We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel
Ranked #217 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were suggested to stay at this hotel by the airport hotel desk and it was supposed to be a 4*hotel, but all they offer is more than European 5* hotels have! The service, elegance and politeness is exceptional. Rooms are big, modern and clean. You may have great buffet dinner or go a la carte, food is tasty, elegant, pretty, with Thai flavor.

Room Tip: very convenient airport shuttle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaroslaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    132
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
95
39
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel is like a hotel created by a computer: efficient, user friendly, and containing all the functions you require. It is also soulless and full of pop up reminders and disclaimers, but thankfully no bugs. As a stop off point between flights, it works well. We were mainly looking for a clean, not too expensive hotel near the airport, and it hits those marks. Rooms are new and good sized; the whole property has a "Modern China" feel, if you have stayed in any newer hotel in mainland China you know what I mean - I call it "generic opulence". Disappointingly there is barely a whiff of anything Thai in the hotel. Dinner buffet offers a huge selection of choices (including a few Thai dishes), it was quite impressive. Don't miss: the outdoor pool area is lovely. It is not huge but is well laid out, with two levels and swim up bar, also a shallower area for kids. Perfect for relaxing during a layover. Unfortunately the view is not nice: the surrounding area is the grim development sprawl found in most big Asian cities today with dilapidated factories, beaten down tenements and new shopping centers for as far as the eye can see. Conclusion: this is not a hotel that will charm you with Thai flavor or lasting memories, but it delivers what it promises. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mriguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Pick-up arrangements and check-in were good. Escort to the room which was modern and clean. But there were down-sides to this stay. The first was telephone advice that breakfast was served from 5.30 am and as I needed to take the 6.00 am shuttle this was welcome news. However, on arrival I was informed that the meal start time was in fact 6.00 am. So despite having paid for it, it would be unavailable. When I checked out at 5.50 am, a large group were having breakfast but I was told this was not the usual practise.
On arrival I asked for an early morning call. Later in the day I asked that the call time be amended to a later time. 'Sure!" However the call came through at the original, earlier time. I decided to eat in at the hotel as the general location was pretty poor. The meal I was served was inedible - I can't remember having a worse meal. (Awful to the power of 10).
The hotel boasts 87 channels on the TV service. Discount the non-English speaking channels (as I need to do) and the sporting channels there were 5.
The hotel is some 15 - 16 km from the airport - about a 20 minute drive. There is virtually nothing to do in the neighbourhood. If you want an airport hotel I'd suggest somewhere closer to the airport [Great Western Amaranth springs to mind as having comparable cost and comfort] otherwise actually travel in to Bangkok where there are so many good hotels to choose from. The one advantage this place does offer is that it is suitable for large buses - hence my suggestion that it may be good for tour groups. But don't eat there!

Room Tip: Room on higher floors are quieter. Choose the Bangkok city views side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EverythingElse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Insofar as we were concerned the staff and the premises were fine.
We had the advantage of one being Thai, knew where to go and what to ask when communicating with the bus or taxi driver.

I could see however, because of its location, that it probably not the best in the world. It is a bit of an effort to get to places.

Close to the airport (20 min + on a busy day). We look upon hotels , as a place to sleep when not doing things. I did manage too much sun by the pool last Saturday, which was very pleasant at the time. It did also suit the location we needed for 2 weeks which possibly influences my thoughts.
But as I mentioned, for us, the hotel and its staff ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friend booked this hotel as it is very close to his condominium. We arrived early, before the 12.00 check in time, the hotel was not full and was informed that we had to pay 2000baht if we want to check in now. I have never ever had this experience. Have travelled all over the world and even a 2 star hotel will never ask for early check in payment and especailly not a 5 star. This is not a 5 star hotel at all. 5 star in terms of the building and room but not service. I would call this a NO FRILL 5 STAR HOTEL as you had to pay if you want the free wi fi for a second device. You have you ask for the toiletries to be replenished. My pet hate is staff hovering over you and waiting for you to pay when you asked for the bill. When I arrived at the Terrace Bar, 2nd night of my stay, the bar staff was sitting down and busy with his mobil phone. When he finally noticed me he came over to me and could not understand English. When I was there the Chinese and Japanese Restaurants were closed.
As for the swimming pool, it is a joke closing at 7pm. Breakfast again is nothing compared to other 5 star hotels I stayed here in Bangkok.
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel if you are expecting 5 star service and a true 5 star hotel. When I checked hotel.com and agoda, I saw hotels of similar rate at Novetel etc. and you will get a better service there.
It takes alot for me to give a poor review and I am sorry to say that this is one of the hotels I really had to.

Room Tip: Corner rooms 1906, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinPetchThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights for a conference, probably at a special rate. The hotel is new and luxuriously built, providing 5 star quality at a 3 star price, great modern rooms with sweeping views over Bangkok. The location is convenient for the airport (with free shuttle) but not great for visiting the city or any other activities as it is located a bit in the middle of nowhere. The hotel has a large pool with nice views, but pool hours are not very customer friendly and the terrace floor is extremely slippery when wet. Overall we had a good experience.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsiePalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great choice 15/20 minutes from airport. The hotel offer free pick up and drop off to the airport.
Perfect for a short stay in Bangkok.
Great rooms and breakfast buffet with lots of choice.
We had a 24 hour stay in Bangkok and was perfect. We arrived at 7pm and had late check out Next day so were able to have a good sleep in a comfortable bed and spent a lovely morning on the rooftop pool.
Nothing much in the area, however a perfect stop for a shorty stay.
I would return again if need an airport hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyhippyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#50 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Meroz Hotel
#281 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Chatuchak
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
AETAS bangkok
#71 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel

Property: The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel
Address: 333 Srinakarin Road | Hua Mak, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#128 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#159 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Srinakarin Road with 25 minutes from Suvarnabhumi International Airport, an expressway and Airport Rail Link. The excellent linkage to new shopping center, business district. The exciting experience starts from an elegant lobby decorating with marble adding by a touch of modern interior sculptures. The 465 luxurious guest rooms are exquisite designed with an elegant and function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Fourwings Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing