We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Degrading quality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khana Khazana

Khana Khazana
Ranked #2,010 of 10,632 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Degrading quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

What used to be a very decent food joint seems to be loosing out now on quality.
I have been to this place quite often -- but my last 2 visits were so bad that I have decided never to visit this place.
Cost is very high 3 years back Paneer butter masala costed 150 B and now it is 220 B. This is surprising.
Staff is pathetic. The staff said no chapatis and soon the table next to me got chapatis. The staff did not even bother to reply to me as to why I was not offered the same.
Qaulity is very very bad.
Overall a please avoid.
Alternate options for people I would suggest are - Aryas. Saras (soi 21), Balbirs

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balajirajagopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    89
    52
    20
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A marvellous Indian vegetarian hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the best place to eat Indian vegetarian food in Bangkok. This restaurant is located on the Sukhumvit Main road and close to Nana BTS (just below the station). The food is very good and the prices are okay when you compare with Dosa King and Aarya's Veg restaurant in the same vicinity. We ate in the same restaurant like five times in three days and they gave us a 10% discount on all of our four visits out of five. The cream of Tomato soup, the Corn soup and the Manchow soup were very nice. The rava onion masala dosa was awesome and please try the bhindi masala and samosas. The staff were okay in their service. The restaurant is good and decent and a bit on the expensive side, however the rates are almost the same in all other Indian veg hotels in that area. Worth going there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite an expensive place, considering the ambience, food and other Indian joints in the vicinity.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We happened to have one of the lunch in KK (as they prefer to call it).
It is one of those small time food joints. Rhe food is average I must say but the cost is way to high.
What was very strange was the hospitality vof the staff. Putting up a smile was a big ask for them. You get an impression that they are doing a favourby serving you.
Would not want to visit the place next time specially since thete are so many other good Indian restaurants close by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Plenty other Indian restaurants to choose from!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were in the Sukhumvit area last night, surrounded by many Indian restaurants, so I felt tempted to go into one and grab some Indian snacks. Had this man shove up this business card in our face for this restaurant, so we got sucked in and went...

Ordered three snacks - all were awful!

1. Poppodom with relish on there - I asked for no chillies in this relish. Was packed with green and red chillies!
2. Ordered 'pani puri' - this is a round puff ball that should be eaten in one go. They were soooo big, it was impossible to fit in the mouth...pathetic!
3. Ordered a potato chaat - potatoes were not cooked and were cold...yuk!

Went to pay for the bill, only to notice they had whacked on a ridiculous 10% service charge and the 7%. We jus paid and got the hell out of there!!

There are MANY Indian restaurants around this one. I cannot believe they claim to be a 'Fine Dining' restaurant...before you know it, they'll be awarding themselves with a Michelin Star rating!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olives333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were shopping at street markets in Sukhumvit in the late evenings. We landed at Khana Khazana and to our surprise we had excellent food.

The restaurant interior and the outlook is not so appealing, however the quality of food is very good.

The food didn't carry too much of Garam Masala and felt like home food.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking to done at a vegetarian restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kulin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khana Khazana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing