We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, fantastic service in heart of Bangkok”
Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #263 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Praya Palazzo is about as far away as it's possible to get from faceless, cookie-cutter chain hotels and offers welcome respite from Bangkok's relentless hustle-and-bustle -- despite being remarkably central. The site is stunning and its rooms certainly don't lack the "wow" factor. The food is also fantastic (the grilled roasted duck curry was best dish I tried in two weeks in Thailand) but expect London prices. However, it's the outstanding service that really sets it apart. The staff bend over backwards to ensure your stay is special and every need met. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayjag37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Praya Palazzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 271 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have visited Bangkok about a dozen times over the years and this time was the best. I credit this delightfully intimate hotel for this experience. Every time we returned on their regal boat, we were immediately transported from the frantic craziness of the city to peace and tranquility. Breakfasts were great ..some of the best coffee I had in SEAsia. Such service! After only one day there, they were anticipating our wants and needs. We initially planned to stay for only 2 nights and wound up staying for 4, wanting to stay longer. This gem is located on the opposite side of the river from the bustle of the city at Pier 13. It's no problem since they give you a phone to call when you are ready to return. The longest we ever waited for their boat was 7 minutes. Definitely 5* service!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is definitely the best. Worth the upgrade to honeymoon suite
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 158JeanneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

All of the wonderful staff at the Praya Palazzo made our first visit to Bangkok and Thailand extra special. From the moment we arrived in the hotel's private boat we were made to feel very welcome by the exceptionally warm and friendly team, Each morning we were treated to a wonderful breakfast by Sakon and his team. Charan would then take time to ensure that we were comfortable and help schedule our day providing advice on places of interest and how to travel including detailed instructions for taxi drivers in Thai. He is a real gentleman and a credit to the hotel. Sai Jai was also very kind greeting us each day when we returned after a busy day sightseeing in the city and taking a real interest in what we had been doing. The staff made my daughter very welcome when she came to meet us at the end of our stay to travel to Kanchanaburi for the weekend. The hotel is a lovely mansion with an interesting history set in a peaceful setting on the bank of the river. We enjoyed having breakfast by the pool each morning before setting off on our daily adventure in Bangkok. Everywhere is easy to reach and it was great fun to set off up the river on the 15 Baht Ferry. We originally stayed for four nights but were so impressed that we went back for a further night when we returned to Bangkok later in our holiday. We would thoroughly recommend the Praya Pallazzo and hope to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This boutique hotel is in a beautiful setting across the river from the Phra Arthit (No. 13) pier; once you board the shuttle boat from the hotel, you leave the hustle and bustle of Bangkok behind. We made great use of the beautiful pool and enjoyed dinner on our first evening out by the river. All of the staff are polite and responsive but we particularly want to recognize Charan Maneesom and his associate, Sai Jai. Charan put a great deal of effort into researching destinations for us and suggesting restaurants and other excursions based on our interests. Sai Jai taught us how to say "thank you" in Thai and greeted us on our return from outing, always interested in what we had seen or done. Nice breakfast menu included in the room cost. It is a quiet and peaceful location but provides easy access to Bangkok via the Express boat (15 Bhat) or the Tourist boat (40 Bhat). Difficult to imagine abetter hotel or better value in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LW7658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Praya Palazzo is a quiet, luxurious (for Bangkok) & totally relaxing oasis situated just moments from the tuk-tuk crazed madness of Koh San Road & other central Bangkok hot-spots.

The Hotel claims to be 4* with a 5* service & I really couldn't agree more!
From the moment you step off the private boat you're welcomed with drinks/ fresh towels & check-in was done within in seconds, every morning at breakfast Charam would greet us & ask if we needed suggestions/ directions in Thai etc for our days activities, a totally seamless service.

The hotel is only accessible by private boat & it was on hand 24hrs a day, they give you a mobile phone so you can call when you're at the Pier ready to be collected (only a 3 min ride across the water), a really fun & rather VIP experience (especially when other non-guests are waiting at the Pier too, watching on in envy)!!

The rooms are very nice, we had a Premium Deluxe with a bath, beds are super comfortable, it was a little damp but I guess it's to be expected given it's wet season in Sep. No shower stand, just a shower head in the bath so a little tricky but other than that the bathroom is lovely.
The gardens/ grounds are beautifully kept & the pool area is lovely, you can see the boats go by whilst ordering cocktails from their fully-stocked (but pricey) bar.
The building itself has been beautifully restored to its former glory, the decor & furnishings are very tasteful & colonial looking, I really enjoyed learning about the history of the place & previous owners.

We had dinner there one evening, although pretty pricey by Bangkok standards I have to say the steak/ lamb mains absolutely delicious & wine list was very good.
Breakfast was nice too, plentiful with the usual Asian-style sausage/ bacon but the fruit/ cereals & eggs all great & excellent coffee - all served a la carte style either pool-side or in the dining room (option to order to the room too).

All in all I don't think my husband & I will stay anywhere other than here when in Bangkok now, this is a real gem, cleverly nestled in the heart of Bangkok, I very much recommend it!

Room Tip: Our room was closest to the pool/ River so we did hear some loud boats pass by at night, if you'...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horton-Clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amazing how this building was renovated to this palazzo .Still the old pictures are shown and how it was renovated . Food and service is also excellent . Also the "private"boat who will take you over the river to the palazzo !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wim19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just as the name suggests, Praya Palazzo is a Palladian villa on the bank of the Chao Praya river. The building, grounds and rooms are beautiful and well appointed. Lovely pool - a true oasis in the midst of hectic Bangkok. It was always fantastic to return to Praya Palazzo after a day exploring Bangkok and reminded me of staying at a private estate, not just another generic hotel that could exist in Vegas or anywhere else in the world. Make sure you check out the photo exhibit in the restaurant lobby, which explains the interesting history of the house (built by a millionaire in 1923, who's wife was a member of the royal court, then used a school and finally reborn as a boutique hotel).
The staff is incredible, definitely on point the entire time,without exception! They found a ring I left in the room after check out and called the boat driver in order to return it to me. The boat men were always friendly and accommodating.
Many sights are close by; Phra Sumen fort is in the park adjacent to Phra Arthit Pier (the pier across from Praya Palazzo); Wat Arun, Wat Po and the Royal Palace are easily accessible by ferry from Phra Arthit pier. We tried the Aquatini restaurant next to the pier and it was really good!
As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is exclusively accessible by boat. We didn't find this to be a problem, I printed out the taxi card from the hotel's website and handed it to our driver. He called the hotel upon arrival to the Phra Arthit neighborhood, and they send the boat over immediately. During check-in, they gave us a mobile phone to call for the boat - very simple.
I highly recommend Praya Palazzo if you are looking for a relaxing stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pinkerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#16 of 879 in Bangkok
1,728 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#215 of 879 in Bangkok
298 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#164 of 879 in Bangkok
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurum The River Place
#276 of 879 in Bangkok
197 reviews
Banglamphu
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
The Raweekanlaya Bangkok
#227 of 879 in Bangkok
37 reviews
Banglamphu
Chakrabongse Villas
Chakrabongse Villas
#99 of 1,283 in Bangkok
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#186 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $101 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing