We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall - CLOSED
Save
Book In Advance
  
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
258
109
30
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
109
30
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide grand palace ticket on display wood carvings silk embroidery king rama v thai art free lockers dusit park long skirt dress code impressive building tourist groups chinese tourists beautiful architecture entrance fee thrones
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 412 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018

I read it is now closed indefinitely (since 01 Oct 2017) but I was lucky to have visited in Sep 2017, with family. The great attractions are fine 3D embroidery on huge silk scrolls, intricate carvings on golden teak and many other artifacts. Grand Palace ticket included entry to this building too. This is a not-to-miss-at-all place. Audio guide in English is included in the ticket. Walk in only empty-handed; every item should be kept in free lockers.

1  Thank KVenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017

I had a chance to see thisAnanta Samakhom Throne Hall. It wonderful place with a lot of nice things.

1  Thank vip_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

be aware that everything around here is closed in dusit park for renovation,nov 2017...the zoo which is also here is though open

2  Thank glock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

The Ananta Samakhom Thorne Hall have been closed for the long term renovation since last 30th September.
This famous white marble throne hall building was built during King Rama V reign. It is more than 100 years old building. (The marble temple was build in the same era.)
The building was used for many important state events.
It is one of the majestic historical building in Thailand.
I hope it will re open again after closing for renovation.

4  Thank kinglear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

If you ever around at Ratchadamnoen,don't miss these beautiful architecture with huge landscaped compound..much Victorian and Louisianian influence Not far from the Government House you could have all your pictures taken here. This is where Rama 9 was crowned and his former's and his resting place before the cremation. Go visit soon before the cremation ceremony if you're lucky to have your turn.The routine marches by the King's Guard happens early morning. To get here there're no BTS or MRT...just get a cab or public transport or a tour.
Remember not to wear sleeveless,shorts...anything expose if you're intend to go into the throne hall.

1  Thank Rangoon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

I came to the marble palace on my last day in Bangkok. After learning that my ticket to the Grand Palace included entrance to this attraction, I figured I had to do it. First and foremost, the throne hall is open during a shorter window of time than the Grand Palace, so plan accordingly. It's also a great place to hide from the sun and it's fully air conditioned. I also spent at least two hours here.

There is a dress code, similar to the Grand Palace; full length pants and a top that covers your shoulders. You will also be asked to place your belongings (including cameras and phones) in cubbies they provide on-site at no additional charge. Security will ask you repeatedly if you've stashed away your phone; I highly recommend complying. They will also provide you with equipment for an audio tour.

The throne hall is really a beautiful piece of architecture that serves as a museum housing some of the greatest treasures Thailand has to offer. The collections include thrones, crafted ship models, fine tapestry murals (incredibly large), enormous and intricate wood carvings, royal howdahs, and other personal goods of Thailand royalty. All of the objects are handmade by groups of artisans, who spent years crafting each exhibit as a gift to the royal family. There are dozens of pieces and each one has a history and a story (though the audio tour can get pretty repetitive - same discussion format and monotonous). The last exhibit is an art gallery (tapestry) of award-winning works from Thai artists.

While I'm not an art connoisseur, I think anyone who enjoys the highest level of craftsmanship will find this attraction fascinating. I rate this attraction five stars as a testament to the incredible craftsmanship every work embodied.

2  Thank TomasTJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Ananta Samakhom Throne Hall is a beautiful building with western influence. Many important Art of Siam items are inside. They are marvellous and must see not only for tourists but also Thai. You could not take the photos inside the building and mobile phone also is not allowed however you could buy books about them. Unfortunately it will be closed after September 30, 2017.

Thank lpermyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017

This building is fantastic. The architecture is beautiful with fresco paintings on the ceilings. The hall features gold thrones, silk embroidery, and intricate wood carving. Audio tours are available in 10 languages and are included with the entrance fee (150 baht or 'free' if you have a ticket from the Grand Palace). Remember to dress modestly. This means long skirts or dresses for ladies and no bare shoulders. It also means no shorts or bare shoulders for men. You must leave all of your belongings (except for your wallet) in a free locker. Follow the signs for individual entry. They will guide you to the lockers and then to the ticket booth and entrance. Yes, there are many tours here, but they move along quickly. If you wait for a minute or 2, you'll get a chance to see each exhibit. The main hall is breathtaking with the frescos and pieces dedicated to the king. The first floor contains galleries of traditional thai art with videos to show how it's made. This is probably my favorite place in Bangkok so far. If you enjoy museums and art, I wouldn't miss it, but you'll have to plan your visit soon because the hall is closing for renovation on October 1, 2017 and I did not see a date posted for when they plan to finish.

1  Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

I loved this place. This is a must watch. The is a dress code, men are required to ware full pants and shirt/T-shirt. Girls long sleeve tops and long skirt. There are clothes available for 200 Bhatt outside if anyone needs to change . I would advise buying them inside as the clothes is much better and they cost 50bhat. If you have a ticket from the Grand Palance, the entry here is free. Photography is not allowed inside. There are beautiful wooden carving paintings, thrones and several royal ornaments on display. It is amazing. I generally don't like museums, but I loved this one. You don't need a guide. On entry a free of cost hand set is provided, on entering numbers for each item on display it gives the full history.

1  Thank isha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

The Exhibition of the Masterpieces is incredible. I particularly enjoyed the teakwood screen carved with scenes from the Himavan Forest.

Thank MANG0SM00TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews