We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once is enough!”
Review of ETZzz Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ETZzz Hostel
Ranked #151 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Batam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once is enough!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I went to Bangkok last December. Choosed this hostel consider the price was cheap. Yeah it's cheap, and we can't expect more. The dorm room is too strait and I can't even get wifi on 3rd floor. No water heater. And it's far quit far from the city. Have to take a cab if you came back late nite. Once is enough.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rizdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    55
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
19
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hostel direction is absolutely perfect. It is located not so far from Lumphini Station. The receptionist were friendly and give so much information about Thai. The only thing that I didn't like is the guest itself who is little bit unfriendly and bit racist for Asian. I am deeply sorry for this review, i stay in another hostel but i can make friends with the farang but here i can't. Cleanliness of the toilet could be upgraded one level more. Anyway, they provide free locker if you want to keep your luggage and you have plan to go outside Bangkok, that makes perfect like what i did when i left Bangkok to Yangon for couple days.

Room Tip: Choose the lower berth, some upper berth were face to face with to aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus Firman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I am generally favourable towards this hostel, having stayed for 6 nights in a 12-person mixed dorm. There is a nice bar/hangout area, and the website boasts a '360 degree roof' which is actually just a roof but hey, that makes a good conversation starter :) Every floor of the hostel has a themed colour and is really clean. However when I was there, the wifi was not working on some days. Laundry service is right beside the hostel at 40baht per kg, and ready within a day. The reception is very friendly! Food is all around, and there is a nice food street right opposite the hostel.

I had witnessed Rickwouldnt's encounter, and I'd say that there was a lack of courtesy on his part, from the moment he had entered, and he began to insult the reception and people who were staying in the hostel at the reception area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Let me start by saying i am generally favourable toward hostel/ hotel owners and managers, and i hate HATE giving bad reviews, however... when you have been on a 10 hour bus journey (siem reap) and somehow still in relatively high spirits... having a great taxi driver who goes out of his way to find your hostel.... to arrive at the hostel and to be ignored for 25 minutes. .. it sure does dampen your mood.

When finally approached, it wasn't an expected "welcome, sorry about the delay" it was a blank face.. and a "yeah?" ... after struggling to find my booking and telling me my name wasn't what it was ... (it is)... he found it. Gave me the keys and sent me, and my brother to find our own dorm.

Natually annoyed from the greeting, i thought bugger it.... i won't let it ruin my night... flash forward 10 minutes... wifi doesn't work in rooms. Go in the corridors.. or reception to get one bar... Asked about it at reception and the guy raised an eyebrow and played the "lack of English card"

Pretty peeved by now.. so i we grabbed some food 5 minutes away... cooled down... but in the 15 months of travelling so far we have never witnessed such terrible customer service, and check my pictures for the filthy walls and pee covered pillow with no case.

Im missing out some of the details included 1 hour in reception between the receptionist , an old american guy having his "two cents" on the situation and an anonymous manager on the phone who took 30 mins for the pleasure to speak to her... but hey you get the jist. We were charged 800b for the pleasure of the conversation.... worth every penny not to spend another minute in this hell.

Im not a bitter person.. Just please.. Please... don't waste your time in Bangkok in this hell hole.... there's a great place "s1 hostel" is 300m away... im there now... it's beautiful in comparison and the staff are lovely.

PLUS THE LOCATION IS TERRIBLE. i cannot comprehend the other reviews... baffling.... leave leave and don't look back.

DO NOT WASTE TIME NOR MONEY HERE>>.>> Worst hostel i've ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickwouldnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

i spend a week in this hostel. i didn't want to go to the busy Khao San Road and with all the crazy drunk backpackers so i picked this one for quiet night sleep. clean bed and clean bathroom. there is a common area which is very nice place to hang out with new travellers and just chill. also a roof top for smoking, a drink or just being lazy.

it is next to the metro and bus stop so easy to get around. also it is located next to the embassy district, very convenient for you to get visa or whatever related errands you need to run there.
the staff in the hostel are very helpful and friendly.

i like my stay and will come back next time.

if you want parties and other usual young backpacker hangout activities (drinking and more drinking), Khao San road is more of your style. never the less, i met some cool backpackers here in Etz and had a good time here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank sabrininha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and with 250 baht, I was provided with wifi, a bed, a pillow and a blanket. The location is a 2 minute walk the MRT and a 1 minute walk to 7 eleven. Truly a backpacker's heaven as it is easy to access.

There is one particular staff that I would like to compliment. He had purple hair. He was very helpful when I needed help with my travels to Aranyaprathet. And also a staff who works in the morning, she was very helpful with my wifi connection.

Overall, I had a pleasant stay here and I highly recommend this hostel to any budget travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johannyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for a night with friend while in bangkok. Night staff is friendly. Well, rooms are okay. Dorm style. Bathroom is located in the hallway, and they have a great common area. Lots of backpackers use this place since it is affordable and accessible. Its near MRT (Lumphini Station). There's a lot of 7-11 stores outside and it is also close to the market.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERQESCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Maderla
Maderla
#153 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#92 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
VX The Fifty Hostel
#136 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mile Map Hostel
Mile Map Hostel
#97 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Silom
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
Orchid Hostel Bangkok
#91 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Sathorn
Charlie House
Charlie House
#241 of 632 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ETZzz Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ETZzz Hostel

Property: ETZzz Hostel
Address: 5/3 Soi Ngamduplee | Rama IV Road, Tungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ETZzz Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETZzz Hostel is a newly refurbished hostel located in the heart of Bangkok with a short 2 mins walk to MRT Lumphini station. It is right in the beginning of Soi Ngamdupli which is famous among backpackers apart from Khaosan Road. ETZzz Hostel offers a cozy, clean, and relaxing atmosphere to suit your modern lifestyle. Our rooftop chill-out space is perfect for hanging out with friends or perhaps making new ones. It offers spectacular views of Bangkok's famous Lumphini Park with a backdrop of backlid skyscrapers at night. We stick to a fundamental hostel concept of being clean & simple and that is why we can offer a very low price and a good value for money bed for budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ETZzz Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etzzz Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing