We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for shoppers :)”
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #26 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for shoppers :)”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Less than 5 mins away from MBK/Siam Square. A BTS station (National Stadium) right in front of it. 7E a few doors down. Friendly and way helpful staff. Very clean rooms and bathrooms (the cleaning lady cleaned the loo at midnight too!). Free popcorn. Funky interior. Lotsa computers for you to use. Free WIFI.

Plus the place ain't that expensive for those who's got money to spare, but still kinda on a budget (like my sis and I!).

Anyhoos,like the title says, this is a great place for shoppers, since everything is at your doorstep! We walked all the way to Platinum Mall... took us about 40 mins. And lub.d is not on some dark alley, so you don't have to worry bout coming back late. T'was just my sis and I, and we felt safe walking back to the hostel every night.

Shame we didn't spend much time talking to other travelers/staff. Too busy shopping, but the next time we hit bangkok, we're definitely going to join in one of them pub crawls, etc.

Oh, just one drawback. They're building a hotel or something of the sort right next to lub.d so it can get pretty noisy. But to tell you the truth, we fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillows.

Conclusion: I love lub.d. But then again I might be biased coz they not only remembered my birthday, but they got me something too :)

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request for a room furthest away from all the noise - both from the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaraMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    363
    81
    18
    17
See reviews for
47
182
349
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's hard to review "Lub d" - on the one hand, it have so many 'pros': an excellent location, best possible, it's in the heart of a city, in the very center, literally just a few meters from a BTS station - unmatchable. Also, the place is very hype, trendy, modern, fashionable, kind of hipsterish, and interesting to experience and see. All facilities are brand new, excellent condition, top of the class, very new building, with a great interior, etc. Staff is very helpful, nice, everyone speaks almost perfect (for Thailand) English, so in that sense, the price is justified - you're getting all the best. On the other hand, it's in a proper hotel price range, but it's still a hostel. With all drawbacks. The biggest problem is noise - the building have an open structure, all made of concrete, so you would hear a door slamming on any floor, plus all street noises, and the crowd is young - so kids are literally going in-and-out 24/7 non-stop. Don't forget to bring ear-plugs!! Plus a great "industrial-strength" air-con in rooms works great, but it's also kinda noisy, and no Silent mode or anything. We were staying in Econo Double on 4th Floor - the room is great, awesome interior, very smart design (super-efficient use of space), but it's really small. So I can't really imagine staying there for a week or longer - there's literally nothing in a room except for a bed and a small table. Bed is good though. And shared bathrooms - they have rooms with a private bath, but they are definitely way too overpriced (for that money, just go with a real hotel).

So, in a nutshell, it's a great place for young kids (living in a Dorm is cheaper + you can meet a lot of nice people), but if you prefer more comfort, don't fool yourself - it's still a hostel.

Also, the place is very good with additional free services - quick free Wi-Fi in rooms, deposit boxes, computers with a free access downstairs, there's a movie room, so you can watch your own DVD's with friends or strangers, free popcorn downstairs, cheep and ok breakfasts, free soap and shampoo in bathrooms, nice towels/etc. So overall our stay was great, but it's expensive, and sometimes a little too noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wichitazaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sukothai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice, clean, well organised hostel far away from Kon San Road (which is a plus!) with aircon in the rooms, laundry facilities, tour operator inside to organise trips, really nice and helpful staff and the right mixture of guests so that it is not just a backpackers' place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebe370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

One of the best Hostel so far.

Reception: organized yet abit funky.. feels more friendly and happy upon arrival.
Room: clean, nice quote, spacious locker.. remember to bring own padlock
Bathroom: Clean and there's vending machine for pads and even condoms
Laundry: Coins slot washing machine and each floor there are place to hang your clothes
Location: Awesome! right under "National Stadium MRT" and 7/11 very near.. most of the shopping complex near too
Wifi and Computers are free to use too.. Printing for each page will be charged 10baht.
Room Door pretty great as you wont really hear any noise from outside.

love this place and will be back :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyIb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

1000 baht for twin room. Clean, modern and spacious. Bathroom facilities very decent. Free internet at the hostel. Found the hostel to be quite hidden away was difficult to find! Near to train network which was useful and staff were friendly. Again, recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNotoriousT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hi, I'm Ali from Indonesia. We're stay there for a night and this is very recommended place.
Lub D located on the central of Bangkok City, very close to Shopping Mall, Skytrain, and very easy to reach other location from Lub D, very enjoy!

About hostel, they're serving very great. All of the staff are friendly, great lounge to watching TV and access the Internet, and the cleanliness is very perfect! I hope next time my journey to Bangkok, I can stay there again.

Lub D, everyone leaves a friend! Cheers,
Ali - Indonesia :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having lived and worked in Phuket for three years, I've stayed at Lub d ("Good night's sleep" in Thai) numerous times. Outstanding facility, staff and location. The welcoming lobby has a good buzz and serves a delicious breakfast in the morning. Dorms are pleasant and the private rooms are super. Laundry facilities are available. The location is fantastic. Walk out the door, jump right on to the metro and go explore Bangkok!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#154 of 863 in Bangkok
1,459 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#745 of 863 in Bangkok
138 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#99 of 863 in Bangkok
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#120 of 863 in Bangkok
346 reviews
Siam
Chao Hostel
Chao Hostel
#25 of 1,213 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Property: Lub d Bangkok Siam
Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,213 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing