We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They upgrade my room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Ranked #389 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
1 review
“They upgrade my room.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there last february for 3 days. Very close to makkasan train station where you can ride direct to the airport non-stop. They upgrade my room and it was big. The staff were friendly and can understand english.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genagwapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    165
    132
    35
    19
See reviews for
53
89
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A no frill hotel....good value for money.

The check in was smooth....not a very friendly front office....but then can't expect much for the money paid.

The location is close to the Makkasan Airport express station and the MTS station closeby providing access to the city. Which means that it's located in such a way that you could just reach the place and go places in Bangkok using the city metro network from this hotel.

Not much of commercial activities nearby at walkable distance....but not very far from the Pratunam market or Sukhamvrit area.

Overall, I rate it very good for the simple fact that the hotel provides a net & clean place to stay for the money charged....no frills!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was given 2 nights free to stay in this hotel for a package deal with a Singapore travel agent. As the 2 nights are free, I was unable to review if it is value for money. I would only advise travelers that if you plan to stay in this hotel, expect the most basic. The first time I encountered hotel floor is not carpeted. It maybe near Makkasan Airport Rail Link Station but is still about 10 - 15mins walk and the walkway is not even. However, the staff is friendly and helpful. You can try to request anything and they will try to help as much as they can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyLittleCraving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Was 'bluffed' into this hotel (travel agent - travelstar from Singapore).

Stepped in and it was horrible; expect NOTHING but the basics. There aren't any cupboards; the safe is just out in the open, and we watched snow on TV for the four days we were in Bangkok.

And oh - if you deign to ask for directions from the staff, pray you don't get the manager (proprietor?) of the hotel. We asked for help to

1. Get to Platinum
2. Get to the nearest train station

Two questions. And this lady was REALLY impatient, and actually snapped:

"Any more questions?"

No.And no, I won't ever stay at your place again.

P.S. The hotel breakfast is consumed in the adjoining hmmm.... cafe? So basically there isn't F&B in this place.

P.S.2 There isn't WiFi - but there are computers in the main lobby.

PS.3 Don't bother to ask for extra pillows. We did. And only got them on the third day as apparently they didn't have extra.

P.S. 4 Bring toiletries.

The only plus point? It's near a train station. But then again... most hotels are. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ubercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a typical budget hotel. Location wise its near Petchaburi MRT but the walkway is not even and you have to share with the motorcycle taxi.

Surprising there is a lack of street food in this area so I'm not sure the location is suited to have a budget hotel. There is only one food outlet and its on the way to the MRT.

The biggest let down is the wifi, connection is sporadic at best, almost non-existence. The management should work hard on this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTIAN_LEE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

One thing i like is the friendliness of staff. They can answer my questions and granted our request for early breakfast. Food at chookdee is nice. Accessible to MRT but far from shopping mall. Massage is expensive. Better go to pratunam. But overall i like our stay there. I like the lobby as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannamaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here becuase of Makkasan Air Rail Station that are in the area. But it was hard to walk from Makkasan Air Rail Station to the hotel. The hotel was clean and and the room size were OK. The WiFi worked sometimes and sometimes not. It is a noisy street outside.

On the way back to Makkasan Air Rail Station took we a taxi.

If your purpose of the stay is to find a hotel close to Makkasan Air Rail Station, I would recommend to take a better hotel a bit away and take a taxi to the station.

Room Tip: Room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan
#231 of 862 in Bangkok
481 reviews
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#458 of 862 in Bangkok
149 reviews
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#318 of 862 in Bangkok
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
At Mind Executive Suites
#217 of 862 in Bangkok
465 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#87 of 862 in Bangkok
910 reviews
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok

Property: D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Address: 1643 / 5 New Phetchaburi Road | Makkasan, Ratchathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Hotel Link Makkasan)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OVERVIEW Just a stretch away from Asoke area, D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok comprises 78 rooms with contemporary designs featuring a range of modern amenities to offer comfort and conveniencesfor both business and leisure travellers. Located within 5-minute walk to Airport Rail Link station and Phetchaburi MRT station, the hotel connects you quickly to theSuvarnabhumi Airport anddowntown Bangkok. THE ROOMS The 78 spacious guestrooms come complete with a vibrant and contemporary decoralongside tasteful furnishing to create a touch ofliveliness. The rooms are fully equipped with all essentialin-room amenities to provide the most enjoyable and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing