We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansar Bangkok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #35 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed for three nights in January traveling alone. I was upgraded to an Edge suite, as other reviews have noticed. I think the hotel is of the mindset that it wants customers in its biggest/best rooms. Though the room was well furnished and modern, it was however a little worn (mainly scuffed wood and other surfaces). Nothing that would make me not stay there - but I feel the pressure of the high TA rating to perhaps look for more. Other comments:
-Desk staff was helpful and polite, but did not always get what I was trying to communicate. Their English is good, but there were a couple lost in translation moments: one, trying to call down to get hand soap; second, trying to find a good place to eat late (checked in around 930 - best the front desk could tell me was a skytrain stop). That said, the shift manager the next day I think recognized my frustration and spent extra effort with me.
- Pool and exercise room are nice
- The location was good, a block from the very easy Bangkok skytrain.
- Breakfast was decent, not great, the bar was nearly empty each night I was there (Friday - Monday).
-The Edge suite was huge. I would also echo what others have said - the bathroom is open to the rest of the room with only glass walls for the shower and the loo. Pick your roommate accordingly!

Nothing that I was disappointed with, and the value is I think quite good - but just not a wow experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,061
    503
    114
    37
    20
See reviews for
412
1,316
220
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California USA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed at this property when it was brand new and had great hopes that it would be a place I could come back as a frequent visitor to Bangkok. However, I was somewhat dissapointed about the condition of the hotel and the rooms. It looks like they are having a difficult time being competitve with the other real 5 Star Hotels located on Ratchdamri. Being located the end of a narrow Soi wetched in between the brand new St. Regis and Four Seasons Hotel. The staff was very polite and helpful. Hopefully the can make the changes needed to compete in Bangkok.

Dr. Kaelin

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Vertigo suite, which is very nice.
The staff are polite and will help you with whatever you need.
Small gym, but decent.
Pool is a bit cold, but very nice.
Food is great, and you should opt for breakfast.
The Hotel is not as huge as many of the other 5 star hotels in Bangkok,
and personally i love the more intimate feeling you get at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the vertigo suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-VWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here during my short business trip for 2 nights. I have booked the private transfer from the airport as I had lots of luggage. Everything was well arranged. Check-in also no problem. They person who showed me the room told I got an upgrade, but in my opinion, this was the room a actually reserved... Minor detail... Room is nice, not really my colors.
I had roomservice, food was ok and fast. Breakfast was ok, but too busy for me. I had a quick dinner at the Cafe Boca , food was good. But service was less impressive, no smile, we are in Thailand right?
The pool area is nice, not the greatest view, but relaxing. Massage was very good in the in-house Spa.
Check-out also fast and no problems.
Price/value very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrysmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The staff was great esp the bell boys who took initiative to find our the place and even print out map in case we got lost. As for the room,no complaints at all, plenty of water, soft drinks to beer to seasonal fruits.

One minor thing is its tucked in 1 corner so a bit inaccessible.it is so when u are on your way back nearby from central world, the journey seems long. I did not get to try breakfast as I woke up late.so can't rate on the food.

Overall, a superb place and I would stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coolfiresg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This member of Small Luxury Hotels is nestled right between the Four Seasons and the St. Regis, and is also directly on the Sky Train line. Great location, at a price well below its neighbors. The hotel is a traditional style, with lots of wood and Thai touches. Room was super comfortable - great bed, big shower, outstanding a/c, completely quiet. Extensive, tasty breakfast is included. 2 for 1 Happy Hour and two excellent in-house restaurants. Fabulous spa - one of the best massages of my life. Lovely, large fitness center and nice pool. Service was fantastic, from the smiling guys at the front door to the outstanding laundry. On our last day we had to leave very early for the airport, and the front desk surprised us with two breakfast bags to go! I don't usually gush like this, but this hotel was a wonderful oasis in the Bangkok heat, noise and clamour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bostonian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay. We booked the basic room which was even nicer than we expected. The rates were reasonable but more importantly the rooms were impressive - that's important to us. Very cool. The service was EXCELLENT - plenty of good quality bath products, beer, orange, water, peanuts etc - all generously supplied every day (not mean at all). They even came to your door at night asked if you needed anything. Otherwise it was quiet and peaceful. I loved the breakfast (not over the top but plenty of choice) - very relaxed as they would take your order or just leave you to help yourself - even offered cappuccino. Near to transport (skytrain) which took us everywhere - Ratchadamri to Siam Paragon 'one stop'. The director of rooms was so helpful as was the staff in the restaurant.
We had a flight at midnight but 'no hassle' they offered us late checkout at 3pm.
After that I had a 'run' in the gym, a swim and a shower on the 8th floor where a gorgeous bathroom was available with clean towels and the bath products (again) so I could wash my hair and feel good for the trip home. That made such a difference.
(Adrianne's review above) gives all the details of the room so I just say that I would definitely stay again. To be honest I can't think of anything negative so why bother. I think if there was a little problem - they give the impression that they would fix it asap
Sharni & D(Australia)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharniball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Baan Rajprasong Serviced Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Bangkok Hotel

Property: Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Address: 3 Soi Mahadlekluang 2, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Bangkok Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hansar Bangkok, an unrivaled luxury experience just steps away from the heart of Bangkok and a short one-minute walk to the BTS Skytrain, yet nestled in the seclusion and comfort in Bangkok's most prestigious location, Rajdamri Road. Endless and enchanting views of Bangkok greenery, outstanding architectural elegance and timeless style, amenities to please the most discerning traveler, this is the Hansar way of life. Our suites are steeped in modern comfort and amenities, contemporary yet timeless in style and adorned in Jim Thompson silk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing