We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing else like this in Bangkok”
Review of GAGGAN

GAGGAN
Ranked #129 of 11,052 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $100
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nothing else like this in Bangkok”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Most unusual restaurant and certainly not one that, in any way, resembles a typical “Indian” restaurant. This restaurant definitely would not appeal to anyone looking for a good curry, nan bread and beer evening meal.

It has been described as a Bangkok version of Heston Blumenthal’s Fat Duck restaurant and “molecular gastronomy” (see Wikipedia) cooking style.

We had the tasting menu of about ten “small” dishes of which perhaps only one could be described as Indian food. All of these were quite unusual and unique. Quite seriously different.

Service excellent. Maitre D’ extremely helpful in explaining the menu.

One criticism, it is a very noisy restaurant and conversation at normal levels is very difficult if you have the misfortune to be seated next to a voluble table.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    328
    167
    101
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“interesting and very tasty in charming old house”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This place came highly recommended from a Hong Kong friend. It is an interesting cross of Indian, western and mollecular gastronomy but don't go for any of these aspects individually. It's combinations worth trying. For my money, the Indian dishes were more successful.

Service was very helpful and friendly. Drinks are ...hhmmm...interesting. I tried a mango something which was...a mango something! Freeze dried creamy blocks with a small amount of mango juice poured over (I had to ask for more juice). It was more like a dessert than a drink so i left it to 'melt' a bit more to attack after dinner.

Indian curry lobster was delicious and so was a truffled pasta ravioli - though it seemed out of place. The kitchen is very experimental and we noted most other tables were ordering the chef's degustation menu. We were too full from lunch to indulge in this but did notice some degustation dishes at a neighbouring table being sent back as interesting but not enjoyable.

so its a new food experience with great service in a lovely setting . If you feel adventurous this is a good choice.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thatmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More gimmick than good food”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The concept is interesting and the presentation is amusing but the food isn't mind-blowing. It's good. The restaurant is nice. It's a nice evening but nothing to write home about.

Helpful?
Thank ChiangMaiJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overrated!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We went a few days ago to Gaggan which advertises itself as new age cooking and fusion , molecular, and all that!! The restraunt is cosy and nicely done, even though we had an awful table in middle of the room next to the swinging doors of the kitchen and near the bar, I wanted to change it but a smooth talking attractive server told us that she thought the other tables would be too noisy for us!! I was hungry so decided not to pursue it. We asked for recommendations, 2 of our guests were vegetarians, our glib tongued server, recommended tasting menus for all of us, veg and non veg, don't go that route!!! It was very very dissapointing.
My sangria came frozen I was told proudly, nitrogen? The very small courses came in, apart from one of the fish dishes which was ok, the rest was very ordinary, , nothing more , the desert was awful!! Nitrogened white chocolate with bits of very tart gooseberry, left a bad taste, and of course then came the bill!! Total rip off !! there are much

better Indian restaurants around, as expensive but good wholesome Indian food , undisguised!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Molecular gastronomy meets Indian classics”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Gaggan is billed as "progressive Indian cuisine", a phrase that adequately describes this high-class restaurants unique fusion of cutting edge culinary techniques and classic dishes. I opted for the 10 course taster menu (astounding value at 1,600 baht) and thoroughly enjoy the gastronomical journey I embarked upon. Not all dishes were to my taste, but by and large the weaker choices (the Indian classics, mostly) were buoyed by the better ones (the strange and virtually indescribable items).

A caveat: I am but a country ogre in the lands of fine dining, and hasten to admit that I have never before tried anything from the world of molecular gastronomy, whatever that may be. I think it is enough for me to have had an unparalleled dining experience at Gaggan, one for which I have no other reference. The ambiance of the restaurant is also worth noting: what a beautiful place for a trip into the culinary unknown...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GAGGAN also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to GAGGAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing