We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Bangkok”
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #289 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of my trip to Thailand and 1 night before flying home. I arrived at Bangkok airport early saturday morning but my bag turned up 17 hours later ! The great staff at this hotel liaised with Turkish Airlines at BKK and made calls throughout the day and took delivery of by bag at 1am. This left me free to enjoy the start of my holiday and see the sights of Bangkok. The rooms were very clean, showers were warm and clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel has lots of info on trips and transfers and i can't speak highly enough of the staff and this hotel. Superb value for money and i would stay here if i return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank we_woz_ere_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights . 10 mins walk to khaosan rd. therefore you can enjoy the liveliness of town,and peacefull sleep to recharge the batteries. The stafrf were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and fresh. There is a community area were there is a T.V, you could choose a DVD to watch, also Tea and Coffee beer and snacks, for a small charge is readily available. The free Wifi also works well. They also have two computers that you can also use free of charge with printing available, again for a small charge. Overall a very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Unfortunately I spent only 1 night at Khaosan Baan Thai because it was full the other nights.
Its a nice and cozy hostel, 10min walk to Khao San Road. Very clean and the price is also very good. Staff friendly.
They provide a good breakfast: sausages, eggs, bread, butter, tea and coffee.
Bathroom was shared, but it wasn't a problem for me.
Super recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcelaMruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was a great place to stay at. It was a very short walk from Kaosan road, which was great because I didn't have to worry about noise during the night and get enough sleep. The staff was very kind and friendly; they always helped us figure out how to get to places and when I got my laundry done, it was folded and organized really nicely. Plus the breakfast was awesome :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chikletabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Some reviewers expect Hilton for £6 per night with breakfast... I would say for a hostel it was very good. Good location: far enough from busy roads and close enough to Khaosan Road (on foot) and places like Grand palace (by bus) and within walking distance to river transport. The staff was really friendly, place tidy and quiet (apart from some background noise like dogs and cats, but it was not annoying), wifi strong. Breakfast with no variety, room insulation does not exist, but it was not a big issue as we stayed just three nights and neighbours were respectfully quiet. Again, remember that it is a hostel and it is kept to a decent standard for the price you pay. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexx_AAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is really clean, near a lot of principal wats in Bangkok, you can walk and see a lot of monuments. At the reception the girl is -as the majority of Thais- surprisingly kind. The inside of the white rooms is lovely.
The cons are: the poor breakfast and the fact that the teak ceiling and floors don't cover the noise of the near rooms, especially in the white rooms, its impossible to sleep at night; also in every Thai house is tradition to leave the shoes off near the stairs before going to bedroom and bathroom, and Thais always do. Some foreigners used to walk also in the patio and street with naked feet and then going in the bathroom, ruining all the floor. It's not hotel's fault, but guests'.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed there earlier this year, it was ok hotel. Nothing special. Its cheaper to get a hotel little bit away from khaosan and get much better service and prices than to be stuck with bunch of hippies

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gojamesbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#259 of 896 in Bangkok
225 reviews
Dusit
Taewez Guesthouse
Taewez Guesthouse
#502 of 896 in Bangkok
59 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#367 of 896 in Bangkok
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#358 of 896 in Bangkok
328 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#331 of 896 in Bangkok
250 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#348 of 896 in Bangkok
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing