We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place to stay in VERY handy location!”
Review of Lub d Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Ranked #31 of 1,304 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this funky hostel. We had a private double room, which was decorated in a very modern way - it almost felt like a boutique hotel, at a fraction of the cost! Couldn't be handier for the BTS station - you can literally see it once you step off the train from the platform! This was a great boon, after we'd stayed in more 'high end' places that were a lot further from transport links, I'd pick this one for location hands down over other frills. Only complaint was that the breakfast options in the cafe were limited, but there's plenty of stuff nearby - head to one of the big malls in siam square for a super foodie treat! Overall, wouldn't hesitate to recommmend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melp2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

Spend my last night on this hotel/hostel in Bangkok. Cheap, honest and with staff always ready to help. Near a BTS station and a short tuktuk/taxi ride to Khao San Road.
Booked it because it would be easy to get to the airport from the trip home, and it really is.
Stayed in a double room with bathroom. Small, but clean and well organized, with reasonable bed quality.
A big shopping center and a 7/11 just a few steps away and also really near Jim Thompson's house.
A good option for a medium-low budget.
Would stay there again, with no doubts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breky_nuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a Female Dorm and it was a very good experience! The hostel is very clean especially the sharing bathroom/showers which are very well maintained. The room was a little smelly but confortable and the staff is very friendly. Possibility to have breakfast and the location is near a lot of shopping centers, massage places, restaurants. Easy to reach from the airport with the skytrain and quite in the center of the city. I would definitely recommand this place for any backpackers or group of friends looking for an affordable but confortable option.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in a private double after coming from Australia. It was very cheap compared to hostels there, but expensive compared with others in Bangkok. We didn't sweat the price as we had a fantastic stay and would definitely come back.

Pros - Great location, right across the street from MBK, the shopping and eating options are near endless. Also easy to describe to taxis if you don't speak Thai.
- Very helpful English speaking staff, everyone there was awesome!
- Cheap and filling continental breakfast, 80 baht if I remember correctly.
- The decor in our room were great, it's a concrete building so it can seem dingy, but we felt right at home in our room.
- A/C worked fantastic inside the room.
- Clean, our room and the bathrooms were always spotless. There was always a staff member cleaning.
- QUIET! the concrete building filtered out all the noise, the street was always busy outside but we had fantastic sleeps.

Cons - The breakfast meals were good, but the rest of the food that they offer are just frozen and reheated. We tried one meal and didn't have another.

We don't have much to complain about for Lubd Siam, we had a fantastic stay. Would recommend to anyone who travels to Bangkok. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I spent 5 nights here at Lub*D Siam Square. I had a private room, and I must say it was beyond my expectation.

The staffs were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and courteous. Although it is harder to meet people here than other hostels, and the staffs don't really help you much in meeting new people. But they do have events set up for you to meet other travelers, and you just have to talk to people more on your own.

The room was comfortable and the bed was restful. Although there was a construction next door, but I barely notice the noise, especially with my ear plugs. The shower has superb water pressure, it would be nice to have a fridge in the room, but I lived without it.

I booked the Ayutthaya tour and the Floating Market plus Elephant Ride through them. They were both totally organized and made my life much easier with the limited time I had in Bangkok.

The location of this hostel was superb. It was right next to a BTS station, Which made my 6 days here tuk-tuk and taxi free. I took the trains and the ferry boats to all the major attractions in Bangkok. The food court at Paragon Plaza about 5 minute walking distance away was my daily dining spot.

Overall, This place was fantastic, and I will def. be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

LUb d is not a regular hostel. It is squeaky clean with a great bunch of staff and excellent staying options .All the interiors, the wall and rooms have been done up with functionality and a graphic element in mind. The atmosphere in within the hostel is chilled out and fun and all the staff are very helpful.There is a luggage room, where the luggage can be kept safely in case you have already checked out in the morning and have the whole day to kill.They have free wifi in the whole hostel and the lounge area is very comfy with a big cushioned sofa.But the best deal about Lub d is the location. Its just in front of the national stadium metro stop, on the main siam sqaure road. MBk mall is within 5 mins walking distance, Platinum and Prathunam malls are a 22 bhat bus ride or a 35 bhat taxi ride.Airport sky train is 1.5 km away(phaya thai).
Make sure that you carry a good pair of slippers/walking shoes,a muscle relief spray as most of Bangkok is very pedestrian friendly, and in the bargain to look for the best thing to buy, your feet will get quite tired!even to cross the road it is necessary to take the overhead subway, and most malls have very limited benches.
Also fellow travellers please note, that contrary to the popular beliefs, the tuk tuks are the most expensive way of transportation in Bangkok. They look affordable but always end up charging a lot more than a regular ac taxi!Local people never take them, is what we observed!

Room Tip: choose deluxe double rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed @ LubD for 3 nights while in Bangkok. We got a private dorm for us 2 girls, room was standard and looks like a red dorm. Downfall was no fridge in the room, we bought beers and had to leave it warm! The shower and toilet area in 2 different rooms. How do we get undressed and then go shower if there's no place to leave your clothes? We had to get undressed in the toilet area, then cover yourself to go to the shower area. After shower, cover yourself and go back into the toilet area to change. Also the private dorm was on the 2nd floor with no elevators so we had to lug our huge heavy luggage up to the 2nd floor.

Location convenient right across MBK Mall. Cabs are readily available everywhere, breakfast and drinks available downstairs. Friendly staff! Hostel was more on the expensive side, $35CAD per person for a night. I would probably stay here again...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tphan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#152 of 885 in Bangkok
1,513 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#95 of 885 in Bangkok
2,181 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#754 of 885 in Bangkok
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#81 of 885 in Bangkok
1,212 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#120 of 885 in Bangkok
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Siam

Address: 925 / 9 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,304 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $12 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Siam 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Location. Location.Lub d's new hostel is in the Siam Square quarter, renowned as the best hangout area in Bangkok. At Siam you've got it all: culture, entertainment, eats, espresso joints, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. Here, literally on your doorstep, is Bangkok's Skytrain (BTS) which connects you to the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Siam Square Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing