We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it easy”
Review of Bamboo Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo Guesthouse
Ranked #438 of 753 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If after all previous reviews you still brave enough to go there, be ready to get in a kind of freaky family. The owner is a main gem who influences everybody else, it seems that some guests stay here forever. He will never greet you, talk to you or give you a smile in this land of smiles. Yes, that's true, he has all these strange and even absurd rules only he is able to remember, but please take it easy! On the other hand you will get big, clean and cheap room in a good, quite location.

Good news: on our last stay (October '12) we found a boiler in one of the showers on the second floor. So, let's hope!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellowinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We only stayed one night as we could not stand this place. The bed was rock hard, the showers and toilet facilities were basic and the fan is the room pathetic. But the worst thing about this place was the man who ran it. He behaved as if he was the camp leader and had a whole bunch of strange rules, he would not let us pay until he thoroughly examined both of our passports closer than the immigration officer that stamped it and we had addressed him in Thai. He was upset that we came late but still within the office hours that we scrambled from Bangkok airport to make in time. We sent them an email to confirm a room they said no need there was plenty of room and then they got very upset with us for not having a reservation . Wherever you went in that place he watched you with a withering and disapproving scowl. And he did not leave the seat in the main entrance not early in morning and not late in the night. However if you could put up with that you could stay in a very cheap place, great location, with good free wifi and very "interesting people"... It is up to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Summerbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

location ok
quiet at night , big room
price : very good
rudimentary (no towel, no blanket, no toilet paper, no hot shower)

staff: obnoxious (which is a shame because the place itself could be nice to stay at)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The location, value for money and facilities make this place a budget super-find. I paid 170 baht for a single room with fan and WiFi (on-and-off, like most of BKK, but at times good enough to download a torrent or two). The room and guesthouse are fairly nice and spacious (if in need of a *mop* from time to time), there is a little furniture in the room (chair, shelf, small table), and laundry can be machine washed for 30 baht or hand washed. *HOWEVER* the family who run the guesthouse have obviously never heard the proverb: 'Civility costs nothing'. If you want a cheap crash-pad down a quiet soi near, yet away from, the action in Banglamphu, then stay here. But don't expect politeness, amicability, respect, or even basic civility from these people. Despite being a born penny pincher, I opted to pay a little extra and stay somewhere else this time, where the staff and owners/operators treat me as something a little more tolerable than the brown matter stuck on the bottom of their shoe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed one night in a single room, a second night in a double room. This place is quite nice and good value. In a quiet area but close to the crazyness of Kao San area if you want to go find it. The single room was a bit pokey but for 170B it wasn't bad. I would reccomend to go for a double room (270B) mine was on the third floor and was bright with a bit of a view, it was big and had a fan. No bedding or towls provided. Beds quite hard but fairly comfortable. Shared showers and toilets were clean and functional. Several nice areas to chill sit and chat. It was hot when I was in Bangkok (36-37'C), personally I would reccomend paying a little more and finding a guest house with air-con if it is this warm.

Room Tip: double room on third floor was big and bright with a view single room on ground floor was hot stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trebor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We paid 270 B for a double room with fan, which was situated on the third floor. As a previous reviewer has said - there are showers and toilets situated on the first and second floors. The owners are an elderly couple and speak very little English. He speaks less than her. He certainly didn't come across as being grumpy to us. The daughter speaks really good English and is very helpful.

Having a large wooden room and walking on wooden floors was a delight (particularly since we are budget travellers and seem to get concrete rooms). The mattress was a little hard but surprisingly not uncomfortable. Other guests were respectful so there was very little noise.

If we were to return to Bangkok, we would return to the Bamboo Guest House,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earthpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

These rooms were cheap! The location is good, down an alley near Khaosan Road but quiet. The old man is extremely grumpy,its true! The rooms are in an old Thai building on 3 floors, lovely wooden floors and old style windows but noisy when people walk overhead or talk in other rooms. Showers and toilets are on the 1st and 2nd floors while sinks are only on the 1st. Lots of bugs in the lobby area. We stayed 2 nights and moved around the corner to the Riverline where the people were nicer.

Room Tip: Check several and go for the top floor where it might be quieter and airier if you can handle the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaBCAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 893 in Bangkok
8,878 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#68 of 893 in Bangkok
6,132 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 893 in Bangkok
4,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guesthouse

Address: Soi Wat Sangwet Thanon Phra Athit Banglamphoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #438 of 753 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $0 - $0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing