We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth going again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Ranked #45 of 1,135 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth going again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I joined my friend who insisted on staying at shama amidst the myriad of hotels in Bangkok.. I understand why..friendly staff, warm hospitality, impeccably clean rooms, short easy walk to BTS, and most importantly spacious! Will re visit again.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesTan-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your review here in Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a good experience and our team went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and all of your needs taken care of. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms and location during your stay

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    146
    32
    11
    10
See reviews for
196
79
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halbe, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family and I stayed at Shama Sukhumvit when we were visiting my sister in Bangkok early this month. From the minute we arrived we were impressed by the excellent service and the welcoming atmosphere of the hotel. The Front Desk team was great and very helpful upon check in. When we were escorted to our apartment (2 bedrooms) we were impressed by the size of the place and by the facilities offered. For example the TV in the lounge is very large and has a large sound system. The kitchen was well equipped and having a washing machine available is very useful especially a few days into a trip. The huge windows created a great atmosphere. The hotel has a rooftop pool with a nice view over the area. Especially swimming there at night is an impressive experience. All employees were obliging and polite.The hotel can be easily accessed as it is close to the BTS train, which can be very handy considering the traffic situation in Bangkok. I would highly recommend Shama Sukhumvit and will definitely stay there again if I return to Bangkok. Thank you very much! Theresa G. (from Germany)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theresago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.
We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services in the areas you listed.
It is most rewarding for us and our Team Member to get such a nice feed back and it encourages us to continue with our work and efforts.

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.


Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Probably the fifth time I stayed in this boutique gem in a year. Spacious, clean, short walk to bts, great breakfast , friendly staff that attracted me going again .. Good choice always.. Most importantly the staff are very friendly n helpful just like going home

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyeyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very glad to read about your "ultimate" experience during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've stayed many places in Bangkok for business. The Shama had the perfect downtown location, excellent cost for extra large lodging. Great staff that tended to all things on time. A better breakfast option that met the needs of the many cultures that were there would be all I would add. Thanks again!!

The Hypnotist

Room Tip: Whether for one person or a family the rooms will be more than adequate. It's only a footstep fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Shama Sukhumvit and taking the time to give us a review here in Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and rooms during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Bangkok. Please let us know if we can help in anyway.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before transferring to Koh Samui. Fantastic accommodation with large bedroom (We had the 1 bedroom apartment) and bathroom. Having the lounge/kitchen area was heaven as I like to chill on a morning with several cuppas without disturbing the other half, catch up on the news and watch the Bangkok world go by from the balcony.
Breakfast was included and plentiful with fresh omlettes (cooked to your liking) and buffet style of Asian and Continental styles - with tea and coffee and freshly pulped juices.
Staff all pleasant and very helpful at giving directions and dealt with our queries quickly and politely.
Shama is conveniently located near BTS Ploen Chit (Get a Rabbit card and see the city cheaply and conveniently for "buttons")
TOP TIPS:
Leaving the airport DON'T go for the limo's go down to public taxi's and ask for express route (you pay the tolls) about 400 baht in total for trip to Shama (complete with squeezing in of our huge cases).
Get a BTS card and see the city cheaply
Look for "Tourist Police" badge in window of Tuk Tuk - these are approved ones and don't charge the earth (30bht got us around loads of sites and the guy was really helpful - and let me sit in the front of the Tuk Tuk :-))
Do a River Cruise - but make sure you buy fish food not bread - fish don't naturally eat bread
Try the open restaurant on Sukhumvit Road (turn left out of Soi 2 and cross the road) - it looks like nothing plastic tables and chairs - but food was gorgeous (Spicy Crab Curry partner had Spicy Fried Frog)

Would we go back - definitely have decided this is the ONLY place to stay in Bangkok for ease/convenience/amenities (roof top pool complete with towels and sun loungers and gym fully equipped) and price all fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squeezy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very glad to read about your "ultimate" experience during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at Shama BK for the second time and the experience just gets better. The staff are nice and efficient. The rooms are nicely designed and efficient use of space. I would much prefer staying at Shama than at a hotel. When I arrived, it was late, but the staff were just as attentive. They helped me to order food and also attended to my needs as I had a small baby with me. I was most impressed with the driver and the bellhop. They were amazingly welcoming and well mannered. I would definitely come stay again, longer the next time!

Room Tip: I stayed in the one bedroom and it was very spacious for me, my husband and our baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babycat921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for staying at Shama Sukhumvit and taking the time to give us a review here in Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and rooms during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Bangkok. Please let us know if we can help in anyway.

Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love this place, good location and extremely helpful and friendly personel. The rooms are nice, clean, modern and well appointed. The fitness room and the pool are also great, you even have a meditation room. Breakfast buffet is top notch and the staff is 5 star level. The price is right and I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jchanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.
We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services in the areas you listed.
It is most rewarding for us and our Team Member to get such a nice feed back and it encourages us to continue with our work and efforts.

We look forward seeing you soon and hope you will enjoy your stay with us again.


Kind regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Majestic Grande Hotel
Majestic Grande Hotel
#163 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#58 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#188 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#106 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Majestic Suites
Majestic Suites
#208 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Property: Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Address: 39 / 1 soi Sukhumvit, 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,135 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebration of modern living coupled with Shama’s reputable signature service and renowned Thai hospitality. Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok offers 90 contemporary serviced apartments located in a prestigious residential area amongst fashionable restaurants, stylish shopping and the central business district with nearby access to the BTS skytrain and Bumrungrad International Hospital.This unique “resort within a city” meets the refined standards of business and leisure travellers alike. Tropical gardens awash with flora and fauna combined with contemporary furnishings, extensive clubhouse complete with rooftop swimming pool, fitness centre, kids area, yoga and meditation rooms make this property a true retreat from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing