We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean & nice, just what we wanted.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khaosan Baan Thai
Save
You added Khaosan Baan Thai to your Saves list
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Banglamphu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean & nice, just what we wanted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Location about 10 mins walk from Khao Saan Road where most bars are and just far enough to be quiet. Surrounded by other hostels and small shop.
Staff friendly and keen to help with anything you need. Receptionist speaks good english. She will help you with trips, bookings and direcrions.
Rooms are basic and the beds comfortable. The allow you to use a fridge in the main area if you need.
The whole place is clean and we did not see any bugs.
The breakfast they offer is good. You get 2 toast with pictures cook on it. 2 eggs, 2 sausage and a tea or coffee and matmalade. We tried to book more nights but could not get space.
I have recomended this to others I know already.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank relax_in_de_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    151
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
190
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My partner and I loved every minute spent here over our three night stay. The people are friendly and very helpful in directing us the right way to markets and buses. Rooms were cosy and clean and bathrooms were great. Location was great and close to markets and transport. Overall a great stay. Would definitely stay again on a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The sign out the front reads "Clean, Cheap and Cozy" and our three days at Khaosan Baan Thai were exactly that. The rooms and bathrooms were immaculate, as were the common rooms. This was all the more impressive due to the $AUD 20 price tag. The most impressive thing however was the service. The manager was an absolute sweetheart, returning the money we had paid for breakfast, explaining that it was covered in our room charge. She made phone calls and gave us a tonne of great advice re. our stay. I would definitely recommend Khaosan Baan Thai, a wonderful group of people.

Room Tip: We staid in an air-conditioned room, for a little extra it was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Khaosan Baan Thai was the best possible introduction to Thailand. Despite my very late arrival, the wonderful manager Sung Sung made me feel like she was happy to see me and showed me to literally the cleanest room I've seen in my entire life. It was very simple, but amazingly (on a 35 C/ 95 F day) cool, even though it only has a fan and no airconditioning (this was my choice.) The common areas were comfortable and free internet (on computers) was fast. Sung Sung provided helpful advice more times than I could count and even let me call a local friend on her phone a couple of times for no charge.

The location is initially a little tough to find, but once you do, you'll appreciate that it's close to a main road (and Khaosan Road if you're into that stuff) but not on it, which is why it's so quiet. I'd happily stay there again and hope I get the chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mreogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on 24th & 25th Jan 2013, me and my partner are backpacking so looked for cheapest place that had decent reviews. Took us a good while to find, tuk tuk driver we showed address to took us to a main road nearby when we showed him the email with the Thai address on, when we said this isn't the place, he took us to Khaosan road and we got off there and asked staff in local shops as we walked. Only 10min max from Khaosan road (the tourists road) and at the end of a street off the main road was Khaosan Baan Thai. It's close to another hostel called Sam Sen San which has a signpost on the main road.
Once in, the very friendly staff who spoke good English showed us to our room. Very clean, two good thick mattresses on floor, nice decor including hand painted art on wood (which you can buy) and most importantly 2 good powerful fans! We stayed in room 202, as pictured. The original teak floor is lovely and the shared bathroom/ shower room always clean.
Overall, great place, would definitely stay again. Tried to book another night but they were full, so definitely book in advance. We booked through hostel bookers for about £5 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Josie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remseck am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Been travelling for 5 months with my girlfriend, staying in cheap places. This guesthouse is one of the few that stands out. A 10 minute walk from the Khaosan Road, and with a much higher standard of accommodation. Clean room and nice host who made us feel welcome. We went into a few guesthouses on Khaosan Road and they were awful in comparison. Great value for the price. If you are looking for cheap and cheerful in Bangkok, this place is the one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank elliottwilliams171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A great place to stay. It was the second time for me, and will come back again. Very friendly staff, especially the manager Sung Sung, always ready to help and make you feel at home. Cozy and very clean rooms, painted with bright colours and charming decorations. The common bathrooms with hot shower are always clean and never had to queue. The price is convenient and includes breakfast in a little private courtyard. Excellent location, quiet yet close to the famous Khaosan road and within walking distance to places of interest. I can definitely recommend Khaosan Baan Thai Guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#312 of 823 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#45 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#159 of 823 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#51 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#382 of 823 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#293 of 823 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Property: Khaosan Baan Thai
Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#161 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing