We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice twist on Indian Cuisine”
Review of GAGGAN

GAGGAN
Ranked #129 of 11,052 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $100
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A nice twist on Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Gaggan restaurant is located in an old renovated house in the center of Bangkok which provides a very pleasant atmosphere for the dinning experience. The restaurant is very keen and eager to promote a 10 course blind taster menu. However, we were more interested in picking what we wanted to eat, so we opted to order a la carte.

The a la carte menu has a wide variety of excellent Indian-Italian fusion options. Do not let the photocopied, stained, ripped menu put you off. The food tastes much better than what the menu looks like. (Note to Chef Gaggan - Time to invest in a real menu!)

The food was excellent, but very rich. The bill for two persons (without alcohol) came to about $100 - about right for nice upscale dinner experience in Bangkok.

ps: If given the option, the atmosphere upstairs is much nicer than downstairs.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LamaFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madgags, Owner at GAGGAN, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thanks Lama you made our Day!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    328
    167
    101
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“exellent service with smart chef”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

is to late to write bcoz of my bussy shedule. this is my second visit to the restaurant ,& the food & service ll remember me forevar ,waitres jyll is superb & menu choose by smart chef prashant was execellent .prawns ,pork recomanded by chef were outstanding.must visit gaggan & try their speciallty

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dearhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food...but 3 hours is way too long”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Dined at Gaggan last night with my boyfriend and our two friends, one of whom is friends with the owner. We sat down at 6:30 pm and the chef prepared us a custom 11 course tasting menu, which is best described as classic indian flavours with a serious edge. The lobster was amazing, the mutton and fish curries were fabulous and so was the service. The only downside to this place was that I almost fell asleep waiting for our main course, which was served almost 3 hours later...but we were in no rush, so it wasn't a big deal. Lovely setting, clean, lively and overall a great experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelEatPrayLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent! Love it!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Most of the dishes are quite impressive! My friend and I tried the tasting menu @ 1600 Baht, it included 10 dishes... and they tasted really good! Nothing to complain about! We ordered cocktail.... my "Sugar Cane Mojito" was quite good, but my friend's "Happy Drink" was much better!! It was very refreshing & delicious!

I believe the whole experience was enhanced by our super warm server, Jyll! She has strong passion in food/cooking, and she explained each dishes in details! (Special thanks to Jyll here)

Worth going, and I am sure you will enjoy it alot!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfu0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madgags, Owner at GAGGAN, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Mfu0403,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your gastronomic journey at Gaggan recently, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Bangkok.
rgds
Gaggan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The house where Gaggan is is nice but that is almost the only part!

No welcome and the people dont understand anything. After long time they find the name for reservation. Menu and drink list is written in photo copy paper and handed out to people. Very cheap way with no style and looks cheap! Food, drinks, - very very expensive! Too expensive for what it is.

Staff has no idea of what is served, speak almost no english and can not explain anything but read from a paper what is served. The Chef, play the super star! Briefly comes to say hello but shows no interest if the food and experience was good.

Food, nothing special at all!
Pretentious only! sure not worth the money to pay!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GAGGAN also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to GAGGAN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing