We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth to go there”

Sra Bua by Kiin Kiin
Ranked #32 of 10,675 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $84
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: Sister restaurant to Copenhagen's Kiin Kiin - one of only two Thai restaurants worldwide with a Michelin star. Lunch: Open daily from 12:00 - 15:00 (last order at 14:30) Dinner: Open daily from 18:00 - midnight (last order for set menu at 21:00) (last order for a la carte menu at 22:30)
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth to go there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

After some unacknowledged written reservations for a dinner we had to refer to the general manager of the hotel. Finally after 2 weeks we got a "standard" excuse. When we arrived at the restaurant it was total empty and they wanted to place us on the smallest table near the entrance what we reject. After all that troubles we had with the reservation we expected leastwise a welcome drink. To cut a long story short ,..the staff was very friendly the food , we ordered a 6 course degustation menu, was average
(it had very little to do either with Thai taste nor molecular ) , the design of the restaurant was very modern. Can not recommend Sra Bua .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    112
    50
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A bit too "Razzle-dazzle" for my senses.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went to Sra-Bua to try this molecular Thai cuisine. Never had I thought anyone would try to deconstruct Thai food, so it was a must to go and sample it. I have to say that it's not something that works well. Some of the flavours worked well. But a lot of it just didn't combine to make a meaningful dish. To make matters a little more difficult, the staff aren't knowledgeable enough to explain the execution of the dish.

All in all, it's a place worth trying if you want to be adventurous. But once is enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TopSpinKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a definite must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This fine dining restaurant is a must for all foodies. The Chef started off by giving us a sampling of thai street food presented as "niblings" placed in barbecue sticks and other interesting dishes. They were very small portions with lots of bold flavors. After this came the appetizers, main course and dessert, followed by petit fours. Service was excellent. And it was truly a pleasurable experience in every way - food, presentation, ambiance and service.
Here are some dishes that we had:
Nibblings and Street Cooking: 11 very small portions: kaffir lime leaf scented lotus root, prawn cracker with chili tomato dip, tuna tartar with lemon grass, miang kham cornette, prawn bread with sesame, sun dried beef, etc... Everything was so well thought of and execution couldn't have been better.
Starter: wagyu beef salad with yam pudding and sweet melon / phad thai with crab meat and rimmed scallop
main dish: quail in aromatic tom kha with chanterelle and crispy skin
dessert: banana cake with salted ice cream and caramelized milk
There wasn't anything that I ate that I didn't absolutely love.
My 7 year old daughter was with us and they had a children's menu for her but she gladly tasted our food too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sublime ! One of the best fine dinings ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

After some rather disappointing experiences in Bangkok we booked a table in Sra Bua, and I have to say it was one of the best dining experiences I ever had (and I have seen a lot).
As others have stated its not the typical thai cuisine, and its not even fusion. Its a special, unique, impressive and extremely tasteful way of interpreting thai cuisine. The care and perfection in preparing their dishes is impressive, the service was absolutely perfect, Morten, one of the chefs came to our table to explain their philosophy of cooking, and he even offered a free sample of their famous iced red curry with lobster.
The dinner started with a selection of 11 little teasers, one better and more special than the other, the main menu then had tuna tartare, duck red curry, Tom Yam soup, 2 deserts (one better than the other), it was a true culinary orgasm. All this at a price of 2400baht which is more than value for what you get.
The restaurant itself is super elegant and nice inside, high ceiling, lots of dark wood, nice music in the right volume.. what else can I say ? wanna find something negative ? well, it was a bit chilly inside so bring a jumper or a jacket, nothing that can spoil in any way this truly unique dining experience.
If you are crazy about good food, special dishes, elegant dining and wanna have a totally amazing dining experience when in Bangkok, dont miss out on this place !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theFoodHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hang the DJ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a delicious lunch in a really stunning restaurant. I was concerned it would be too molecular but the food was beautifully presented and delicious without any weird foams or gimmics. In contrast our meal at another modern Thai restaurant Bo.lan was equally pricey but ultimately disappointing.

Service still needs to be improved. For my ginger cocktail the waitress opened a can of soda on the table and plopped a straw into the drink...The staff wore noisy heels and were continually walking around on the wooden floors. We were not offered any wine list or suggestions.

Also on new year's eve they kept playing different renditions of Santa Claus is coming to Town, completely out of place in an upscale restaurant. We asked if they could change or reduce the volume, but it was controlled by their IT department?! This added a somewhat disturbing but comic element to an otherwise excellent meal. These easily corrected details would measurably improve the dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlogGrandVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sra Bua by Kiin Kiin also viewed

 

Been to Sra Bua by Kiin Kiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing