We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy, tiny room, found maggots in the bathroom”
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #30 of 1,253 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very noisy, tiny room, found maggots in the bathroom”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

After reading excellent reviews from TripAdvisor, I was excited and immediately booked a private room with on-suite bath for 5 nights for my brother. After 4 nights of stays, my brother could no longer take it and decided to leave for another hotel without a refund. The noise level was unbearable for him. The room isn't insulated, so he could hear everything, from showers, doors closing, foot steps, conversation, etc. There's a high rise construction next door that goes on days and nights, and since it's on a major road, he could also hear traffic non stop. The last straw was finding 10 maggots in the bathroom!!!! He asked to change room, but they are full. Not sure how this place got such a high remark from other reviewers, but I will certainly NOT recommend this for anyone. I'm extremely sad and disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catsinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lub_d, Owner at Lub d Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Firstly, we are very sorry that we disappointed you extremely. The noise from the construction site next door is getting better each day as the majority of their works now are indoor. The construction (of the international chain hotel) will finish next year and will make this area even livelier. We will work further on rooms insulation to protect guests from noise outside as you mentioned. We have been working very hard in investigating the maggots issue you mentioned since this is the first report of such kind of incidents for us. It was a shock to our housekeeping team since they had been very proud of their cleanliness record so far. In this tropical country, maggots can be from various types of insects (mostly unharmed nor dirty). But we understood your comment and totally agreed with you that they do not belong to a hotel room. So, we will search them out, investigate the root cause, and take an appropriate action. We are sorry for the incident and thank you for your comment. Have a good journey. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    366
    81
    18
    18
See reviews for
47
185
350
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

First of all location is really cool, u can easily find your way to hostel once you arrive at the airport. The nearest skytrain station is just few steps away, hostel is in the heart of shopping district and you can easily obtain your needs. Staff is really taking care of guests and they help you at its best. I have stayed in dorm rooms and also in double rooms. Both are very clean and brand new. The housekeeping staff really works hard to keep the bathrooms spotless clean, impressive. The lobby area is nice to chill out, with some computers for free internet. Free wifi works really good even in rooms. Briefly, if you are heading to Bangkok, this is the place to be. I can say this after my past experiences with some other hostels in BKK. The location is also not very far from Sukhumvit area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatismynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Based on my previous -very positive- stay at their Silom branch I booked a Double deluxe at Lub D Siam.
The booking itself was a bit confusing - when I called them directly and inquired about a double room, they only had a double with shared bath available and asked me to book it through their website or a booking machine. However, the econo double didn't even show up there. After calling again they advised me to yet try another booking machine. Now at Agoda I finally found the econo double - but also the double deluxe! Which, according to Lub D was booked out...I booked the double deluxe at Agoda and we got the room at check-in. Strange, still...
The hostel itself (both Siam and Silom) is among the best I have ever been to - very nice interior design, spotless and super clean, comfy beds and very good service (they have an activity going on every evening and help you with all information you need to get around town, there is someone 24/7).
The double room with nicely decorated. It is rather small but you have everything you need and the design is very thoughtful. The view was the building next doors but if you prefer a skyline view you might have booked a fancy hotel anyway...
I was a bit worried about the huge construction going on next door (a hotel which claims to open on 12/12/12...), however, I found the room to be pleasantly quiet. The doors and windows are very sound proof so you only have a little city noise, but not different from most places in Bangkok. Slept very well. Just one thing - I would rather not have a TV in the room as it is a hostel and you would expect people to meet in the lobby or the TV room, not lying in your own room and watching TV alone. Not a necessary luxury, in my eyes.
The location is superb - in the heart of Bangkok, right next to BTS and walking distance to all the Siam Buzz. There are buses going from there to Chinatown/Khao San etc. and BTS and metro get you to all other places. Easy to reach from the airport via Rail Link and BTS.
It's always busy outside, lots of small streetfood stalls and people so you don't feel awkward going back to the hostel alone at night.
I found the prices rather high at Lub D and would next time maybe prefer a cheaper econo double as their shared bathrooms are very good, too. Or a lady's dorm, if traveling alone.
Still, the little premium you pay here as opposed to other hostels in BKK is well worth it and reflect the high standard and superb location.
I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seetheworld_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

First of all I received a nice and clear email when i made the booking. This immediately gave me a good feeling. In the mail stood very easy instructions how to get to the hostel, coming from the airport.
I arrived easily, thanks to the good location under the BTS-skytrain-station. Very warm and welcoming staff working here. 24/24 they are always want to help you. Also very clean rooms. Good internetconnection. Good beds. Very nice and (always clean) bathroom.
Located at a big road (without any noise in the rooms!) you can easily access the whole city. On walking distance from Siam Square and the shopping stuff.
If you want to have a good experience, away from the busy and touristical stuff in Khao San Road, this is the place to be. It was my first time ever travelling alone, but it couldn't had a better start.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Friendly workers, rooms is very Excellent if u went with ur familys, if ur solo (ladies) batter choose ladies rooms only...toilet very clean..........places a bit noises because near the rood sides and LRT but we just when to bangkok to find a place for sleep n shower only....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chnynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had only learnt of this hostel when I was urgently looking for a place to stay for the night. With swift and punctual response, I got a place to stay.

On arrival at the counter, I was greeted by friendly staffs of the hostel who then rendered assistance to me. As they were doing the necessary administration, I looked around and see what I felt like home.

Home to new friends.

The location of the hostel is a walk away from the shopping area and not to mention good food. It's located exactly at the National Stadium BTS, which is accessible to anywhere.

However, as I had only stayed at the hostel for a night, I couldn't elaborate further on the thing one could do there.

But nonetheless, service by staffs are good. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Anywhere is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evanchinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

just like the title states, lub d siam sq has very friendly stuff, both front desk reception and back office (back office are the ones whom I contacted via email before going there).

planned the trip with a friend but ended going there alone. the interior design of the hostel is rather clean cut and modern, cool and fun, with bold colors. booked double suite and it has separated shower room and toilet. clean environment but the floor is concrete finish throughout the whole hostel so it looks raw and it could be dusty. just bring a pair of slippers for your own comfort at the hostel. basin mirror is rather high for me (1.58m), suggest that the mirror to be modified to be adjustable so that short people like me can use it :) there are some mosquitoes at the room especially when u are out and the air condition is off. prepare mosquito repellant spray.

the hostel is just next to bts national stadium station so it's really convenient for those prepare to use train as means of transport. one station away from bts siam station (where the shopping malls are located at) which is within walking distance.

overall I enjoyed the stay very much :) if u are going with friends, and wanna stay at the central area (siam sq), lub d siam sq hostel is recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#156 of 868 in Bangkok
1,465 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#747 of 868 in Bangkok
138 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#97 of 868 in Bangkok
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Chao Hostel
Chao Hostel
#23 of 1,253 in Bangkok
275 reviews
Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Lub d Bangkok Silom
#15 of 1,253 in Bangkok
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Property: Lub d Bangkok Siam
Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,253 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing