50 m away.

Room Tip: Twin rooms seems more spacious than double rooms. Do not take King size-bed room as the bed takes up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank new88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Pros: At 1190bht/night for double, and 1090/bht/night for single room, this hotel offers excellent value for staying close to the center of town. Just 5 mins walk from Ratchathewi BTS station where you could get anywhere conveniently. There's also a small local street close by which offers street food at local prices.

The hotel was built in 2010, so rooms still looked pretty new, and bed was comfortable. Toilets were large and came with a bathtub.

The Cons: Reception staff was not friendly; they really should take a leaf from the old doormen who gave us a smile whenever we passed by. Wifi was available throughout the hotel, though the signal at my room was very weak. Breakfast was quite limited in selection too, but it's not really an issue for me.

In all, I will stay back at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alricy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Not a bad place to stay for a short weekend trip to Bangkok for shopping. Near the Ratchathewi station but otherwise the place is pretty deserted in the daytime with no convenience or eating places nearby. Good to stay here for convenience and a bunking place, but not advisable to choose this as a relaxing hotel to chill.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, but otherwise it's a budget hotel for a purposeful Bangkok trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuschial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

stayed here on my third trip to thailand and thought id give the koh san road area a swerve this time.only stayed here for 1 night as just somewhere to crash after my flight as i was leaving bkk the next morning.

for around 1000thb what i payed back in april i have to say the room was very good value and i liked the modern style of the rooms.good ac in room large bath/shower fridge,safe and flat screen tv.

location is great and the first time i made my own way there on the bts for 30 baht from the airport.make sure you know which side of the bts to exit to street level as i exited on the wrong side and traffic was going away from the hotel and i got blanked by at least 15 taxi drivers before a motorbike taxi man approached me and 5 mins later im there.

10 metres away is a 7/11 and just turn left at 7/11 and is lots of food vendors and various shops and chemists where you can pick up toiletries and such.

hotel has a swimming pool on 1 of the floors and although i didnt use it it looked clean and i would of used it had i not got there earlier.

didnt get a chance to eat breakfast as the breakfast area was full and didnt have time to wait.i did get chance to eat some thai food from room service in the evening and would describe it as just average and was quite surprising because the main customer base is thai/asian and hardly any farang at all.i should of just went out myself and turned left at 7/11 for some tasty street food.

overall i was happy with the bkk city hotel and would definatly stay here again as getting there from the airport is quick and very cheap compared to a taxi ride into the city.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view,i was looking at a side of a building lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tag420uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel Service is good, they take fast action when i complain that the aircond in our room is not functioning well. Breakfast variety is many but every day repeating the same thing. The staff there is friendly. 10 minutes from the bts station, near 7-11 store and many food stalls are nearby. So overall is good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_love_travelsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I must say this was a good find! Cheap, great location and the rooms are clean (bathroom was super clean and modern!) Lots of street food vendors by the road, 3minutes away from 7-11, and about 10 to 15 mins walk to the main city. For tours, I booked via the hotel's agent, Chen Tours. It was worth it and I will definately come back again.

Room Tip: Book your tours with the hotel. Very reliable and you will get the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#368 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#566 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#704 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#125 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#332 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#157 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing