We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Shama was Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Ranked #46 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Shama was Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the Shama and found everything to be just right. The rooftop pool and the workout gym were 2 of my favorite places to go. The breakfast was delicious each morning as well. The in-room washer/dryer was a great touch.

The only issue I encountered was a couple of unscrupulous taxi drivers who picked us up and then tried to get us to go somewhere we didn't want to go. Both times we asked to be let out on the street and had to start our trip again. The hotel staff insured us that they were not connected to the taxi drivers in any way, and tried to pre-screen them. The first time it happened the door man was re-trained in how to pre-screen. The second time the door man was busy and did not speak to the driver. I don't think it was the hotel's fault, but I think it's worth warning future visitors to make sure the doorman pre-screen the taxis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    149
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
200
79
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Luxury+Elegant
Contemporary mix with thai-style, the hotel is well designed. Lobby feels very comfortable, clean, smells good. Staffs are very professional, friendly and helpful. I didn't have time to try the pool on the rooftop and the gym, hopefully will do it upon next visit. The room layout suits my taste, I feel like home, and drop dead on the couch after an exhausted day.

Discreet+Convenient
The hotel entrance ally is secure and private, and there's a shortcut back exit leads to Soi4 or Soi6, which can easily dodge the crazy traffic on Sukhumvit Rd. Finally, just 5 minutes walk to Nana BTS, perfect.

Room Tip: Well, I pick the higher floor... I like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trypt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.

We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services in the areas you listed.

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was disaappointed at Shama Sukhumvit. The location is reasonable and access to the BTS not too bad, and the accommodation itself is not bad - the suites are quite large and reasonably well-appointed. But Bangkok is a very competitive market for serviced apartments of this sort and Shama fails in so many points of detail that I do not think that it is competitive. I had one major disaster - a smell from my bathroom so bad that I had to change rooms - but more to the point were masses of tiny details, insignificant in themselves, perhaps, which cumulatively made me want to move out. The breakfast is quite limited and staff poorly trained (for example removing all my food and a mostly undrunk cup of coffee in the time that it took me to go the buffet and collect something). In the bedroom there is no light by the bed - only a bright overhead light - so it's far from convenient if one person is not sleeping well and wants to read, but a companion wants to sleep (surely a common thing in a place where many guests will be suffering from jet lag). Almost worse, you cannot turn the light off in bed but must get up, go to the door, and turn it off, returning to the bed in the dark (the fact that the light in my wardrobe would not go off because the door fitted so badly, so I had a thread of light to see me back to the bed was entirely in keeping with the general level of maintenance and detail). And so it goes on - so many examples of little things that made me feel that I would never want to return here.

When I said I intended to move out they initially said I would have to pay a penalty day (I had thought that this applied only to a no-show). When I protested, and talked to Agoda, they waived this penalty and refunded the balance of days. Then they went further and offered me an upgrade to a larger suite for 4 nights entirely free. So I stayed, and I recognise in this respect exceptional customer service - but it doesn't make up for the basic inadequacies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontimo1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukamal, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks so much for taking time to share your feedback, following your recent stay at Shama Sukhumvit, Bangkok.

Our team including myself has gone through all your feedback and we have taken necessary action to improve all the basics. In fact we have checked all our apartments regarding the wardrobe light and we made sure that all wrdrobes are well closed and there is no thread of light is coming out from wardrobe. Regarding the tiny details our training department will continuously train all operations department so that they can focus on details. Regarding the switch for the bed light we actually have a switch beside the headboard, however your constructive feedback led us in a good direction. Upon check in our Guest Relations team will go through all these during orientation of the room.

Rest promised that all your comments are well noted and taken into consideration immediately.

Please accept my deepest apologies and I very much hope you will come back to experience the excellent levels of service and customer care with which Shama Sukhumvit, Bangkok is generally associated. When this is the case please contact me personally so I can make the necessary arrangements on your behalf.

Kind Regards

Sukamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had my second stopover stay here this year. I like the Shama very much because of its location, Suites, cleanless and kind and helpful staff. Also the value for money is very ok. The Pool at 18th (top of the hotel) is nice mostly with refreshing wind

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the 8th stay at the Shama, as always we received a very warm welcome form the staff who remembered us from our previous bookings. We stayed for 2 nights 24th & 25th January at the beginning of our trip and for 1 night 17th Feb on our return. We were delighted to receive a room upgrade for the first 2 night a most welcome gesture. As always the rooms are superb, large and bright, we love the roof top pool and the acompanying views! The hotel is very well placed for taking in the sights of Bangkok, upon staff reccomendations we visited Terminal 21, an excellent place to shop!!
A big thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable, we will see you again in MAy this year!

Room Tip: We had a corner room which affored good views and a lovely balcony that got the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumng70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

First trip to Thailand so made the booking without any background knowledge ( hadn't discovered trip advisor then). Warm greeting and polite and helpful staff, unexpected upgrade was a pleasant surprise.
Large clean and well furnished apartment was much better than we expected and we would certainly stay there again.
Tucked away from the tourist hot spots, but nearby skytrain means getting about is easy (and cheap).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for 3 nights over the Chinese New Year period. The hotel was fully booked, but we were still warmly welcomed by the front desk and concierge. The apartment block is built behind a home with a huge compound and the entrance is quite small and not very easy to find. Our apartment was very spacious which floor length windows let in lots of natural light; the kitchen was indeed fully equipped complete with a washing machine (although the dryer didn't work). The place must have been excellent a year or two back but it was beginning to show signs of wear - the upholstery was stained and starting to fray, there were oily hand prints on backs of chairs and wardrobe doors, and grime in corners of shower stalls. The towels were more grey than white although the Thann toiletries sort of made up for this. The breakfast spread was smallish but adequate. We noted that the place seemed very popular with Middle Eastern medical tourists.
PLUS - Good location, walking distance from Ploenchit BTS, supermarket and eating places closeby, very helpful and friendly front desk.
NEGATIVE - The smell. There was a distinct sewerage smell in the lobby as well as in our 2 toilets. We managed by keeping the doors of our toilets shut at all times. Only one cardkey could be issued to us and the 'reason' was the place being fully booked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Soi 4. Traffic noise from the highway in front of Soi 2 makes peaceful sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenbenSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukamal, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from Shama Sukhumvit !

We would like to extend our sincere thanks for such a constructive feedback. Please accept our apologies for possible inconvenience casued due to the smell and also regarding the limited card key. Our training department has gone through a training process so that our team members are well trained and professional enough.

We look forward to welcoming you on yoru next visit to Bangkok, and should you need any assistance please feel free to contact me anytime.

Thanks
Regards

Sukamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#57 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Sukhumvit
Majestic Grande Hotel
Majestic Grande Hotel
#160 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#185 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#107 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#59 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Property: Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Address: 39 / 1 soi Sukhumvit, 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,155 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebration of modern living coupled with Shama’s reputable signature service and renowned Thai hospitality. Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok offers 90 contemporary serviced apartments located in a prestigious residential area amongst fashionable restaurants, stylish shopping and the central business district with nearby access to the BTS skytrain and Bumrungrad International Hospital.This unique “resort within a city” meets the refined standards of business and leisure travellers alike. Tropical gardens awash with flora and fauna combined with contemporary furnishings, extensive clubhouse complete with rooftop swimming pool, fitness centre, kids area, yoga and meditation rooms make this property a true retreat from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing