We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room at an even better price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Ranked #45 of 1,303 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Shama always delivers exceptional value. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are always clean well appointed. Staying at the Shama is like having your own apartment in Bangkok. Thank you Shama for a comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjuneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very glad to read about your "ultimate" experience during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 564 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying at Shama was the highlight of our trip in Thailand. Was visiting with parents and kids and Felt like we were staying in a 7 Star Hotel if not better. The staff there makes the stay so special that you can't thank them enough. Right from the people guarding the property to the Bell Desk and the wonderful people Manning the reception area "Smile" and "Yes" are the two consistent things you will experience here.

I am sure this is a top down approach which reflects in almost everything they do. The breakfast was good and so was the service there. The kids room, business center and the pool were also pretty good.

You can get a very sound sleep here since it is not bang on to some Put/Bar or disco. Very centrally located and just a couple of KMs away from all the Malls and markets (MBK, Paragon, Prathunam etc.)

I would go back to this place again and again.

A must go place as per me.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukul-IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.

We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services in the areas you listed.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Bangkok.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I went here for a birthday.To relax and enjoy life.
This really is excellent.
Staff were pleasant and friendly.
I am very pleased to celebrate this birthday.
Sun reflecting the bedroom. It offers easy access to shopping.
If there is a chance I will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise" Like to have some chair at balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Napatphan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and rooms during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Bangkok. Please let us know if we can help in anyway.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Shama Suites is the only place to stay if you're looking for self contained apartments. This is the 8th time I have had the pleasure of staying and each time have not been disappointed.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The general manager goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and even the catering staff will go out of their way to make sure your breakfast is enjoyable.
Rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day by housekeeping and the little extra touches are a treat.
I have stayed at many other places in the Sukhumvit area but this the is always my favourite.
Maree
New Zealand

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for staying at Shama Sukhumvit and taking the time to give us a review here in Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to read about your "ultimate" experience during your stay with us.

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Shama and found everything to be just right. The rooftop pool and the workout gym were 2 of my favorite places to go. The breakfast was delicious each morning as well. The in-room washer/dryer was a great touch.

The only issue I encountered was a couple of unscrupulous taxi drivers who picked us up and then tried to get us to go somewhere we didn't want to go. Both times we asked to be let out on the street and had to start our trip again. The hotel staff insured us that they were not connected to the taxi drivers in any way, and tried to pre-screen them. The first time it happened the door man was re-trained in how to pre-screen. The second time the door man was busy and did not speak to the driver. I don't think it was the hotel's fault, but I think it's worth warning future visitors to make sure the doorman pre-screen the taxis.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Luxury+Elegant
Contemporary mix with thai-style, the hotel is well designed. Lobby feels very comfortable, clean, smells good. Staffs are very professional, friendly and helpful. I didn't have time to try the pool on the rooftop and the gym, hopefully will do it upon next visit. The room layout suits my taste, I feel like home, and drop dead on the couch after an exhausted day.

Discreet+Convenient
The hotel entrance ally is secure and private, and there's a shortcut back exit leads to Soi4 or Soi6, which can easily dodge the crazy traffic on Sukhumvit Rd. Finally, just 5 minutes walk to Nana BTS, perfect.

Room Tip: Well, I pick the higher floor... I like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trypt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.

We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services in the areas you listed.

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was disaappointed at Shama Sukhumvit. The location is reasonable and access to the BTS not too bad, and the accommodation itself is not bad - the suites are quite large and reasonably well-appointed. But Bangkok is a very competitive market for serviced apartments of this sort and Shama fails in so many points of detail that I do not think that it is competitive. I had one major disaster - a smell from my bathroom so bad that I had to change rooms - but more to the point were masses of tiny details, insignificant in themselves, perhaps, which cumulatively made me want to move out. The breakfast is quite limited and staff poorly trained (for example removing all my food and a mostly undrunk cup of coffee in the time that it took me to go the buffet and collect something). In the bedroom there is no light by the bed - only a bright overhead light - so it's far from convenient if one person is not sleeping well and wants to read, but a companion wants to sleep (surely a common thing in a place where many guests will be suffering from jet lag). Almost worse, you cannot turn the light off in bed but must get up, go to the door, and turn it off, returning to the bed in the dark (the fact that the light in my wardrobe would not go off because the door fitted so badly, so I had a thread of light to see me back to the bed was entirely in keeping with the general level of maintenance and detail). And so it goes on - so many examples of little things that made me feel that I would never want to return here.

When I said I intended to move out they initially said I would have to pay a penalty day (I had thought that this applied only to a no-show). When I protested, and talked to Agoda, they waived this penalty and refunded the balance of days. Then they went further and offered me an upgrade to a larger suite for 4 nights entirely free. So I stayed, and I recognise in this respect exceptional customer service - but it doesn't make up for the basic inadequacies.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londontimo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukamal, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks so much for taking time to share your feedback, following your recent stay at Shama Sukhumvit, Bangkok.

Our team including myself has gone through all your feedback and we have taken necessary action to improve all the basics. In fact we have checked all our apartments regarding the wardrobe light and we made sure that all wrdrobes are well closed and there is no thread of light is coming out from wardrobe. Regarding the tiny details our training department will continuously train all operations department so that they can focus on details. Regarding the switch for the bed light we actually have a switch beside the headboard, however your constructive feedback led us in a good direction. Upon check in our Guest Relations team will go through all these during orientation of the room.

Rest promised that all your comments are well noted and taken into consideration immediately.

Please accept my deepest apologies and I very much hope you will come back to experience the excellent levels of service and customer care with which Shama Sukhumvit, Bangkok is generally associated. When this is the case please contact me personally so I can make the necessary arrangements on your behalf.

Kind Regards

Sukamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#56 of 884 in Bangkok
1,531 reviews
Sukhumvit
Majestic Grande Hotel
Majestic Grande Hotel
#160 of 884 in Bangkok
1,656 reviews
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#232 of 884 in Bangkok
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#110 of 884 in Bangkok
831 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Address: 39 / 1 soi Sukhumvit, 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,303 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $99 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebration of modern living coupled with Shama’s reputable signature service and renowned Thai hospitality. Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok offers 90 contemporary serviced apartments located in a prestigious residential area amongst fashionable restaurants, stylish shopping and the central business district with nearby access to the BTS skytrain and Bumrungrad International Hospital.This unique “resort within a city” meets the refined standards of business and leisure travellers alike. Tropical gardens awash with flora and fauna combined with contemporary furnishings, extensive clubhouse complete with rooftop swimming pool, fitness centre, kids area, yoga and meditation rooms make this property a true retreat from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing