We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Budget hotel but vwith ery poor wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Ranked #389 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Typical Budget hotel but vwith ery poor wifi”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a typical budget hotel. Location wise its near Petchaburi MRT but the walkway is not even and you have to share with the motorcycle taxi.

Surprising there is a lack of street food in this area so I'm not sure the location is suited to have a budget hotel. There is only one food outlet and its on the way to the MRT.

The biggest let down is the wifi, connection is sporadic at best, almost non-existence. The management should work hard on this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTIAN_LEE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    165
    132
    35
    19
See reviews for
53
89
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

One thing i like is the friendliness of staff. They can answer my questions and granted our request for early breakfast. Food at chookdee is nice. Accessible to MRT but far from shopping mall. Massage is expensive. Better go to pratunam. But overall i like our stay there. I like the lobby as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannamaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here becuase of Makkasan Air Rail Station that are in the area. But it was hard to walk from Makkasan Air Rail Station to the hotel. The hotel was clean and and the room size were OK. The WiFi worked sometimes and sometimes not. It is a noisy street outside.

On the way back to Makkasan Air Rail Station took we a taxi.

If your purpose of the stay is to find a hotel close to Makkasan Air Rail Station, I would recommend to take a better hotel a bit away and take a taxi to the station.

Room Tip: Room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is not too bad with mrt 5 mins away and 7eleven at its doorstep. Firstly, check in was fast and smooth. However after putting our luggage and getting some stuff from 7eleven, one of the room doors was not assessable. After going up to my floor (highest) to the reception for a few times, finally they agreed to ask someone to come check it out instead of blaming on the card. The doorway is stuffy and we had to wait for at least 15mins.They found out that the battery of the door lock was dead so they had to move us to another room. Thankfully we didn't unpack yet. They moved us to the end room which is very spacious with a brighter toilet as it has a window (recommended room). On the third night, the air nod on the new room started leaking. Again, they asked us to change room. 3rd room, and we had to pack everything including stuff we shopped. A very unfortunate experience, however, the hotel is clean,amnesties are sufficient, and safe provided in room so that no worries on personal stuff during housekeeping.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelboss1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just located along the busy road and very noisy at night...the wifi connection did not work even ask reception for help....but they are nice to help............breakfast in restaurants is not bad....close to train to airport and quiet convenient to go to town centre

Room Tip: do not choose the road facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingkong333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March 2013. Although we had pre booked the rooms, the allocation was in a mess and some of the rooms were not cleaned when our guests checked in. There also seemed to have some theft issues as some our guests lost cash and some items were stolen. When we complained to the management, we had the impression that they sided with their staff. They said that they will check and get back to us but have not done so untill today. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Trisha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fx makkasan hotel is like a buget hotel....most of the channel on the tv are in thai language even the cartoon in thai language......only 2 or 3 channel in english....the hotel is not far from the mrt station.....onli 5-10 mins walk....this hotel is a non smoking hotel even at your own room....so for smoker you have to to down and out from the hotel to smoke.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neofidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan
#231 of 862 in Bangkok
481 reviews
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#458 of 862 in Bangkok
149 reviews
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#318 of 862 in Bangkok
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
At Mind Executive Suites
#217 of 862 in Bangkok
465 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#87 of 862 in Bangkok
910 reviews
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok

Property: D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Address: 1643 / 5 New Phetchaburi Road | Makkasan, Ratchathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Hotel Link Makkasan)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OVERVIEW Just a stretch away from Asoke area, D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok comprises 78 rooms with contemporary designs featuring a range of modern amenities to offer comfort and conveniencesfor both business and leisure travellers. Located within 5-minute walk to Airport Rail Link station and Phetchaburi MRT station, the hotel connects you quickly to theSuvarnabhumi Airport anddowntown Bangkok. THE ROOMS The 78 spacious guestrooms come complete with a vibrant and contemporary decoralongside tasteful furnishing to create a touch ofliveliness. The rooms are fully equipped with all essentialin-room amenities to provide the most enjoyable and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing