We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #274 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel got an excellent location in BKK. Our room was small but lovely and fulled of furniture. Staffs worked really nice and helped for directions. Breakfast was simple but great enough for us. By the way, this hotel was nice for a short stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TanluiYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 425 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wow! What a little gem this place is. A short walk from the busy street, this guest house is tucked away. It is spotlessly clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I have stayed in many beautiful hotels but this, price for price, and in comparison comes out on tops. You also get breakfast thrown in too! I would highly recommend the Khaosan Baan Thai.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a great time here, the reception staff were so friendly and helpful. The place was very clean. Bathrooms were always clean also and enough to go round. The room had about 3 fans, which was good.

Building work going on outside our window which wasn't a great way to wake up every morning, but that had nothing to do with the hostel.

To get into the hostel you have to walk though the outside area of another hostel.

Close enough to walk to the Khao San Road, but quite far from everywhere else. We had to use the river boats to get to the metro which was fine except that it closed every night really early something like 7pm which meant that for a few nights we found ourselves stranded and having to deal with the taxi/tuk tuk drivers. If you plan well this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmsrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located and at walking distance from BK nightlife areas.
7/11 convenient store just at the corner. Hotel room deluxe was clean and comfortable. Mattresses on the floor and nice pillow. Breakfast is nothing special but good enough to start your day. Rest area outside and internet available.

Great hostel for the price.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Yoopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place is near Khao San Road (10 min walk) but a bit hard to find, which can be good as it is in a side street away from the madness. It looked like it was a family run place; very informal. The walls are a bit paper thin (I heard everything my neighbours were saying) so don't plan on any major romance in your room :-) Shared bathrooms, but it was OK and the bathrooms were very clean. A great deal for $25 a night.

The very best part was the hostess lady at the front desk; she was calm, friendly and pleasant, and spoke excellent English. After I had checked out I even went back to her to find out how to get a camera part, she was very gracious and took a lot of time to help me even though she didn't need to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of my trip to Thailand and 1 night before flying home. I arrived at Bangkok airport early saturday morning but my bag turned up 17 hours later ! The great staff at this hotel liaised with Turkish Airlines at BKK and made calls throughout the day and took delivery of by bag at 1am. This left me free to enjoy the start of my holiday and see the sights of Bangkok. The rooms were very clean, showers were warm and clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel has lots of info on trips and transfers and i can't speak highly enough of the staff and this hotel. Superb value for money and i would stay here if i return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank we_woz_ere_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights . 10 mins walk to khaosan rd. therefore you can enjoy the liveliness of town,and peacefull sleep to recharge the batteries. The stafrf were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and fresh. There is a community area were there is a T.V, you could choose a DVD to watch, also Tea and Coffee beer and snacks, for a small charge is readily available. The free Wifi also works well. They also have two computers that you can also use free of charge with printing available, again for a small charge. Overall a very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
Taewez Guesthouse
Taewez Guesthouse
#532 of 890 in Bangkok
55 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#356 of 890 in Bangkok
423 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#226 of 890 in Bangkok
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#335 of 890 in Bangkok
310 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 890 in Bangkok
1,457 reviews
Banglamphu
Bewel Hostel
Bewel Hostel
#135 of 1,345 in Bangkok
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $29 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing