We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, mixed quality of service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #38 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great room, mixed quality of service”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor before we booked this hotel, we were really looking forward to our visit, we stayed for 5 nights last week.

Our overall opinion of the hotel was mixed.

We had a Vertigo suite which was amazing, great views over the Bangkok Sports Ground, amazing bathroom, and bedroom up some steps and with great views again from the windows. It is probably the best room we have ever stayed in (even better then Mandarin Orientals we usually stay in).

The free minibar was also a nice touch, with free water, beer, chocolate etc - perfect when you have just come back from a day in busy Bangkok and want a quick drink to cool down.

The swimming pool was very well attended and lovely views, although not much sun, because of its location on the 8th floor, and noisy due to nearby building work. The gym was also excellent for a hotel gym, very well equipped.

We ate in the hotel once or twice, both at lunchtime and evening, food was excellent, particularly the Thai dishes. However, wine prices and the bar generally were very expensive which put me off a bit. Breakfast was ok, all the things you'd expect but nothing special.

The biggest disappointment for us was the service we received.
Generally, the staff serving food/drinks at both breakfast & dinner in bar did not seem as enthusiastic as in other hotels, and didn't make us feel very welcome. We found this very unusual, as everywhere else we had received excellent service.
However, the biggest issue for us was checking in. We arrived at the hotel between 3pm and 4pm, and we were told our room was not quite ready. We were given a drink while we waited at the front desk, but then after many phonecalls & discussion, we were told they only had a room for us on the smoking floor (we booked non-smoking), but would instead upgrade us to a room with a balcony and view of sports club - as long as we were happy with the smell of the room. We went up to the room, smell was fine, but I reminded them I had booked a Vertigo suite, and was again told this was an upgrade.

After having been left in the room, I looked on the internet and realised that the room was not the Vertigo suite I had booked, but was instead a Studio Suite, which is around half the price of the vertigo suite. I went back to reception & asked them to move us - they were very apologetic, and said it was a mistake on their computer, and moved us. However, it wasted a lot of our time on the first day, and left us with a bad impression as we felt we had been misled about the room we were given first time, as it was clearly a significant downgrade.

On a more positive note, the concierge staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble and really helpful.

In summary, great rooms and very nice hotel - but the service needs to improve before we would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
54 Thank SarahTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    512
    118
    37
    20
See reviews for
421
1,334
221
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Me, my wife and our 9 year old daughter stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We came from Koh Chang by a 7 hour journey by taxi exhausted to this hotel. From this point we were greated and attended immaculately by the hotelstaff all the way to our taxi 2 days later for the airport.
Everything they fixed. If you stepped in to the lobby they welcomed you and gave you tips on where to go or to do in Bangkok. They fixed taxi, tuk-tuk (even negotiated the price for you) or walked you to the BTS station (skytrain) nearby. They took care of your bags if you came home from shopping and asked us how the day has been and maybe played a game with our daughter in the lobby while we took a beer.
Everyone from the hotelmanager to the cleaninglady had a smile and asked us if they could do anything for us and not in a way to make you uncomfortable but in a really family manor.
If there is any special requests you have, just talk to the security manager, Dao, who is mostly in the lobby assisting with everything like a second concierge. He really made that little extra for us and especially our daughter.
The rooms were as great as they should be in a luxury hotel. Perfect AC, beds and big rooms. Nothing to complain about.
The only thing that separates this hotel from the other luxury hotels we've been to in Thailand is the breakfast. It is not a huge buffet but a small one where you first order your coffee and eggs and then go and pick from a small buffet with the most essential (some Thai-food as well) to choose from. It works good and I believe they've chosen this concept just to give you that "homefeeling".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubbe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

A brand new hotel, I think not even officially open when I stayed in April, and therefore maybe not yet charging full rates. Located at the back of The Four Seasons so, yes, be ready to explain that to the taxi driver when you arrive. 200m walk down the lane from the hotel to the main road, and there's the monorail, but it's only a 10-15 walk to Siam Square area.

I got an upgrade to one of the rooms with the "wall garden" - unusual, pleasant to look at, and probably a devil to maintain and keep clean. The room itself was large, especially the twin-sink bathroom, with big tub in a separate wet-room with shower. The separate lounge area was welcome. Free wifi and - something I have never come across in a hotel anywhere - a free minibar, albeit mostly soft drinks, with two cans of beer, but a nice and unexpected gesture.

The hotel is all about earthy tones, wood and glass. Nice design overall, and pleased that the room had carpet, not the ubiquitous cold wooden flooring so many other modern hotels use. There is a long (but not deep) lap pool, adjacent to a well-equipped and bright gym, and large pool patio area with sun-beds. There's also a roof patio at the top of the building, which guests can access to take pictures, and I assume is used for parties, functions, etc.

Breakfast downstairs was very good, but not exceptional. The usual buffet set-up, with eggs cooked to order. Quality was good, not the awful industrial-standard pastries, tinned fruits, etc, that some hotels love to offer. It's possible to eat outside on the long balcony, if you prefer that to the air-con restaurant.

Overall, a very comfortable and well-designed new hotel. I think the test will be - how high are prices set once the place is officially launched, and how well maintained will all the fixtures and fittings be (I somehow could sense that it would not take too much use, or too much time, before some of the room fittings started to look tired and damaged). Time will tell.

It's usually a cliche to say that the "staff are friendly" in hotels, but here I must say that every staff member I came into contact with did seem genuinely alive and interested in what they were doing and how they could help.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My spouse and I spent 3 nights at the Hansar in March.
When we pulled up to the hotel we were instantly greeted by a helpful bellhop. The staff were incredibly pleasant and accommodating.
They upgraded our room. The room was amazing. It included a sitting area, VERY comfortable bed, amazing bathroom with soaker tub and rain shower, and a complimentary mini bar!!!
The buffet breakfast was included and soooo delicious!
The only small complaint we have is that, although the pool is very picturesque, it was really cold! The also had a "hot tub"..or at least that's what it looked like, but it was cold as well! We know Bangkok is really hot, and a cool dip in the pool seems like a good idea in theory, but it was too cold. But, while you're at the pool you have access to a bar, and you're waited on with towels and complimentary bottles of water.
Overall our stay at the Hansar was beyond incredible. We would definitely stay again if we returned to Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mash460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is a new hotel, only opened in early 2011. It has not yet had its official opening ceremony.
It is in an almost perfect location in the centre of Bangkok, next to the Ratchadamri Skytrain.
The rooms are clearly spanking brand new and have a modern designer theme.
Plush and very comfortable living and working areas with fabric covered walls, thick carpets. Marble and dark wood work surfaces. Soft and comfortable bed. Bathroom is 5 star designer quality. Air con is efficient and quiet.
What stands out is the vertical garden within the guest room, sealed, but with open ceiling to ground windows. It really does serve to remind you that you are in Thailand, not New York! . Stylish specially made light cotton bathrobe helps you to relax.
It has a good gym with equipment that all works well, and with changing rooms. Next to this is a comfortable outdoor pool and rest and bar area that is attractive.
Its these differences that make this into an excellent 5 star hotel.
The breakfast is not as good as the outstanding food served in Le Meridien, and it does not have a western style breakfast, but there is very good service quality.
It is part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World Group.
The cost per night is a little on the high side and almost certainly will go up higher after the official launch. So I recommend that you visit it now!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Located close so business and shopping areas, this is a good choice for both business and leisure. Friendly and helpful staff that made sure everything we required were met, delivered with courtesy and efficiency. Some nagging soft opening issues that I am sure would be addressed as the hotel moves to full opening, eg outside callers having to wait a lot time for phones to be connected, and martinis that were frankly very poorly made.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyline_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I have been to bangkok 6 times now, and we always chose different high-class hotels. many of them - like the oriental - are really luxurious but they often have that typical grand hotel style my grandparents would prefer. the hansar ist really different from that. Its very modern, though not cold and uncomfortable. Its located in the business- and shopping-district. the skytrain station is just across the street. Really the only "negative" thing I could say about this great place is, that the WIFI did not really work very well in our room. But its free and as soon as you reach the lobby or restaurant it works perfectly.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank riogrande007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 852 in Bangkok
1,837 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Bangkok Hotel

Property: Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Address: 3 Soi Mahadlekluang 2, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Bangkok Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hansar Bangkok, an unrivaled luxury experience just steps away from the heart of Bangkok and a short one-minute walk to the BTS Skytrain, yet nestled in the seclusion and comfort in Bangkok's most prestigious location, Rajdamri Road. Endless and enchanting views of Bangkok greenery, outstanding architectural elegance and timeless style, amenities to please the most discerning traveler, this is the Hansar way of life. Our suites are steeped in modern comfort and amenities, contemporary yet timeless in style and adorned in Jim Thompson silk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hansar Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing