We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ribs, but a bit noisy”
Review of Ana Garden - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ana Garden
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good ribs, but a bit noisy”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This restaurant would be charming on a nice quiet afternoon – great ribs and nice prawns located within a beautiful garden. The atmosphere would have been great if it were in some remote place of Bangkok. However, it was so close to the busy streets of Thong lor that you can really hear the sound of the car engines and bustling horns. The management did the right things by turning on loud music, but this made matters worse as the music was really loud, not to mentioned some mosquitoes. The prices were on the high end. Service was great though. I would recommend you go to this place on a later afternoon for a drink with a couple of friends when the traffic is not bad.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    4
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,188 reviews
613 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you don't know what to have you might walk out disappointed. The barbecued pork ribs are great as are the grilled river prawns and the grilled pork neck (succulent slices of tender juicy pork neck). The pork ribs get sold out very fast. Even the pad kra prao, both beef and pork are worth a try. I don't eat food with coconut but I've heard their Thai curry is good too. The staff are friendly but communication is at times a problem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank percyvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely food, and great setting (although take your mosquito repellant!)

Had a really lovely night, but wouldn't necessarily rush back as have eaten better at cheaper places with a similar ambience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toffeedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The food here is OK, but extremely overpriced for what it is and the setting is right next to a busy road so car engines is all you can hear all evening.

I paid by card and noticed at the time the waiter/owner kept looking over and acting suspiciously when processing the payment and remarked on it then. Checking my balance a week later I realised that he'd run the payment through twice.

Considering this dive was pretty much deserted on both Friday and Saturday evening, I think it will only be a matter of time until these con artists are out of business, which is the only positive thing I can think about the place.

Avoid.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FidelGastroPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pricey - Pricey - Pricey”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Probably one of the priciest restaurants outside of a five star hotels in Bangkok. Set up and decor is ok – looks like someone turned their front garden of a residence into a restaurant. Again for such a high priced restaurant we expected decor and service to be immaculate which it certainly does not have. Food is decent but again for such an expensive of a menu we would not have settled fore anything less. Most of entrees were 400-800 Baht range ($13-$25). And the BBQ price is through the roof with 1000-2000 Baht range. Restaurant is very noisy. First they had a loud music going and I asked them to turn it down which they did for few songs after which it was turned loud back again. Plus they have a pretty noisy water fountain in the middle and several ceiling fans blasting. And to top it all off the restaurant is right on the busy Thong Lore Street with dinning area extending all the way to street so there is constant noise of cars. May be the loud music and fountains are there to offset the street car noise.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neupaneaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ana Garden also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing