We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suphan Lake Hometel
Ranked #425 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The service was friendly and the hotel was clean. It was no problem to extend the stay. The only bad thing was that the hotel is a bit far away from the centrum of Bangkok. You have to go by taxi to the next underground station


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Thiemo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 105 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Booked this because it was fairly close to the airport, as opposed to central Bangkok, and we had a very late arrival. Wound up enjoying it and the location as much as anything on our 3-week trip. Hotel's in a residential neighborhood and borders a small park and lake. The building is new, quite clean, and design is attractive; far beyond the "bare minimalist" style. Wonderfully airy open lobby. Rooms are spartan, but everything worked as it should. "Wet room" style shower. There are some mosquitoes - more screens are in order. Meanwhile, bring your repellant. Balconies overlook the park and are great for watching the early a.m. fitness crowd. Staff were nice as candy, very helpful, and spoke some English; the owner actually drove around town to find us to ensure we weren't lost after an extended walk. The neighborhood is unspoiled by tourism, friendly as could be; Westerners can roam free without the perpetual badgering of tuk-tuks and hawkers. Vendors charged us the same for goods as the locals paid. Great way to experience what I suspect is a much more genuine Thai visit than the usual tourist haunts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank throgmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here in December 2013.

It's true that this hotel is close to the airport; it doesn't take long to travel by taxi from the terminal. Also, the actual rooms are quite nice, as is the side of the hotel that faces the park. It's also affordable, and offers free wifi that consistently had a good signal.

However, I find it hard to justify staying here over another hotel in the surrounding areas. There were some definite drawbacks to Suphan Lake Hometel.

1. "Free" Airport Shuttle: We primarily booked this hotel because of this service. We emailed the hotel several weeks before our arrival inquiring about the service, and they didn't respond until the day before departure. When they did respond, they said the service was NOT free (the opposite of what is listed on their website). So don't expect service to and from the airport.

2. Questionable staff: As I said, the shuttle service was not free. So on our departure I asked the front desk staff about calling a taxi to the hotel. The woman working the desk refused to call me a metered taxi, offering us a flat rate taxi that was more expensive than the metered taxi we took to the hotel. I asked several times for her to call a metered taxi, but she refused, albeit with a smile.

3. Location: While the front side of the hotel looks over a gorgeous park, the back side is questionable. There is little in the neighborhood as far as restaurants or stores, and it's a little sketch of a neighborhood. I arrived late at night, and there really wasn't much to be found in the way of food and the hotel doesn't have a real restaurant.

Overall while the room was decent and the price was low, there are better alternatives in a similar price range that actually offer free shuttle service too and from the airport. I'd recommend those instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I live only a short motorcylcle ride away from this hotel, I personally have no vested interest in It but I have booked rooms there for visting friends which wanted a hotel near the airport.

Everyone of my friends who has stayed there has been delighted and remarked on it's value for money. The hotel is only a few years old, overlooking a lake, with a huge park.

Comments I have seen say there is no entertainment near by. Of course there is, and a huge expat community to boot maybe its because the reviewers didn't know where to go. I happen to know of all the hotels in this area and this is the best in my view. But I only live there so what do I know.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground floor overlooking the lake and park but don't stay in room complaini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bangkokmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here since our flight arrives around midnight and we didn't want to travel into the city center and pay for 1 night extra in our pricier hotel. We also chose this since they had free pickup from the hotel (more on that below) and the overall price was quite cheap.

We got 2 rooms with balconies. We were quite satisfied with the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. Very nice view of the nearby lake and playground. Very relaxing.

Our flight arrived 45mins late and when we got out of the gate, we went searching for the driver that should have picked us up. But we couldn't find him anywhere. So we purchased a local sim and called the hotel. They told us to wait at a specific entrance and the driver arrived about 10 mins later. He was holding a sign that contains a very misspelled version of our name. Good thing we told the hotel what we were wearing so the driver was able to identify us.

Apparently, there was NO actual hotel car. He just made us ride a taxi and he was the one who told the taxi driver our destination. The taxi driver wasn't sure where the hotel was exactly so he had to call the hotel for directions. When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist was the one who paid the taxi. No problems there at all. Good thing the receptionist was Filipino so we were able to communicate clearly.

There was no included breakfast for the price we paid so we ordered a la carte from their restaurant. The food was quite tasty and the price was okay for a hotel restaurant though it is much more expensive compared to prices in the city center restaurants. Nice view also from their restaurant and it was a relaxing and satisfying meal overall.

We hired a car that would take us to our actual hotel in Bangkok and tour us around for the whole day. It took around almost an hour for us to reach Sukhumvit 8 (where our hotel is located) from Lake Suphan Hometel due to heavy traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssofiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

For the price, we were nicely surprised with our room and the service we received during our stay at Suphan Lake Hometel.
My husband and I stayed here for one night during our stop over from Bangkok to Koh Samui. For $19NZD per night, this place is great value. Our room was very clean and well furnished with a new ensuite bathroom. The service was fabulous, they organised our taxi transfer and wake up call, and even offered to open the restaurant for us upon our late arrival.
To get to the hometel cost 170 baht from BKK airport, from the hometel to DMK cost us 230 baht - these prices do vary according to traffic etc.
Location is ideal for a stop over like ours, but not great if you are wanting to explore the central city. There are some night markets just around the corner where you can get dinner.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Good for overnight stay, very clean though there are mosquitoes. All sorts of insects can be heard at night which is not good for light sleepers, though didn't have any problems with it. Unlimited coffee supply (a joy for me). Breakfast is not too good. Close to the airport, just that. Too far from bangkok city for the shoppers. Friendly staff though specially Noi.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank chin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Airy Suvarnabhumi Hotel
#455 of 891 in Bangkok
331 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#298 of 891 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Baron Zotel Bangkok
#266 of 891 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Romance Hotel
Romance Hotel
#551 of 891 in Bangkok
6 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#320 of 891 in Bangkok
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suphan Lake Hometel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suphan Lake Hometel

Address: 106/999, Soi 31-5, Keha Rom Klao Road | Khlong Song Ton Nun, Lad Krabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $15 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suphan Lake Hometel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel near Bangkoks international airport Suvarnabhumi, Suphan Lake Hometel offers the perfect stop over location. Over looking a beautiful park with lakeview restaurant, easy access to Bangkok city using the new sky train service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Suphan Lake Hometel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing