We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit
Ranked #43 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
159 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Booked the so called executive room; but what a disappointment. Check in at the executive lounge painfully slow, despite an occupancy rate of just 20%. The hotel opened just a month ago, and it is basically a soft opening. I asked for a quiet room after a long flight and was given a room on the top floor. The drilling and hammering started just 30 minutes after check in. It continued till 6 pm and started again the next morning at 7.30 am. I was hungry upon check and was looking forward to the "high tea" as indicated in the booking confirmation under "Executive privileges". I was told that the high tea was not offered due to the low occupancy; any alternative/compensation was not offered. The room itself was basically a very basic standard room named an executive room. The a/c was very very noisy, even at the lowest fan speed level. Overall a not very pleasant experience. To be fair, the executive lounge is well located on the 29th floor with a great outdoor sitting area. The hotel is also well located next to the Ploenchit train station.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngmohofArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBFP, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the team here at Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit, we thank you, first of all, for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Thailand and secondly for providing us with constructive feedback. In addition to being in one of the best locations in Bangkok, we also strive to always provide the best service quality to our guests.

Regarding to the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay, we deeply apologize and ensure that your comments were seriously taken for improvement.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back again to our hotel.

With best regards,
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,042
    1,341
    185
    40
    27
See reviews for
798
884
443
856
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Booked this hotel for a two-night stay in Bangkok, arriving early in the morning and departing late at night on either end of the stay. The staff graciously welcomed us on arrival and already had a room available for us. We were escorted (!!) to the room by a staff member and showed how everything worked in the room, and explained the fitness center amenities and location. The room was decked out in cool colors with an LCD TV and glass-walled shower (with push-button controlled privacy curtain)

The fitness center includes a beautiful vanishing-edge pool with two waterfalls feeding the pool, and a locker room with a proper Finnish sauna w/ water bucket and scoop.

The hotel is literally on the doorstep of a BTS station, so it's very easy to get around by public transportation if you like, just a couple stops away from the high-end Siam shopping area. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning and it was a nice, varied mix of Western and Asian dishes, in a buffet layout. All very tasty.

The hotel made an excellent base of operations for our stay in Bangkok, and the staff were always gracious and friendly. We developed a rapport with staff member that showed us to the room (she might have been the front desk manager?) and after we checked out in the morning, she invited us to store the bags and that we were welcome to use the fitness center to freshen up later in the evening before making our way to the airport.

The only downside, as mentioned elsewhere, are that there is a vent smell when you enter the room (as the air conditioning/power to the room only activates when you place the room key in a slot, as is common in many hotel) but it dissipates within a minute after the aircon turns on. As the hotel is still brand new, there was still some work being done to the meeting spaces on one of the lower floors so the paint smell was present in one or two of the six elevator cars. But it didn't affect the stay quality at all.

All in all, I would have to say my stay at the Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lentopoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBFP, Manager at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the team here at Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit, we thank you, first of all, for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Thailand and secondly for providing us with constructive feedback. In addition to being in one of the best locations in Bangkok, we also strive to always provide the best service quality to our guests.

Regarding to the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay, we deeply apologize and ensure that your comments were seriously taken for improvement.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back again to our hotel.

With best regards,
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jounieh, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The value of the hotel is GREAT!
I never imagined that i can get such a good hotel at such a price though i cannot compare with other hotels in Bangkok.
The only negative things i can mention is the weak vent smell that one of the reviewer already mentioned. It's the only thing i can criticize.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joezzyjoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBPSH, General Manager at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
"Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards from Bangkok,

Rod Munro
General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nt
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We booked 3 rooms for a 3 night stay here, and the reception staff was quick to grant our request to have double beds and interconnecting rooms. The hotel is very new, very modern, and the beds are comfortable. The motorized shower blinds are a nice touch. The pool water was cold, but the hotel has a sauna as well. The only fault I can comment on this hotel is the stucture of the sink and bathroom floor. The water tends to pool. The other problem is that since the hotel is new, a lot of taxi drivers (who almost always can't speak english, and even if they do, it's very hard to understand them), don't know where Ploenchit is. You have to ask the hotel for the address in Thai and show it to the driver, but even then, it doesn't always work. The good thing is the BTS is right outside. A plus is the free wifi. Overall, we had a nice time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBPSH, General Manager at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
"Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards from Bangkok,

Rod Munro
General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Wished we could have stayed longer, mainly because of the amazing breakfast on offering. The room was good, along with the beds. Being a new hotel there was no issues with anything, except the staff. Our stayed was marred by the reception on checkout. But this was the only problem encountered.
The location is great.
If and when we return to Bangkok this is where i will be staying

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBPSH, General Manager at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
"Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards from Bangkok,

Rod Munro
General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in my last night in Bangkok prior to leaving Thailand. The only reason I didn't demand to move hotels was that we were going to be there just 12 hours and had a 7 AM flight out. The price was rock bottom at $65 for a hotel of this class.

The location is pretty good. Chit Lom and Siam Square are a little better, but it's only one more more stop on the BTS to all the major malls, acquarium, etc.. Taxi rates to the old part are similar, if the "Ploenchit" BTS stop isn't as well known as the previous two I mentioned. The bummer about the "Ploenchit" stop is that it's the same name as he street it's on and it's not really a descript location. So taxi drivers seem more confused than usual when you try and tell them where you're going.

The rooms themselves are new, and relatively comfortable, if unspectacular. The hotel is pretty, but it didn't feel as elegant as either of the Mercure Hotels I stayed at last month in Hue or Hanoi, VN.... and much less so than the Novotel in Halong City, for that matter. It really felt more like what I imagine an Ibis might be. The mattresses are firm, but I like that.

The showstopper is the bathroom. There is a major plumbing issue related to either traps in the drainpipes or improper vent stacks. The net is that sewer gas comes right out of the bathroom sink and the smell in the room is downright disgusting. My female friend from Saigon even commented on this, so this isn't just a Westerner being picky. I plugged the sink drain with wet tissue and it seemed to work, but then there are two floor drains in the shower and toilet areas that it's really impractical to try and do that.

Another item which isn't a problem...yet...is the pitch in the shower is screwed up so water pools away from the drain, a major no-no. I'd expect mold and perhaps tile damage in a relatively short amount of time.

Simply put, whoever built the bathroom never has watched Mike Holmes, and it's going to be a big headache for them to change it. There should be a lawsuit pending between someone involved in the ownership and building of this hotel.

Service was ok. They weren't particularly friendly at the front desk, but weren't rude either. At least they weren't fake-friendly. They offered to take a look at the room when I complained about the bathroom, but I declined.

Overall, I'm sorry, but can't recommend this place. With so many other options nearby, and even Accor options: Novotel Siam Square, the VIE, the Mercures near Sukhumvit, there's really no reason to put up with any problems.

Here's to hoping they fix these issues.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berserktripon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBPSH, General Manager at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
"Dear Guest,

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit. I’ll look into this matter for you. If you have five minutes, please give me a call to discuss.

Kind regards,

Rod Munro
General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for my birthday. They upgraded us to Junior Suite and sent me a delicious chocolate cake that I love most. Thank you so much for their great hospitality.

Hotel itself is still very new. Lots of renovation work still going on but having said that, we didn't encounter any loud noise either. Room is modernly designed similar to Novotel Fenix Silom. But bed wasn't as comfortable as the one in Silom. Missing the down feather pillow & duvet perhaps?

Breakfast as usual with plenty to choose from. Love the fresh waffle with maple syrup & the pastry. Hot food seriously need some improvement, especially the Asian dishes.

It was a great stay especially the front of house staff are really friendly and helpful. Thank you especially to the lady who helped me to make phone call.

The location of this hotel cannot be any better. It's right infront of the Ploenchit train station. It's so convenient.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBFP, Guest Relation at Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit.

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to accommodate you during your recent visit to Thailand.
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is our pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, as this feedback will surely serve as an encouragement to all of our staff.
At Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit, we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We apologize to hear that you had experienced some slight inconvenience in your accommodation during our soft opening period.
For your next stay with us, please rest assured that pillow menu is available in your room and the selection of pillows is available upon request.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
We truly hope that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Novotel Bangkok Sukhumvit 20
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,130 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit

Property: Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit
Address: 566 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Patumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Formerly Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#39 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#50 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#52 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Bangkok, our perfect location next to Ploenchit BTS sky train station connects you to all your leisure and business needs in Bangkok, closed to the Central Embassy and easy access to famous Siam Square, Siam Paragon and Central World. The hotel offers 370 modern guestrooms, The SQUARE Restaurant for all-day-dining, 24-Hour Room Services and Dee Lounge & Beer Garden. Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit also features free Wi-Fi internet access in every guestroom and over the public area, outdoor swimming pool and In Balance Fitness Center. The hotel blends exceptional service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences on every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Bangkok Ploenchit Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Ploenchit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing