We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, clean place”
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #258 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 9, 2013

For the most part, we enjoyed our stay here. It's on a quiet street and you're more likely to be woken up by birds than by traffic. It felt very safe to be out at night and walk back to this place. Convenient to Old Bangkok. The rooms are a nice size. Mattresses were very firm. The AC was comfortable and the included breakfast was okay: 1 egg, 2 hot dogs, and toast with jam. Shared bathrooms were very clean.

The one bad night we had was due to other guests being drunk and largely beyond the control of staff. These girls woke up the whole hostel with their loud and rude behavior. This was the exception to our stay, however, as most people were quiet and respectful. The walls are thin so if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank imtrippinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This was mine and my boyfriends first time in Bangkok which when you first arrive is a little daunting. We felt much better for staying at this guesthouse due to the homely and very friendly feel. The lady on reception is so nice and will book you trips and give you directions and tips on where to go and how to get around. The other staff although only speak Thai are so friendly and are always smiling. The rooms are basic but for what you pay, the service and the breakfast more than makes up for this. The room was spotless as were all the shared bathrooms and our room was cleaned during our stay. The location is great, not in the hustle and bustle of Khaosan road but only a ten min walk away as well as a short walk from the ferry which runs an excellent service. Thank you for such a fantastic stay at the start of our travels!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Pink879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for three nights when I first arrived in Bangkok and I was grateful for the warm welcome I received from the owner. It was my first time in Bangkok on my own and she was wonderfully helpful - arranging tuk tuks for me and helping with directions. The accommodation was basic but incredibly cheap and I enjoyed a really good night's sleep during my stay. The breakfast is great too - especially the toast with the smiley faces on! I have very fond memories of Khaosan Baan Thai.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MrsSeychelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stopped here for 5 nights . Throughout our stay the staff couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful . This place isn't the ritz and the rooms are empty with 2 matresses 2 fans and a mirror but always very clean ! It is a shared bathroom situation though I never found it a problem and was always able to use one when ever I needed to as there are plenty of them for how many rooms there are . It is situated down a quiet little road so its out the way of all the chaos which is about a 10 min walk away . There is a cosy little common area with use of computers , WiFi , books , dvds and can purchase drinks and snacks , which is where breakfast is served every morning which I very much enjoyed , even managed to accommodate us when we was up early for a trip out of breakfast hours . We booked a trip through the guesthouse and went very smoothly . Over all this is a lovely guesthouse , amazing value for money and would highly recommend it .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andy-green84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Khaosan Baan Thai two times for a combined 7 days in the summer of 2012. During july and august, we stayed at several hostels in Asia, but never felt as home and comfortable as we did here. The reason for that was the excellent staff here at the hostel. Very helpful and friendly! We booked a tour through the hostel, which was good and well-priced. We also booked airport transfer during both stays. The first time, the bus was delayed and the hostel called a cab instead with no extra charge. We were also able to store luggage in the hostel between stays for a very low fee.

The rooms are as simple as they get. Definitely not the best about the hostel. There is no aircondition, so it gets quite hot. Wifi worked excellent though and there are also computers available for guests.

Location was nice. In walking distance (10 minutes) to the busy Khaosan Road. I would prefer staying a bit away from the middle of Khaosan Road as it is very noisy. Khaosan Baan Thai is located in a quiet place in the end of a small alley.

Despite the rooms, I would definitely stay here again. Great place and also perfect if you're interested in speaking with other travellers!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MaliciousD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

A nice little place that caters well for every need in a cheap and cheerful way.
The receptionist is outstanding and will make everything work - travel, tuk tuk, dining suggestions etc.
Nothing is a problem.
The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom facilities are fine, the breakfast is a light affair and more importantly, the drinks are cold and cheap.
Location near the river is magnificent so catching a riverboat / ferry is within walking distance.
A perfect place for a quick Bangkok stopover.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SteveAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Here now. A quiet location but near waterway, bars and a night market. Unbelievably good receptionist who is so helpful. Wifi, laundry, breakfast all good. Lots of travel books in library, pleasant outside area to chill.
Rooms spotlessly clean as are shared bathrooms. Mattresses hard as they are in asia but comfortable and on floor. Pillows excellent. Cheap drinks and cold.
This is a great budget hotel. Not fault able

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ziggystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#147 of 885 in Bangkok
1,840 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#223 of 885 in Bangkok
205 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#359 of 885 in Bangkok
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#315 of 885 in Bangkok
243 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 885 in Bangkok
1,429 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#37 of 710 in Bangkok
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Khaosan Baan Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing