We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent guesthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #202 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent guesthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Bangkok, we used TripAdvisor to decide where we should stay and must admit this guesthouse certainly doesn't disappoint. Very friendly staff, great location (away from hustle and bustle of Khao San Road but within short walking distance), great rooms with air con/fan, breakfast included in room price and very inexpensive for what you get!

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    153
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
197
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Not far from Khaosan road, literally 10 minutes walk. Super duper clean, very nice staff, free high speed wi-fi, tour desk, big room with awesome aircon, no seriously, what more do you want??? Oh, and is cheap too!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank SilviaP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were a group of three European 20-somethings and although we would not have minded if the hostel was overall slightly more 'social', we thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay here. The hostel is very clean, the staff always smiley and the wifi and A/C fully operational. The hostel is far enough away from the main road for it to be in a quiet environment, and yet still within walking distance of Khaosan. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jakub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alken, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Here we stayed our first night in Thailand. We were very well received. It's simple but a cosy guesthouse. The location is very good. It is a short walk from Khaosan Road (10 minutes) but you can sleep peacefully, The rooms are nice and simple. There are clean showers, there is Wi-Fi and a just standard breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DagdaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff who are always happy to help. Clean and simple rooms and toilet/shower rooms which was perfect for what we were looking for, and the smiley face toast and cooked breakfast included in the price was an added bonus! Location was good, just a few streets away from khaosan road. We were emailed information on how to get from the airport to the hostel, how much a taxi should cost etc. which was very helpful. A perfect first stop in Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carolineold94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in June and had a fabulous experience. We got a room with a bunk bed (so we weren't in the shared dorm) and it was quiet, clean, comfy... absolutely great. Breakfast was standard (2 pieces of toast, an egg, a sausage, tea/coffee), bathrooms were clean (hot water was present but unnecessary in Thailand!), the fan was more than cool enough in our room. We were catching the train to Chiang Mai and got the tickets delivered to the front desk, no problems at all. Staff are friendly, hospitable. It's hard to find the first time because the order of the Samsen Rd "soi"s (side streets off the main Samsen Rd) aren't numbered in order - the order (heading north from Khaosan Rd) is like 2,1,4,6,3. My advice if you're looking for it from Khaosan Rd (where a minibus or whatever may drop you off) is to get directions to Samsen Rd, then just stick to heading north on the western side of the road until you reach Soi 3, which does come after Soi 2, Soi 4 and Soi 6 (on the opposite side of the road)!
Anyway, I would recommend KBT!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great guesthouse in a good location with friendly and helpful staff. Far enough from main road to be nice and quiet but close enough for easy access to anywhere. Rooms are very good and while we would have preferred private bathroom, the shared bathroom was always clean and rarely had to wait long.

Room Tip: A room with aircon is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Evahn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#306 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#61 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#53 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#332 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#322 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
K Maison Boutique Hotel
#7 of 614 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Property: Khaosan Baan Thai
Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing