We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Guesthouse!”
Review of MHC-Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MHC-Guesthouse
Ranked #216 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed in Max guesthouse two times: In the beginning of our trip and in the end.
So you can see, that the first stay was quite convincing!

The room (double) was clean, furnished nicely and the bed was comfy. AC and hot water were always working and the free coffee (nescafé) in the lobby helped get the day started.

The location is close to Phrom Phong station of the skytrain Sukhumvit line and good streetfood is found on the way to the station.

Advice for trips, general help navigating Bangkok and where to find the next good thai massage is given by Max himself or one of his staff.

Nevertheless I have to admit that the stairs are really steep and there is no lift. But we were used to carrying our luggage arround, so it didn't bother us and I guess it would'nt bother most people.

All in all,
a good and reasonble priced place to stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Double rooms are large enough for two people and luggage.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for MHC-Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 388 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

+ nice, clean and quiet rooms.
+ good location - 5-10 min to BTS (sky train) station.
+ extremely helpful staff - I have to point out that it was the first time I got a welcoming email from the manager before my arrival with a set of practical information including how to get to the hotel from the airport not being ripped off by the taxi driver.

All mentioned above one can have for a very reasonable price - very good price/quality ratio.

All in all it's a great place to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at MHC guesthouse 3 nights on arrival and decided to return after our 3weeks trip around Thailand for 3more nights. We really liked the place for the fact that it´s in a great location (quiet side street but near the business district and airtrain, with terrific morning street food!) and the friendliness of the owner and his staff.
The room was cosy and the bed, though high to jump in, was really comfy! Only downside was the lack of elevator (we were on the third floor and had heavy luggages) but the feeling of security, the cleanliness and the wise advises from the staff made up for it!
I will highly recommend the place to my friends and if I go back to Bangkok I'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aureliebubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here around a total of 7 nights in November 2013.

The location is good being only a few minutes walk to some good eateries and about 10 minutes walk to Phrom Pong BTS station.For somewhere so close to Sukhumvit Rd it is very quiet.

Max the owner is friendly guy who cares about his guests and is happy to give any information necessary.

Ka the manager is a lovely lady (with a seemingly encyclopedic knowledge of Thailand) who happily helped me out no end with advice on everything from phone cards to travelling.

Together Max and Ka made me feel at home and made my stay a really enjoyable one. I wholeheartedly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing stairs avoid the rooms on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The owner was great, concerned for our well being. Great reception staff. Room great for a couple of nights shopping in Bangkok. Triple room worked well for my hubby and I, plus 3&8year olds. Sky train brilliant but we found it was a no goer with suitcases and kids.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thetribegetsbigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This place is owned by Max who was a pilot... & if i recall correctly, born in Caribbean, brought up in England and flew for Kuwait Airways... His passion of flying is evident from the way he has very nicely decorated his reception / lobby and named the rooms. Located meters away from Sukhumvit Road in a peaceful alley guaranteeing sound sleep.... BTS is on walking station.... plenty of nice places on walking distance.... helpful and courteous staff with very personal touch of services..... respond very timely to emails (not common in Thailand).... well maintained rooms, excellent decor, complementary tea / coffee, arrangement of very competitively priced tours from third party. This is a "no smoking" guesthouse, spotlessly clean rooms and toilets. I would definitely stay again. Value for money (or may be value much better than the cost)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank accidentalsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Due to flight delays, I only had 1 night to stay at MHC. I arrived from the airport late (around 1am), but a staff worker was at the door and checking me in within 2 minutes of arriving. The location is fantastic, 5 minutes from the BTS station. Since I arrived late I used a taxi from the airport, and showed the taxi driver the instructions from Max. It only took about 20 minutes and the route we used avoided all the tolls.

The rooms were spacious, and the bed was very very comfortable.

Overall, good value for the price, would like to stay there again for more time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#289 of 879 in Bangkok
66 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#347 of 879 in Bangkok
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#281 of 879 in Bangkok
345 reviews
Solo Express Bangkok
#186 of 879 in Bangkok
226 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#343 of 879 in Bangkok
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MHC-Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MHC-Guesthouse

Address: 8 / 4 Sukhumvit Soi 28 | Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $22 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MHC-Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse in Sukhumvit Bangkok. Very close to the skytrain and many amenities. Very clean, convenient, comfortable and very competitive. Soi 28 is a quiet no-through street. Many buses on Sukhumvit taking you to all the shopping centres. Emporium Shopping Arcade is only a short walk away, with lots of restaurants, night life, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your MHC-Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing