We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, bad restaurant. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Ranked #150 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

the room we had at the GT was fantastic - big, modern, an excellent hotel room. The swimming pool is very nice indeed, lovely pool for swimming or relaxing. The location of the hotel is okay, it's very far from the Grand Palace and the Kohsan road, but fairly close to some great shopping around MBK, and the night market. The free shuttle to the sky train also helps with this, though you're left on your own to get back. Our biggest fault was the restaurant food. We had a lunch there, which was nice, but no more than adequate for a 4* hotel. Then we had breakfast - horrible. We were served fake powdered orange juice when it said fresh orange juice on the menu (a point which the waitress had the cheek to argue with us about, until we got a menu to show she was wrong). Hash browns were horrible, and they forgot to serve us the mushrooms. They pointlessly offered them after we had finished the rest of the food (which was average at best). This breakfast, after tax and service charge, cost us $THB 820. I was disgusted at the price, the food, and the service. It really left a bitter taste in our mouth because the hotel really is quite nice.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Augustuscalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 871 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great hotel with excellent amenities and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The concierge desk was great in helping to arrange tours and transport for sightseeing and shopping etc. We booked 2 deluxe rooms and 1 of the rooms was not ready for the normal 2pm check in time but they offered us a free upgrade to one of the deluxe suites which was fantastic of them and we really appreciated having the extra space this offered us. The food in the restaurants was of a high standard and we also felt was good value for money but would suggest they have a totally separate "Happy Hour" drinks menu to avoid confusion as we got caught a few times with drinks that we thought were included in the 2 for 1 happy hour but found out later that they were not.

Room Tip: Try for a suite as they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lister7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in July and had a lovely stay. The rooms are great we had one on the 14th floor with nice views and the bed was really comfortable.

The location was great as its in a quite area 10-15 minute walk from Emporium/Soi 33 and Asok.

The pool was great if a little cold at night and I had breakfast and dinner at the restuarant which was good quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtacamesRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights after a long flight, rooms are up to a good standard with everything you need, it has a great breakfast in the morning which provides lots of options, the only annoying thing that happened during our stay was the concierge, we asked them for directions to the temples/zoo Etc and every time they looked at there watch and say oh they are closing soon.... In fact they both close around 6pm each day and I asked them at 2pm... Not sure why they would say this... Location is ok a bit of a walk to the main street but the hotel provides a free tuk tuk

Stayed: July 2014
Thank GGPP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear grahamplowright2012,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

We noted your concern about the concierge service, and I conducted investigation personally. We found that our Concierges are aware about traffic for taking day tour in the afternoon, they presumed our guest might not enjoy the trip if they were in rush.

We take this as a training topic to recommend our guest for an alternative place or activities to ensure their Bangkok experience as much as possible.

Please accept my sincere apology for the information has not been express to you. We do hope to welcome you again when travel bring you back to Bangkok.

Sincerely yours,
Prattana Pimpila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We last stayed here in Dec 2013.

We were not disappointed again on this 2 night stay.

It really felt great to return to this hotels familiar surroundings.

The rooms, staff and food quality were just as acceptable as prior stays.

We are booked in here once again later in the month - cannot wait to return :)

Room Tip: From experience of many rooms here - All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. We had booked deluxe rooms but the hotel upgraded us to executive suites..!! The suites were good and all modern comforts and very spacious. The view of the Bangkok city from the BIG windows of the rooms was nice. Only problem with the room was the water supply in the bathrooms. Unlike other hotels they had plenty of hot water to take bath but no cold water somehow. Strange but true.

The restaurant is good. We just had breakfast with average options for vegetarians.

The hotels swimming pool is good and a great stress buster. A must go when you are too tired..!

The hotel is located in a lane on the main Sukhumvit Road but the hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to and from the main road. Many indian restaurants are located on this lane.. Rang Mahal, Indian Curry and Saras to name a few.

Highly recommended hotel for Indian looking for Indian food.

Room Tip: Book a suite if it fits your budget...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarawgi_Rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked thru a travel website this hotel and another near the dentist as I had to stay 2 weeks. On arrival we had complimentary upgrade... All very lovely, breakfast, pool, staff etc. after our 7 days we moved to our 2nd hotel.. Within 10 mins of being there, we rang to come back.. Same price? A view please? Yes, got all these and a further upgrade to family suite. Staff are so lovely. Free tuk tuk to main road/sky train, not far but appreciated in humidity. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#160 of 891 in Bangkok
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#96 of 891 in Bangkok
1,274 reviews
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#307 of 891 in Bangkok
728 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Mandison Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Mandison Suites

Address: 70/1 Sukhumvit 20, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#108 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#128 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $61 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Mandison Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites - Thailand, Bangkok's new and best valued hotel situated in the prime Sukhumvit business district of Bangkok, hotel is centrally located within walking distance to the BTS sky train and MRT subway, connecting guest to various attractions and business centers in Bangkok. The hotel is also within 15 minutes distance to drive or walk to business and culture centers, international hospitals, foreign embassies, restaurants, nightlife, entertainment, and best shopping centers. Indulges your leisure and lifestyle experience on 1,000 sqm. Of indoor and outdoor space. Swimming pool is available on 4th floor, free wifi. Rooms from 33-88 square meters, designed for comfort and luxury, featuring teak Asian colors and advanced technology connecting everything from your TV to your Ipod or laptop. All touches of modern luxury and comfort are in place for travelers from all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Tulip Mandison Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mandison Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing