We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first couple of nights in bangkok”
Review of Bed Bangkok Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed Bangkok Hostel
Ranked #858 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed December 11, 2012

after spending along time on planes trains n automobiles all we wanted was somewhere to stay. HOTEL BANGKOK seemed, from the reviews etc seemed not to bad. at 1st did not seem to bad but after being shown to our room, no windows aircon did not work it said it a swimming pool which we could not find it was very very pricey for what you got. 400 baht you had to pay for internet. for the same price we have a twin room very nice swimming pool free wifi. there were also rats and cockroach at hotel bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon-boobyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hostel is not for you if you are in the party crowd. Go to Khaosan instead.
But it is the real deal if you're looking for a clean, nice, homely place to crash in the middle of the city - 5mins from Ploenchit BTS, 10mins from Nana, easy access to markets, food, convenience stores.
A good alternative to youth hostels or cheap hotels if you get the private room.
Stayed in the 4 bed female dorm which I had to myself all weekend. The bathrooms and toilets are very clean. Towels provided.
Staff are very accommodating when asked for assistance.

Drawback is - no communal lounge, bathrooms could do with a longer curtain and some hooks, the walls are rather thin so you hear the next room talking.

In a small alley just before Hansar Bangkok/Elefin cafe. Taxis tend to overshoot it easily. Taxis are easy to get from the main road as the huge Bumrungrad hospital is just further down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kicking_asphalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

What I really like about the hostel is its value for money. I'm satisfied with the price I've paid and facilities that I've got. It's clean, the towel's changed once/ 2 days, and it's a really good towel (so, you don't have to bring your own towels when traveling :D). The bathroom is also clean (I got private bathroom). The aircon works perfectly (it's all you need when you stayed in Bangkok). The staffs are also really helpful :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risa_Prameswari_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beds were good if a little hard. They had our rooms ready to check in at 8am as well which is impressive. Bathrooms etc fine.

If you want a good cheap bed for the night, here would be fine. If you're backpacking then there might be better areas of Bangkok to be, especially as there is no real atmosphere at this hostel in the small communal area there is.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed here for about three weeks now. I've been in 4 other hotels in Bangkok so far, but this is my favorite. There are lots of great things about this hostel.

1) Friendly - the staff is helpful and friendly and its on a good quiet street with nice people.
2) Location - Western food, Eastern food, street food, junk food, taxis, sky train, cheap stuff, expensive stuff, massage parlors, pubs, clubs, Starbucks, McDonalds, 7-11, Family Mart, ... 24 hour Burger King.... and much much more.
3) Price - here is an excellent place for anyone on a budget.
4) Clean - its very clean when you consider the price.
5) Beer - cold beer and other drinks available downstairs in the lobby for a reasonable price 24 hours a day.
6) Wifi - free wifi in rooms and computer available downstairs if needed.
7) AC - Thailand is hot and humid, air conditioning is a good idea.
8) Free coffee and tea downstairs in the lobby.

Only lacking TV, track lighting, Swedish designer toilets, and the paradoxical fifth star.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

the room wasn´t clean when we came, hair all over the bathroom, noisiest hotelroom we had on our whole 2 month trip (maybe the dorms are better?), the service was bad (when we asked if they could help us get a cab to the airport we got told in a rude way that wasn´t their job to do). another negative: you get charged for the internet. i would never ever go there again and can´t understand why everyone is raving about it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meeehx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Chose to stay here because I had seen the place on a previous trip. The location is great, especially since there is a skytrain stop less than a 10 minute walk. The room is small, but very clean. No tv or fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdantism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,623 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#194 of 889 in Bangkok
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed Bangkok Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed Bangkok Hostel

Address: 11/20 Sukhumvit 1, Sukhumvit Rd.,Klongtoey Nuer, Wattana | Klongtoey Nuer, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #858 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $10 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed Bangkok Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hidden peaceful place right in middle of the city. Only 5 minutes by walk from Pleon Chit BTS station.We provide the private rooms and also dormitory rooms, which are all based on the cleanliness, convenience and reasonable prices.Room type : Buddy Bunk Type2 Bunk beds (private room with bathroom)Price :per room 800 THB Room type : Couple Bunk Type3 Bunk beds (5 ft. and small bed on top, private room with bathroom)Price :per room 1,000 THB Room type : Group of 4 Type4 Bunk beds (private room with bathroom)Price :per room 1,200 THBRoom type : Mix Dorm8 Bunk bedsPrice :per person 390 THBRoom type : Lady’s Dorm4 Bunk bedsPrice :per person 390 THB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Bed Bangkok Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing