We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and clean guesthouse..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khaosan Baan Thai
Save
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
Ranked #165 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quite and clean guesthouse..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this guesthouse for 1night only coz they are alreay full when we made our reservation. we spend our first 2days in sivarin guesthouse which is just a step away from khao san baan thai coz they are in the same compound. The location is just walking distance to khao san rd & soi rambuttri market for 10mins and also to grand palace and wat pho for 30mins. Sang-sang who's in the information was very helpful and friendly to us,she even wrote down some notes in thai on a paper before we leave just in case we need to ask someone who doesnt understand english and it was very helpful. The only thing that they lack is the 24hrs information service esp in early morning when most tourist need to ask something about their tours,etc. but overall i will still recommend this guesthouse. Comfortable bed,good AC,spacious room,and helful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jammy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    151
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
190
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I found this place via TripAdvisor as it won one of their awards for best stay and it was definitely justified. We stayed for 3 nights and experience was wonderful, great staff, free computers and email, amazing value and sharing bathroom was not a problem - it was always clean and had good shower. Great quiet location as well, very walkable for local meals but we did need taxis for sightseeing around Bangkok, still easily affordable. Staff were very helpful, booked airport transfers, did laundry, etc. The only thing I would say is the heat, we had a fan but still warm at night, but that is true of anywhere in Bangkok without AC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My experience of this budget accommodation was very good from the beginning. The staff here are fantastic. They communicated with me before my stay & were incredibly friendly and helpful during my stay (2 days). I walked all over the place from this location without any trouble. The bathrooms are shared & they were spotless every time I entered. My room (#1, I think. First door on right) was quite small, but fine. The only thing that would prevent me from staying here was the heat. I did have a fan, but it just wasn't enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great stay here. Yes, a great budget option in Bangkok. It is clean and peaceful, with a friendly welcoming host. This is why we love tripadvisor, yes? We emailed that we were arriving very early in the morning. They were great about responding to emails, and gave instructions for arriving. The bathrooms are not in the room, you share with the one or two other rooms on your floor, but they are clean, and it was never a problem. Keep in mind that the guesthouse, while in a very nice area of Bangkok, close to one of the major tourist areas, is not near any of the several train systems, such as the sky train. Taking a taxi to get to the closest sky train will add a bit to your daily costs, and they taxis are not always willing to go to this neighborhood from other areas. That being said, it was a fine trade-off. The guest house is very comfy and very sweet, and they even include breakfast. There is another guest house on the same property, and they even have an expresso machine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank michaeludelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joetsu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We liked the place. The staff were really nice and it had a good atmosphere. Having computers available was really useful too for backing up photos and doing some printing. That said, our twin fan room was crazy hot. Not sure why, the place just seemed to be a heat sink. Also, it opened onto a balcony and the window opening onto it did not close properly so it didn't seem very secure. With another AC room, it probable would have been fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Two of us stayed here for five nights. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms. The breakfast is made to order and the eggs are just delicious, and you are close to many tourist sights, city buses, restaurants and the Chao Phraya Express piers. Most importantly, though, the staff who works here is extraordainarily kind and helpful. Directions and guidance were always given to us, and their help made our stay in Bangkok even more enjoyable. Highly recommend staying here!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank lindayolid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place and sweet and helpfull people. It's simple, clean, cosy and I would definately stay here again.
The shared bathrooms were clean and I never had to wait. There is no noise at night, so good sleep too. Nice little breakfast included.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Samhollznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#310 of 823 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#49 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#161 of 823 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#52 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#383 of 823 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#294 of 823 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Property: Khaosan Baan Thai
Address: 11 1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#161 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing