We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok
Ranked #45 of 1,335 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The services and competences of the personnel was great! I have been last year in Shama and I was there 6 days ago this year. I'll go there next year again if ever I go to Bangkok!

The appartment in which I was staying was big, clean and pleasant. I was 5 mns from the sky train BTS and that was ok for me! The pool on the roof is fantastic with a city view!!!

I wish to thank Mr Jared that helped us to have a room as the hotel was full.

Room Tip: I was in a corner suite. It was large and very bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.
We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services in the areas you listed.
It is most rewarding for us and our Team Member to get such a nice feed back and it encourages us to continue with our work and efforts.

We look forward seeing you for a third time soon and hope you will enjoy your stay yet again.

Best Regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 570 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, and had a fantastic stay at the Shama Apartments. My first time in Bangkok, it ended up being a very central location near the Skywalk Tram system and close to shopping centres ie. Central World, MBK, Siam Paragon and Terminal 21. The rooms were very clean, minimalistic and spacious layout, which was very quiet even though outside very busy and near a bar strip. Highly recommend it as a better alternative to a hotel stay, and the Concierges were very helpful with a fantastic breakfast provided. The pool on the roof is a nice touch also.

Barbara P

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at Shama Sukhumvit and taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and rooms during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Bangkok. If we can help in anyway please due let us know.

Kind Regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am sure i will come back and stay in this service apartment again. Location is very good and conventient and just behind JW Marriott (2 mins walk to BTS-Nana station). We chose 3 beds room to stay. Inside is huge, modern and clean. Also with city view big balcony. The infinity pool on the roof is fantistic and the view is excellent although the pool is not that big. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Its really suitable for couple, friends and family to stay and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: 3 bed rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carriepoonsk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your review here on tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a good experience and our team went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and taken care of. We are glad that you enjoyed our room and facilities as well.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to shama Sukhumvit during your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind Regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had to persuade my girlfriends to stay in shama sukhumvit as they are so used to hotels. They love the spacious apartment and we all get our own bedroom and bathroom!! We could spend time in the living room and adjourned to our own rooms for a good nite sleep. The staff are always attentive to our needs and smilely.

If you are looking for a great accommodation and warm service, this is the place to stay whilst in Bangkok.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your review here on tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, It is a pleasure to read that you had such a good experience and our team went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and taken care of.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Bangkok. If we can help in anyway please due let us know.

Kind Regards
Sukamal Mondal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights at the start of our trip 27th & 28th July and for 2 nights at the end of our stay 7th & 8th August, the staff as usual were all very helpful. A special thanks to Tassane who made our stay especially good, a big thank you for the car to the airport! The hotel is ideally placed in Bangkok for shopping, eating and sight seeing and is close to the BTS station. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for the second part of our stay as we had family staying with us, both rooms were very large complete with seperate bathrooms and 2 balconies (a rarity in Bangkok). What is a nice touch is that the room came with a complimentary food selection. There is a good supermarket about 5 minutes walk from the hotel so if you fancy cooking in your apartment you can. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could want and superb coffee! A special thanks to the hotel manager who kept our daughter entertained whilst we ate breakfast!! Transfers from the airport (depending on traffic) took as little as 35 minutes.
I will definately be staying here again, thank you to all for a pleasurable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very big, you will be surprised. We had a washer dryer in our room so we did all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank autumng70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShamaSukhumvitBKK, General Manager at Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write this extensive review.
We are very proud to read that you enjoyed our services in the areas you listed.
It is most rewarding for us and our Team Member to get such a nice feed back and it encourages us to continue with our work and efforts.

We look forward seeing you for a sixth time soon and hope you will enjoy your stay yet again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

There's about a million serviced apartments in Bangkok. What sets this one apart is the location. The front is on Soi 2 (The JW Marriott Soi) and there is a back entrance right onto Soi Nana. If you are familiar with Bangkok you will understand that it can't get more convenient than this. Pretty much all the reasons you travel to BKK for business or pleasure are within walking distance. ;)

Tons of cafes, bars, restaurants, convenience stores, massage, etc....pretty much anything you could want is about 10 mins or less from your doorstep.

The staff are excellent at trying rather hard to help out. Cheerful and professional. Housekeeping was good, too. Free water and snacks. Good security, which is probably important for the rear entrance exposure. All lovely. The pool on the roof is small, but perfectly adequate, and very convenient to look down on the to-ing and fro-ing of Nana. Totally exposed to the sun, so you can tan all day no worries.

Given the middle eastern nature of Soin Nana (especially N of Sukhumvit), they do have a rather large middle eastern clienetele.

The rooms however are just very average. No real soft furnishings, so its all a bit echo-y. The lighting is a real problem - all the fixtures are bare bulbs, so you feel like you are in a government housing estate. Water pressure in the shower is poor, and the floor drains stank. The fixtures and furniture are still quite new, though, and its all quite plain and simple. Clean, basic. Certainly not luxurious, but very acceptable.

The internet was a bit of a pain - free but only 3 devices per room, what with a 2 BR apt and 4 people means 4 computers and 4 smartphones or 8 devices - all very reasonable by today's standards. I can't for the life of me why all hotels don't just offer it unlimited and free? I can't see what they gain by limiting it to 3??

Average stay. Pretty much delivered what it promised. It isn't the lap of luxury, but perfectly adequate and a good price. Would stay here again for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had been travelling with my girlfriend and our 4 year old boy in Thailand for almost a month. We had stayed in hotels and was quiete tired of it. Its nothing wrong with hotels but sometimes when you are away from home during a long period you feel troubled not to be able to cock something, not to wash your clothes by yourseld, not to be able to press your shirt the way you want, etc etc etc. And when you live in a big apartment or a house a hotelroom that is 25-40 squaremeters feels a lite bit small after a while.

Thats what Shama can help you with. A big apartmenthotel (smallest room are 66 sqm) with very nice apartaments that makes you feel like you are home. You have 2 big plasma TV, you have a mikrovawe, a oven, a very good washing/drying machine, a huge fridge and the most important. Lot of space. Yoy have a very good sized bedroom, a quite large livingroom / kitchen with a table and a big sofa.

This kind of living is perfekt when you are a businessman or traveling with kids. You dont have a bar or a restaurant in the hotel. But the hotel have a kitchen and have roomservice when needed. Besides that you have a huge range of restaurant just 50 meters from the hotel due tu its location. From very expensive fine dining (Shama is nextdoor to Marriot and just a couple of 100 meters from Le Meridien (Palace Athena) to small Thai restaurant selling food for 10-50 bath. Besides that you have a large selection of fastfood chains just a couple of 100 meters from the hotel that are opened 24/7.

Beside the great location, quite neighberhood and the hotel itself the staff is very nice and friendly.

This is the place i will stay in coming to Bangkok.

I forgot the price.. Thanks to Tripadvisors discount i endes upp paying 8.000 bath for 3 nights. Thats about 60-70 EUR a night. Thats very, very reasonable for this location and quality ;-)...

Room Tip: Take floor 6 when traveling with kids, the have a nice playground here. The 18 floor have a rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Strykfritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#50 of 887 in Bangkok
1,571 reviews
Cape House, Bangkok
#69 of 887 in Bangkok
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Residences Bangkok
#26 of 1,335 in Bangkok
262 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
The Residence on Thonglor
The Residence on Thonglor
#19 of 1,335 in Bangkok
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok

Address: 39 / 1 soi Sukhumvit, 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,335 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $109 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A celebration of modern living coupled with Shama’s reputable signature service and renowned Thai hospitality. Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok offers 90 contemporary serviced apartments located in a prestigious residential area amongst fashionable restaurants, stylish shopping and the central business district with nearby access to the BTS skytrain and Bumrungrad International Hospital.This unique “resort within a city” meets the refined standards of business and leisure travellers alike. Tropical gardens awash with flora and fauna combined with contemporary furnishings, extensive clubhouse complete with rooftop swimming pool, fitness centre, kids area, yoga and meditation rooms make this property a true retreat from the bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amari Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shama Sukhumvit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing