We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Bangkok standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chilli Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #463 of 695 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2012

In Bangkok you pay a bit more for your accomodation in comparison with the rest of the country (Phi Phi will be a bit more pricey as well).
Chilli is ok, rooms are small but clean. The place has an industrial look and downstairs there's a nice room where you can hang out. Location is pretty good as well, not too crowded and not far from the action. Service is decent and we found the people to be very helpfull. You can get discounts if you book through airasiago.

So pretty decent but not fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Chilli Bangkok Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hostel was very clean, but our room was incredibly tiny. It was a little cramped for two people who both have huge backpacks. We were able to shove stuff under the bed so that was a space saver. We were in room 401 on the top floor and we weren't able to get wifi up that high. We actually had some problems with the wifi. I think they need a second router. We always had to ask them to reboot the router so we could get on the internet. Our room also smelled atrocious and was very hot when we got back to it. There was a loud noise that sounded like it was a water pump of some sort that was constantly turning on and off right next to our room as well. Our friends stayed on the second floor and had a room that didn't smell or the noise AND had wifi access.

The staff are really wonderful and they have a washing machine and a dryer. You can also opt to dry your clothes on the racks on the third floor instead of paying for time in the dryer.

The location is great if you want to be close to Hualampong, the MRT, and Chinatown. Finding the hotel itself can be a bit tricky though because it is at the end of a little alley. While walking to the hotel you always have to pass a group of sketchy looking people who are always drinking beer, betting and playing dominos.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the fourth floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place not terrible, however it did have quite a few problems.

1. The room we stayed in was by far the smallest one we stayed in during our month long trip in Thailand.

2. The building was located down a dirty alley full of cockroaches

3. Instead of a blanket or sheet we were given an oversized towel

4. The wifi rarely worked

5. We arrived in Bangkok by bus and we had to ask over ten taxi drivers until we found one that had any idea where the Chili Bangkok was (even though we had the address).

It wasn't a terrible experience but you could definitely find better value and we didn't understand why it had such high ratings.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tspwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Chilli Bangkok is a relatively new hostel found down an unlit alley. The private room we had, was very compact - enough space for the bed and little else. You needed to place the key in the slot for power (lights, air conditioning & sockets) so in the heat of the day (and night), the room can be stilfiling on return. We booked here, as it is close to the train station where the train to the Cambodian border departs (at 5:50am) and with a 24hr reception, this was a good option - and for one night, the room size wasn't an issue. Still, it's a bit of a walk to the station when you are carry a heavy backpack...

Room Tip: Rooms are very small - but location is great
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waipounamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I chose The Chilli Bangkok because of it's closeness to the Hua Lamphong Railway Station (10 minutes walk; I took the morning train to Aranyaprathet at 5:50 am). The Hotel is quite far from the city centre and is located in a backyard that can be very hard to find if you don't have the directions. The neighboorhood is absolutely non touristic and therefore authentic. You meet see locals cooking, playing, chilling etc. and I felt very safe. My room was located on the 4th floor and had big windows and a beautiful view. The rooms are VERY small. For one person it's totally OK but I wouldn't like to share the room. Sadly my towel (they provide one instead of a sheet) was dirty and I had to change it. That was no problem, the staff was quite nice and spoke good Englisch. Although the hotel is very modern there was a strange smell (wastewater?) in my room all the time. All room equipment worked, especially the AC was very powerful. At night there was a noise (I guess a water pump) that made sleeping not easy. The price-performance ratio is excellent.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms are very small. There's only one bed not even a shelf. For one person it...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnyfootballhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Don't be put off by the alley that you walk down to find this little treasure. Tucked away from the hustle and bustle (which means close to everything) is this quiet little oasis. A charming host, sweet little bar and a nice clean room with a hot shower and a comfy bed. Things were a little slow when I arrived so instead of bunking in the dorms they upgraded me at no cost to a double room. Everyone speaks English and they provide lots of advice about where to eat and what to see. Laundry room, free wifi, a lending library, big screen tv in the lobby, cold beers at the bar, walking distance to the river, singing birds outside your window in the morning - what more do you need?

Room Tip: this is a hostel so accommodations are spartan but you are here to see the city not sit in your room
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank infogoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#786 of 879 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#342 of 879 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Din
Bangkok 68
Bangkok 68
#281 of 879 in Bangkok
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#343 of 879 in Bangkok
380 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Silom
New Road Guest House
New Road Guest House
#85 of 695 in Bangkok
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilli Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilli Bangkok Hotel

Address: 53/15 Soi Charoen Krung 37 | Charoen Krung Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 695 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $13 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chilli Bangkok Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chilli Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing