We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and company!”
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #35 of 1,389 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here to attend a convention and experience a different side to Thailand. First thing is that the location is easily accessible via the Sky Train which should make getting around easier. The staff of the hostel were very accommodating and warm so doing the usual chores were quite easy. It was easy to get caught up in the laid back atmosphere of the area with many backpackers so my evenings were full of action and excitement (and I had more than my fair share there). I'd like to commend the staff for organising night trips that would take guests off the beaten path through Bangkok. The computers and internet was fast for most emails and Facebook updates. Met some great friends and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hvlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

I booked this as I was looking for a central location and a sociable hostel. It certainly met those requirements.
I was banged up pretty good from a motorcycling accident and had trouble walking. I would have expected some consideration before being placed in a room on the 4th floor with no lift! It was quite obvious that I had been in an accident as I was wearing shorts and a tee shirt and right arm and both legs were covered in bandages.
It is a busy hostel so I think it was the only room they had left.
The room itself was clean and modern in design, athough it was described as an eco-double it had a shared bathroom with that floor. The room did have an ipod dock in it which I thought was a very good touch. There was no TV. The bathroom was clean and nice but for the price (24 pounds a night) I would have expected an ensuite. I am in a bit of a rough and ready hotel round the corner and they are charging me 12 per night with an ensuite. It was definately a good hostel for meeting people and had free desktop computers connected to the internet and free Tea and Coffee after 12.00pm. I would have stayed longer if it was a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greatwhiteclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Lovely hostel, really good staff. Stayed there during the demonstrations and felt completely safe. Stayed in a twin room which had a shower, sink and loo in the room too - it was perfect for what we needed at the beginning of our trip. Very comfy beds. It is situated right next to the train station so very easy to find a great location for the rest of the city and airport.
Highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omsm87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed during the demonstrations against the government, which were happening outside all along the road, so this changed my experience I am sure. Because of this it was a bit noisy until late at night and the taxi drivers have difficulty getting all the way there. The sky train is right outside however which is very convenient.

The staff are great, speak good English and are very helpful. Everything is very clean and the facilities are extremely well maintained. Down in the lobby there are computers you can use for free, with the option to print. The wifi also works well. The bar outside was being renovated but you can still buy drinks and food from the bar, but if you're buying water it is much cheaper to get it from the 7 Eleven just outside on the left.

Some might consider it a little expensive but it is more a top-end hostel, with a price to match. Would recommend due to the great facilities and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try and be towards the back due to the noise from the demonstrations (if they are still happening)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at the Lub d for 3 nights. The bunk beds are very comfortable and new, and they are also very steady, so if someone on the top moves you don't feel it so much at the bottom. Very nice bathrooms with plenty of space and showers. The bedrooms are a little bit small but there are very large lockers. I like the architecture of the hostel very much, because everything is so spacious and open. The location is great too, directly at siam square, you can walk to all the big shopping malls. The skytrain station is literally just above the hostel. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andywarhol88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Clean, comfy, modern vibe and convenient to public transportation for getting around Bangkok. Good access to the BTS Sky Train and close to shopping mall. You feel safe even there are protesters outside. You may consider this hostel as an option if you are visiting Bangkok. ')

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyThatsJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hostel twice- one of the best in the world. Super friendly, really clean, modern, and a fun atmosphere. This is located in the new Siam Square area of the city with good access to the BTS and close to lots of shopping. Bonus: they were fully booked our last night and after a mixup with our other hostel (overbooking) they allowed us to store our bags, crash in the theatre room and use their bathrooms...all for free before we left for the airport for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#28 of 1,389 in Bangkok
843 reviews
Siam
Chao Hostel
Chao Hostel
#15 of 1,389 in Bangkok
339 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#3 of 1,389 in Bangkok
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Mellow Fellow Hostel
Mellow Fellow Hostel
#54 of 1,389 in Bangkok
111 reviews
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#30 of 1,389 in Bangkok
726 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#4 of 1,389 in Bangkok
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,389 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $17 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing