We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs! 5 days no clean sheets! Poor hygiene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Ranked #157 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs! 5 days no clean sheets! Poor hygiene”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

After heading to Bangkok like many others to relax after cosmetic surgery I chose to stay at the Golden Tulip Mandison Suites due to the large room with all comforts of home. BIG MISTAKE!!! After 2 days being bed ridden not being able move. My legs were eaten by BED BUGS , I mean big oozing welts. The manager agreed to call a doctor and I was told it would be at my expense 5018BAHT! I was recovering from surgery so could not leave the bed so it was only their fault. The hygiene is appalling I checked in on a Wednesday only on a Sunday after demanding they come change my sheets they finally did it- 5 days same sheets YUCK Every day rubbish was full and there no toilet paper. Bathroom constantly reeked of urine. Also I was an hour late being released from hospital so they demanded a 2000 BAHT deposit from my husband and unless I turned up by 3pm to check in it would be forfeited, if I came it would be refunded and I would pay the 6 night stay. They actually charged 2640 BAHT and have not refunded it! Appalling hotel. Also I struggle to write this as the poor wifi either doesn’t connect or drops out. Try the Amari Residences Sukhumvit about 5 minutes away, so honest friendly and a pleasant stay

Room Tip: I chose the best suite the Residence Suite and had these problems. Definitley avoid level 9, I notic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma_K785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrattanaP, General Manager at Golden Tulip Mandison Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Emma_K785,

As you can imagine, I was sorry to learn your concerns and terribly sorry that our recovery as a gesture of goodwill is unable to release your unpleasantness.

Please rest assure our pest control and treatments are in placed and we've seen our efforts to limit the inconvenience as being quite successful.

I apologize for the poor housekeeping performance, that they failed to perform outstanding service and anticipate needs, rest assure this has been addressed for better performance.

Sincerely yours,
Prattana Pimpila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    304
    108
    20
    19
See reviews for
142
301
81
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I checked into the hotel with my wife at 6AM exhausted and tired of long flight. Even though the checkin time was 1400 hrs they not only arranged for any room but they upgraded my room to suite room with no extra cost. It was a lovely gesture shown by the staff(Mr. Oat)
The location of the hotel is the best part of all. I am a strict vegetarian and never thought I could get any veg restaurant close by. But I was proved wrong. I not only got some Indian restaurant but infact I got pure veg Indian rest bhagat tarachand just 5 mins away frm the hotel. Also I could find many Indian restaurants in close vicinity of the hotel
Getting around the city is very easy because of close proximity of sky train
I loved my honeymoon stay at golden tulip and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, decent, friendly and most importantly very convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinikiniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

really worth to stay at this hotel... room is clean... service is good... and the staffs are friendly & helpful :) 赞!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnieccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, very friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere, great size rooms, could not be happier

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This near new hotel is brilliant! why it is only rated 4 stars is beyond me, easily 5 stars in my book!
- Great, English speaking and super friendly staff, only to eager to help out! Oat worked wonders in organising a couple of tours for us.
- Superb rooms of a huge size (ours was an Executive suite) with separate work room, large bedroom with massive and very comfortable bed, fantastic bathroom - I stay in many hotels for work and this is THE best room I have stayed in for the money ($80 per night!). Do be careful though in the bathroom as ours flooded easily when showering - every towel was used to mop up the water from showering each morning! A bigger shower screen is needed!
- superb pool on the 4th floor with a great view
- free Tuk Tuk(or an easy 10 minute walk) to Asoke BTS station for easy access to malls such as MBK, Central world, Terminal 21, Siam Paragon etc. Do not bother with taxi's, the BTS sky train is cheap and fast
- brilliant location!! Have read some reviews of this hotel that say location is not great, not near many restaurants etc, please ignore those reviews! Along Soi 20 and the neighbouring Soi 18 and Soi 22 there are that many eating places it is unbelievable! Try the Parrot cafe in Soi 22 for breakfast, or the German cafe in Soi 20 (just up from Sukhumvit road) - these 2 both provide an excellent and very cheap breakfast and both only 2 or 3 min walk from hotel. And The Thai Room in Soi 22 is great for a classic Thai dinner!
- only had a couple of meals (1 x room service breakfast) and lunch at their Opio restaurant, so can't really comment on the overall quality / value for many, but what we had was good without being too pricey

Summary - thoroughly recommend this hotel, no negatives at all! Location is superb, rooms are amazing, and staff do everything possible to make your stay an enjoyable one! What more could you want!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
686 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights, and enjoyed it. Check in was correct, the room very clean and new. Breakfast is simple: different type of eggs, vegetables, rice and noodles, etc., but tasty and the personnel was very kind and warm. Oh, the swimming pool. Is really nice to relax after exploring the city in the heat, and have a swim. Very relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is around 10 min walk from Asok sky train stop, but one can always ask for complementary "Tuk Tuk" service. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for a week and to start with there was a baby lizard in our room. Not that it was harmless but it's creepy enough. We weren't given another room stating that all the other rooms are booked out and top floors ac isn't working. We could clearly see other ppl checking in on 5 and higher floors. The lizard stayed with us for out stay too. On check out we were charged money for mini bar and we didn't use any alcohol. We had our own bottle and 7-11 is only a minute away. Plus, anything from minibar cost too much. We aren't drunkards who need to drink no matter what the price is. After stating this to the reception they assured that they would release the deposit without charging for mini bar but alas they didn't keep their promise. Customer service has no room for lies and clearly when they know that guests have returned to their respective homes. How cheap. This also shows that housekeeping staff could steal things from your room so watch out for the staff. The customer service was dishonest and shameless and it ruined my memories of my holidays. Never ever I would stay here again. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parmarpayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#107 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
#177 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Maitria Hotel Sukhumvit 18 - A Chatrium Collection
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Mandison Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Mandison Suites

Property: Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Address: 70/1 Sukhumvit 20, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#108 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#132 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Mandison Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites - Thailand, Bangkok's new and best valued hotel situated in the prime Sukhumvit business district of Bangkok, hotel is centrally located within walking distance to the BTS sky train and MRT subway, connecting guest to various attractions and business centers in Bangkok. The hotel is also within 15 minutes distance to drive or walk to business and culture centers, international hospitals, foreign embassies, restaurants, nightlife, entertainment, and best shopping centers. Indulges your leisure and lifestyle experience on 1,000 sqm. Of indoor and outdoor space. Swimming pool is available on 4th floor, free wifi. Rooms from 33-88 square meters, designed for comfort and luxury, featuring teak Asian colors and advanced technology connecting everything from your TV to your Ipod or laptop. All touches of modern luxury and comfort are in place for travelers from all walks of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip Mandison Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mandison Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing