We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven away from the bustling city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #227 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven away from the bustling city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just came back from a relaxing holiday, spending 5D/4N at this Italian mansion. When we first arrive at Pier 13, we had difficulty getting a hp to call the hotel staff to send a private boat to the hotel which is on the other side of Chao Phraya river. Our taxi driver claimed that he did not have a hp. There was a restaurant near the pier and I begged the manager to loan me his hp. Initially he rejected but after being really desperate (not knowing there is a public phone before entering the alley to the pier) I persuaded him again and this time he was kind enough to call the hotel for us. That was the only unpleasant experience. After that it was smooth sailing. The boat arrive, it was a nice 5 minutes ride to the hotel...... when u arrive at the mansion, the first expression was it looks grand but it feels weird that it is surrounded by small villages.

Checking in was real quick..... and we were greeted by warm towel and cool refreshing drink, though extremely sweet. The staff will escort you to your room.... we took the deluxe room, nice cozy colonial room, size is decent with high ceilings and elegant furnish. However the furniture could be given a little simple fixing, such as window knob in toilet and wardrobe is loose, easily fixed with using some adhesive.

Water pressure for rain shower is a bit low. Improvement can be done. Free wifi on second floor not reliable, poor connection.

However this is not a big chain 5 star hotel, so we cant expect everything to be perfect.

The best thing is the hotel is very peaceful, you feel like a royalty having friendly staff serving you and having to travel via ferry to various destination is very relaxing.

One thing I was not so happy was my when I booked directly from the website, the details regarding the room package includes daily high tea. However when I arrived, they said that it is no longer applicable. I would suggest that the website be updated or if not, the tea service should still be offered to us as stated in the website. The other thing was our room package includes free wine during daily breakfast which they have forgotten till I reminded them but snce it was not to our liking we did not remind them for the next few breakfast.

Breakfast selection was ala carte, you get a selection of choices (1 each) of fruit juice, yogurt, cereals, pastry, and egg (any style of cooking) served with sausage and potatoes, and a local dish.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would have given 5 star if not for the few constructive criticisms that I have mentioned above.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank payselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
171
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I really love the staff who treat us very well.
I think this is the best place that i had gone in Bangkok.
The place is unique, memorable, and the staffs are welcoming. Really recommend this hotel esp all people who like interest place.
To go to this hotel u need go by boat. Just call the staff, the staff will pick up us at the dock.
The bad of this hotel, is very noisy in the room, you can hear neighbor activity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a real Italian palazzo built in the 1920s and lovingly restored in 2012. It reminded us of staying in Venice. The rooms have high ceilings and are very regal in an elegant way. The hotel feels like a private villa on the Chao Phraya river which is the main river running through Bangkok. You arrive on a dock on the opposite side of the river and the hotel's private launch picks you up. The hotel gives you a cell phone so that you can get the boat whenever you need it. The pool was great as was the food. We spent our days taking river boats to different locations and avaoid taxis completely. This hotel is at the north end of the river. Most of the fancy hotels are to the south.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaredBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here back in May so it's taken me a while to write up the review but I thought this hotel was so amazing, I wanted to make sure i did write one up.

Firstly, the value was unbelievable. We got a special deal through Expedia at the very beginning of May and it worked out at something like £65 per room per night (for 2 people). And that was including breakfast! So if you go, May is clearly low season and good deals are available.

The place itself is just awesome. Being only accessible by boat makes it feel like you're in your own little paradise in the middle of Bangkok, away from all the dirt and pollution. I've never been a big fan of Bangkok (it is so hot and dirty) but staying at the Palazzo made the whole experience so much better, especially the swimming pool. I read some complaints about the boat but for me that was a nice part of the whole experience and they give you a local mobile phone so you can get picked up any time of day or night (took them 5 mins to come and get us as 3am!).

The rooms have so much character and style. Again, I read some reviews complaining about squeaky floors or that it appeared old. But if you want a clinical soulless experience, stay at an Intercontinental or Hilton. If you like history, character and style, you'll love this place.

Then finally the staff were simply amazing. When you first arrive with your luggage they great you with cold towels and lemonade. You don't really check in, but just get taken straight to your room. They have what I guess you'd call a customer services manager who was so nice and spent ages with us recommending local restaurants to try out (which were all great). Anything you need or want is literally delivered to you in minutes, whether you're sat by the pool or at the bar.

If I had one complaint it's that food and drink there is expensive. You're almost paying London prices for a beer for instance. They say it's because they have to bring everything in by boat and of course you don't have to eat or drink at the hotel. Although having said that, the thai dishes they served in the restaurant was probably the best food I had on the whole trip.

Wouldn't even consider not staying here if i come back to Bangkok.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice to me. And they have air con which is a god send in Bangkok!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJW79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just completed a three night stay at the Praya Palazzo. The hotel is a great break from the hectic pace of Bangkok and provides great access to some wonderful parts of Bangkok.

The hotel is lovely, but what really made the visit exceptional was the staff and the service they provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and thought the hotel was lovely and excellent value for money. When in the premises you would never know that you were in the centre on Bangkok as its so quiet. The hotel sits on the river and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The hotel is not accessible by road, only boat and they give you a mobile phone to summon the boat to the pier when you need it (24 hour access). This was one of our let downs as the PAYG phone did not work on 2 occasions- First night we could not get through and had to get the restaurant opposite to phone. They gave us a replacement phone which also did not have any money on it and again could not phone to get the boat the next day! When it did work it was fine and the boat arrived within 5 mins of a call and was not at all inconvenient (in fact quite quirky!) There is also a restaurant in the hotel and my only other let down was that it didn't open very late. Food looked fantastic but just didn't get the opportunity to try it sadly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitchi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

first of all, this boutique hotel is beautiful in its simplicity. the room we stayed in was on the second floor due to one readers advice on squeaky floors on the first. apart from that, the room decor and the ambiance of the whole place was, in a word, charming :). i also loved how in the indoor dining area they had the story of the place. i find that history about a place you are visiting gives it more meaning, and it was beautiful that they share this with the people who stay with them.

getting to and from the place wasn't difficult for us. their private "boat" was very easy to call and only once out of the numerous times we required it, was it delayed (about 15 minutes) because it was out running errands :). otherwise, after just one call, the boat would be by the dock in less than 10 minutes).

the only problem we seemed to have was with wifi reception. inside our room, it was strongest right by the door. outside in the corridor was also very strong and good. but inside the room, it was a bit weak and would drop at times. i don't know if that had anything to do with the fact that we were in the last room at the end of the hall on the second floor? otherwise, in the dining area and in the common area, signal was good :).

the service was very warm and the staff were more than eager to help. from the front desk manager, our private butler, the boat drivers, to their waiters ... everyone served with a smile.

it was our first time in bangkok, and i was so glad that we decided to spend our special vacation at praya palazzo.

i would definitely stay here again :).

Room Tip: someone mentioned squeaky floors, and to be honest, our room did have a panel or two that squeaked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Julie L,
Warmest greetings from a sunny Praya Palazzo!

Thank you for writing such extensive and great detailed review and sharing your experiences and observations with other readers. You have gone to great detail and made lots of very valid and important observations. Thank you for this!

You have highlighted so many great compliments and we are very proud to read that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed yourself.

It is true that our mansion is a heritage building and although it has a breathtaking architecture and many details, it also has some constraints as a result. Because our building is a recognised preservation project, hence protected, we have many restrictions on what can be modified. The rooms can indeed be squeaky and although it does adds a nice charm to the place it can also be a distraction, especially if late at night. We acknowledge this issue and we have recently been advised by a expert in this in a possible solution without changing the architecture, authenticity or structure of the flooring, so we will try with one room and see if this helps.

With regards to the WiFi you will be happy to know that this problem should have been resolved. We have bought a new dedicated line and re-adjusted the wifi spots so the coverage should be a lot better now. Thank you however for pointing this out and it is a real pity that we could not improve our WiFi before your stay!

Thank you once again for writing such a great review and sharing your observations and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Warmest regards from our entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#184 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#66 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurum The River Place
#289 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#401 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Property: Praya Palazzo
Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#167 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing