We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location away from mob”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Ranked #451 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Yes, kindly update Hotel name from FX Hotel Makkasan to Hotel Link Makkasan.

From the airport, you can take the ARL directly to Makkasan station and it is about a 7 minutes walk to hotel. From MRT Petchaburi station, it is about a 5 minute walk (Exit 3)

Quite residential area with two condominiums nearby. Not much eateries around. Thankfully there is a 7-Eleven downstairs directly. All meals are probably a train ride away with a single stop by MRT to either Rama 9 or Sukhumvit.

Room is very basic for this 7th storey hotel. Basic air conditioned, hot water (no tub), safe in room and television with minimal channels. Bed is ok. Floor is not carpeted. Wifi is available for a small fee. Very no frills, just for sleeping.

Location is ideal for being in a quiet area. Travelling is easy via train or even cab. Recommended for those who just want a cheap alternative away from Central Bangkok crowd.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JWNYsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 395 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Please beware that the -- FX HAS CHANGED IT'S NAME -- to "HL Makkasan".

Neither they, nor the booking website I used, bothered to notify me of the name change. It may cause confusion when trying to find the hotel.

Essentially, this hotel is cheap, basic, but good value for money.

Public transport access:

Phetchaburi MRT Station... exit hotel, turn left and walk 3 minutes down the street. You cannot miss it. Cross the road (traffic lights make this easy), and enter the station. If arriving, leave the train and follow the signs to "EXIT 1" (there are three exits from the station, all clearly numbered). Once you exit the station, walk to the big cross road and cross to the right. Walk down the street for about 3 minutes (and you'll find the hotel right next to a 7-11 grocery store and fastfood Asian restaurant).

There is a sidewalk/pavement the entire way, and I had no problems with two suitcases.

Airport Train: Direct to/from Suvarnabumi. The station name is "Makkasan", and is connected with the previously mentioned Phetchaburi MRT Station via a sky-walkway. You do not need to cross any busy roads... there is an escalator and gently sloping walkways to/from Phetchaburi MRT Station. It's very civilised.

However... if you're travelling with a large group, I noticed that the airport train was quite full upon arriving (it has two stops before it arrives). Alone I had no problem squeezing in, and the train emptied quite quickly after the next few stops, but if travelling with a large party, this might be a consideration.

Room Tip: Higher rooms, or rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisPDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at FX Makkasan for 4 days. The hotel staff were entertaining and welcoming. They could speak basic english so communication wasn't much of a hassel. Wifi was available at every floor and their lobby. The connection was strongest in their lobby so we spent most time updating social sites with our vacation photos in their lobby. The hotel is modern yet cozy. No room service present but they have a restaurant with good dimsum.

Our room was at the 4th floor. It was big for 2 with 2 single beds, floor to ceiling window, tv and a quaint bathroom. The room was cozy and quiet enough to sleep in, my only problem was their shower, the covered part was only 1/2 of the entire span of the shower so water leak out on to the rest of the bathroom. Nothing a few extra towels could fix. The place is also secure, no incident of theft.

The place was 5-10 minutes walk to the nearest metro. Ideal for commuting.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed in FX Hotel Makkasan for 3 nights in Dec 2013. My friend and I checked in at about 1pm and were greeted by two male staff who appeared unhappy and cold. Over the next few days, we met with a couple of staff who could not really answer our queries in English. But Bangkok is an easy place to navigate, so with a map in hand we figured out a number of things on our own.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from Petchaburi Station. If you are hoping to spend a lot of time at the Pratunam area to shop, this hotel is not the place to stay as you'd have to switch train lines and it becomes quite a journey. However, if you don't mind and would like some peace and quiet at the end of the day, this is a good place. Petchaburi Station is one station away to Asok station, where there are some malls.

Please note that if you are flying in to DMK airport, there is no Airport Link Rail to the hotel vicinity. The people at the airport will persuade you to take an airport taxi. We found out at the end of the trip that the journey to the hotel was twice the price we paid for meter-taxi.

The amenities of the hotel was sufficient for us and it is clean. The rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable. There is a 7-11 just next door where you can pick up some decent sandwiches if you don't wish to eat breakfast at the hotel cafe.

Room Tip: The pillow was too soft for me, so I was a little achy each morning. I didn't check if I could g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hanfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Since this is a budget hotel I didn't expect much on the facilities and amenities. I was told that the standard room was full during check-in, so they upgraded me to the superior room which was commendable.
Clean room and polite receptionist. Boring set breakfast every day. If you are a budget traveler, that's your choice of hotel, because that's near the airport express (walking distance). However, there are no restaurants, no bars, no malls, no nothing nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc_stepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here twice on same holiday first time in Normal room then second time in Superior, worth paying more for superior as difference was great!

Normal room was quite noisy but clean and spacious, superior room was at back of hotel, no noise and very big. Friendly staff at check in, 2nd time they reconised me and welcomed me back even though I just stayed for one night three weeks prior!

Would stay here again, close to station...

If you travel from the airport take the 'city line' as there are two stations in Makkasan and the hotel is closest to the city line stop, the express train stop is further away, the link between train and underground is very easy... hotel is slightly closer to underground stop.

Room Tip: Back of hotel and front rooms are noisy from traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhcd_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is a short walk from Makkasan Airport Link station .It is okay for the price,clean but a bit dated. Painted concrete floors. Not much around the hotel, a 7 11 and an overpriced restaurant . One night as a transit stop is fine but not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan
#228 of 887 in Bangkok
506 reviews
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#463 of 887 in Bangkok
151 reviews
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#238 of 887 in Bangkok
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#81 of 887 in Bangkok
939 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#342 of 887 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit Bangkok
#126 of 887 in Bangkok
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok

Address: 1643 / 5 New Phetchaburi Road | Makkasan, Ratchathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Hotel Link Makkasan)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $27 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OVERVIEW Just a stretch away from Asoke area, D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok comprises 78 rooms with contemporary designs featuring a range of modern amenities to offer comfort and conveniencesfor both business and leisure travellers. Located within 5-minute walk to Airport Rail Link station and Phetchaburi MRT station, the hotel connects you quickly to theSuvarnabhumi Airport anddowntown Bangkok. THE ROOMS The 78 spacious guestrooms come complete with a vibrant and contemporary decoralongside tasteful furnishing to create a touch ofliveliness. The rooms are fully equipped with all essentialin-room amenities to provide the most enjoyable and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing