We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Boutique Hotel!”
Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #239 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Praya Palazzo is very beautiful boutique one hotel in Bangkok that I've ever seen, a nice location at the riverside ,also the hotel like an oldest thai style it looks really classic. They have different rooms and this make like the original of Siam but look abit modern. I don't think we stay like in the hotel at all, it's like stay at home more. :)
Great location,Great Service,Great Rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiniRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear RiniRabbit,

Warmest greetings from our team at Praya Palazzo!
Thank you very much for writing such nice comments about us and we are really happy to read that you had a great time and felt at home. This is certainly our aim as our mansion is build in 1923 and was not build originally as a hotel but as a residence. We are trying hard to maintain that feeling where we create a very homely and intimate atmosphere instead of a "typical" hotel feeling which can be widely found around the world.
Thank you once again for your very kind words and we look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Remon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    78
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
174
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was quite excited about my booking at this hotel. Had chosen to pay the extra and take a suite. - a suite turned out to be a room with a day bed and no other seating! Felt a little like Faulty Towers upgraded. The teak floors, while lovely, are very noisy especially when a partner needs to get up thru the night. No balcony or fresh air. The hard timber framed bed (mattress is smaller than the bed frame) is about 20cm from the TV stand/table, which guarantees that you will be bruised or worse getting around the bed at any time, but worse on night visits to the loo, when sleepy and forgetful that the bed space is so limited. I finished with 2 bruises, my husband had two open sores from grazing the timber frame.

The staff are attentive, but smothering. We decided to take a walk in the river village at the rear of the property and were told not to, then followed when we persisted. We are very comfortable (after 40 years of visiting Thailand on a regular basis) with the Thai people and love to experience all the different ways how and where they live, this was a special treat being part of a floating village. Perhaps management are embarrasaed they do not do more to keep the water clean at the sides of the building or they think guests are unaware that not every riverside dweller is a wealthy condo owner.

The private ferry service is fantasic, but then again, think it would be hard to survive as a hotel if it was not available.

As I said, the staff are very attentive, but only a few speak English at all well, so that we had a "Manuel Moment" when ordering our breakfast selection the first morning and everything arrived at once, Thai style in a Tuscan setting! Cleanliness was, in general, okay, just the large clump of black hair on the shower grate was disconcerting on the first day (yuk!). Management are friendly and keen to please, "rewarding" our little shower find with a bottle of wine and treats left in our room for the ants to devour before we got home.

We were most fortunate, that, without knowing, we had booked for the days of the rehersal and actual procession of the 52 Royal Barges..........yes, for that once in 6 year event that is so very beautiful, we had a ringside seat. Chose to partake of the "Hgh Tea" during the flotilla sail by, which was 800 baht for deep fried prawn wontons and stale sandwiches left in the sun, but the upside was being introduced to White Tea, which is now my favourite.

All in all, would not go back, but thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to be a part of the river village and view the fleet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboopinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear bettyboopinv,
Warmest greetings from Praya Palazzo and thank you very much for sharing your review and feedback on your recent stay.

Hang and I remember you well and we really feel bad that you did not have such a great time with us. We once again apologize for not meeting, let alone exceeding, your expectations.

It is true that the shower drain was blocked which caused the hair issue on the bathroom drain. This is terrible and although we could repair the drain (not an easy task in a 1923 building) it of course did not add up to your impression.
The bottle of wine and snacks we placed in your room as a token of apology was meant to leave a positive impression and it is sad that ants sampled your snacks before you did. This indeeds gives a "Fawlty Towers" impression, which I normally would take as a compliment as it is our most favorite series but of course in your case not very funny.

Our little hotel employs several people whom normally do not have a fair chance to make a career. Although we are very proud of that and we can see progress in many team members we do acknowledge that sometimes service can be a bit patchy as a result. We balance this out by bringing in experts in certain areas like our new EAM Food and Beverage whom will start early December and can ensure service on the floor improves!

Our humblest apologies for letting you believe that we do not allow you to venture out through the back areas (local community) of the residence. The local community behind our hotel is really nice and people are indeed very friendly. The only reason we strongly discourage our guests from venturing out through the back is because of a very poor walk-way (wooden bridge) which is out of our property limits and not under our control. The same goes for the overall conditions of the community there. However, the biggest reason is the fact that there are many stray dogs in that area and although we have never heard of any incidents, we certainly do not want to encourage the possibility of incidents occurring. We really care about the safety of our guests, both on property and off property!
However, we have made an agreement with our direct neighbors to use their property as a "emergency" exit hence people can walk on this path today but as mentioned, we would prefer this option only as a pure emergency. In exchange for our guest to use their property, we also allow our neighbors to cross our property (the river front) so it is a really nice relationship which is working well for both our neighbors and us.

We have also engaged with our neighbors to do a big clean-up in their areas whereby we will sponsor man-power and utensils, but as mentioned before, these are other people's private property and homes and we are not permitted to just enter it, even if it is just for cleaning or with good intentions. We must always respect other peoples privacy and ask permission to enter their home or property as it would otherwise be simply breaking the law!

With regards to your comments about the edge of the bed, yes, if it is dark it may be hard to see the bed frame as the antique floor and bed frames are of similar wood and color, a feature we tend to preserve as it lends a bit more authenticity and is part of the original mansion.

It is a real pity that you did not enjoy our high tea offer. Of course we continue to innovate and improve the quality in our food quality but we really regret that you found the sandwiches stale, something we normally do quite well and we are just as puzzled as you are, because on that day we had many guests and all food was prepared fresh and on the spot!

It is really encouraging to know that you did enjoy The Royal Barge Procession, a truly rare event and indeed our hotel has the front-row seats!

Hang and I would like to thank you sincerely for choosing our property as your most recent stay and we find it a real pity you won't be coming back to stay with us. We once again regret not to meet your expectations and we will take a lot of learnings out of your feedback.

Should you ever be back in Bangkok again, please do touch base and we would love for you to re-visit us and give us another chance to get it all right.
Either-way, wish you lots of happy travels ahead and once again, thank you for your review!

Warmest regards,
Hang, Remon and the entire Praya Palazzo team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My boyfriend & I spent three nights at the PP after arriving in Bangkok after midnight just over a week ago. We let them know ahead of time about our middle of the night arrival which they are quite used to. We only had to wait five minutes at the pier for their water taxi/ boat to arrive. All of the staff were very friendly as well as the property manager Laow. The rooms were very nice and really cool with the original feel of the mansion. At first I was a bit concerned about how hard the bed was, but slept incredibly well and found it turned out to be quite comfortable as all of my Thai beds have been. I could not agree with a previous reviewer more who said that this hotel is like an oasis. We were originally going to stay somewhere a lot less pricey, but I'm glad we decided to splurge. After each day of doing the gonzo tourist sightseeing and being exhausted, coming "home" to a peaceful place was just what we needed. One last comment, the breakfasts were huge, fresh & yummy. However, if you like a buffet, you may not be happy with breakfast. It would just be impractical & even wasteful for a place this size to try to appease the average American tourist by having a do it yourself spread in the mornings. Great stay and I'd do it all over again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Laurel A,

Warmest greetings from the banks of Chao Praya river!
Thank you very much for your very kind words and our team is really delighted to hear you had a great time, especially Khun Laow whom you have mentioned.

The team is working very hard to make very guest stay a great one and very special and it is always nice to see when we managed to do that.

Thank you for recognizing our breakfast quality and as it is the most important meal of the day we will continue to improve this service.

Warmest regards from our entire team and wish you happy and safe traveling.

Remon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Amazing food, great service, perfect location. Highly recommend this hotel. A peaceful retreat in a very busy city, a little gem of a find, will definitely return if I get the opportunity. We stayed there for three nights and wished we had booked for more. As the hotel is located on the river we loved the fact that you accessed the hotel by their private boat which was readily available. From your little oasis you are only a short distance from the hustle and bustle of the main bar and restaurant area. You can catch the river taxis to all the major attractions from where the hotel drops you, so very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maisie9061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Maisie9061,
Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging review. We are really pleased that you had a great time and chosen our little hotel as your preferred sat this time.

Thank you for recognizing that the hotel is "remote but accessible" as this is a very important point. We are only few minutes away by boat from all main "attractions" like the Grand Palace, Wat Arun, the various museums, Wat Po and of course the famous Khao Sarn which is few minutes from Phra Athit pier but we are also away from the noise and hassle of these busy areas when you like to read a book or indulge in some heritage cuisine.

Thank you once again on behalf of our entire team and we will pass on the compliments to each team member.

Warmest regards and happy traveling.

Remon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a delight! We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Praya Palazzo, for a couple of days at the end of our first visit to Thailand. The rooms are stylish and a good size, the staff professional yet friendly, and the food - amazing! The afternoon tea must rival the Ritz, (but in a better setting -by the pool and with the majestic river flowing slowly past). Everything we sampled from the restaurant menu was fabulously cooked but our favourite must be the beef curry! Apparently the recipe was sourced from a Bangkok museum, but the flavours were fresh and the dish beautifully presented.

After a few hours in the city we rushed back, using the hotel's private boat to cross the river, to take advantage of the pool, set in front of the hotel in a pretty and serene garden. Relaxing on a sunbed after a cooling dip, I lost my camera's lens cap through a slit in the decking. The hotel engineer was summoned up, and with clever use of a stick with a dab of glue on the end, a few moments later he handed it back to me. Thanks!

We can recommend this lovely, historic hotel to anyone looking for something a bit different, with fantastic food and attentive yet discreet service. What a find!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Lindsey,
Thank you very much for such kind words and we are really pleased to see that you had a great time. Thank you for recognizing our cuisine, we have indeed sourced old recipes from early 1900 which were cooked at the palace during that time through the National Library and we are re-introducing these dishes on our menus using these recipes and exact ingredients.

Recently we also welcomed a very prominent master chef working at the palace to further guide our culinary team to get it right. Under her direction and with the help of one of the head-chefs of her team we learned a great deal on how meals were not just prepared but also how they were served and consumed during those days and get a better understanding of the dining etiquette. The master chef is now 86 years old and worked most of her life at the palace so she is truly a perfect reference. As our residence was build in 1923 we feel this is a nice touch and fits well with the heritage and history of the mansion.

We feel that the preservation of heritage cuisine is very important in a fast changing world where "fast-food" or "short-cuts" are sadly becoming more the standard.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our heritage residence and again for writing such a lovely review. I am glad that your lens-cap was recovered as it is indeed not easy to get items through these narrow gabs of the wooden deck.

On behalf of our entire team, warmest regards, wish you safe and joyful travels and hope to welcome you back again sometime.

Remon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the Palazzo 2 weeks ago, it is really a nice quirky, friendly and honest hotel.
My traveling companion lost their wallet on the first night, and the next day was found and returned with all money and cards still in it, well done to all the staff who found it!
We had a twin room, lovely high ceilings and the most comfy beds! We never had to wait for the boat to take or pick us up. All the staff were nice and helpful,my only advice would be if you do have mobility problems and struggle with steps, it might not be for you, there is a large step down to bathroom, and steps up to room, and also getting on and off the boat, but everyone helped me!

The gardens and pool are very pretty, we saw a wedding, which we were very graciously invited to, but I was unwell and had to decline, but I did peep out and look at the bride and it was all in English.

The breakfast is waiter service, which was nice,but I actually prefer a buffet breakfast as I like to take my time and read online papers and see all the different things available.

my only very minor criticism was that I could not find any hotel details in the room,reception phone numbers, what time for breakfast/dinner etc.

I would recommend this hotel, if you like a small beautiful hotel, where everyone knows your name, I thought it was great value for money I booked bed and breakfast and we had an afternoon high tea in our rate, which was very nice, and we had on the terrace overlooking the river, watching the world go by.

Also if you have a very early trip, ask for a breakfast box which you can pick up when you get the boat from reception.

my one bit of advice wold be to book the hotel car to pick you up from the airport, as hotel is not accessible by road, and I would think it would be confusing for a taxi,and It was only about £30, you are dropped by end of pier and the hotel car calls them to say you have arrived and they come and meet you on the pier, with cold towels and a cold drink, another very nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Seska,

Thank you very much for writing in such detail your experiences at our little boutique heritage hotel. We were also very excited to find your wallet as it was quite difficult to spot on the antique wooden floor of the restaurant.

The team member (Ms. Duen) who found your wallet has received our "Moment of truth Award" and she was very excited to have found it and able to return it to you...

Yes, we do indeed have a few steps but we also have rooms at ground level with garden entrance. Perhaps this would have been a better option for you as it does not require climbing any steps. We will make a note for your next visit.

The wedding was indeed a major success and the couple was really lovely and so sweet of them to invite you to join. They made an amazing video too, hope you had a chance to see it!

You made some good comments on the breakfast offer and although we won't be able to offer a buffet, we will be improving the service delivery, choices and options together with different ways to enjoy the breakfast so it is more convenient to read and relax whilst having breakfast. Thank you for pointing that out.

Another good comment is the in-room directory. This is something we also noticed when we took over the management this september and is high on our priority list. The new directory will also have a more improved tour and excursion component to it, complete hotel information and of course all important information and extension numbers with pre-programmed phone buttons. We also are developing a clever map with useful details for our guests to explore Bangkok without getting lost or at least, always find their way back!

Thank you for pointing out the airport transfer recommendations as we do agree, it could be hard to find the pier the first time and although we will have a dedicated space from the 1st of January 2013 at the pier, it is indeed better to have a driver who knows exactly where the location is.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to write such great detail and wish you many happy travels. Please do stay in touch and do drop by if you will be back in Bangkok sometime!

Warmest regards from our entire team!

Remon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you want to get away from the normal large and impersonal chain hotels and want a tranquil hideaway in a boutique hotel up the river from the noisy downtown then this is a gem not to be missed. After a busy siteseeing day this is a great oasis to escape to. With only 17 rooms it is in the style of a classy European architecture upmarket mansion. The pool area overlooking the river is delightful. There is a hotel boat that takes you to the other side of the river and the public wharf. If you have been to Bangkok before and want a new experience in this city then this is the place.

The friendliness of the staff is awesome although the service is a bit patchy at times but not enough to be annoying. The management take some untrained people from the nearby village and train them up so a bit of tolerance is needed when service falls down at times. A tip: the wooden floors in the rooms are a bit slippery so tread carefully, and not all rooms have showers.

But the way guests are treated is like staying at a goods friends home.

The food is very good with the dinner menu made up of dishes from historical recipes hard to find anywhere else in Bangkok. Also try the afternoon High Tea which s a treat.

Room Tip: Suggest you don't need to pay te extra for a deluxe room. There is no real advantage paying extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear (Oz)Allen,
It was truly lovely to meet you and your sister and thank you very much for your kind review and sharing your experiences. We really enjoyed having you with us and we hope you will come and check us out again in the future.
Thank you for sharing your comments about the slippery step and you are right, we are looking into a clever way to fix that step in front of the bath room as it is made from old wood and is polished. Rest assured this will be attended to as a top priority.
Our service is indeed still a bit patchy. We have recruited some new team members and we are doing full training programs for our team so we anticipate by December this year our service to be up a few levels. The team is really great though, hard working and very keen to ensure our guests have a great time but from time to time the English understanding is indeed not quite there yet.

Thank you for trying out our new "tapas" menu at the pool and it has proven to be really popular. We have just received some new wines too so we are very excited about this little new add-on.

Hope you had a safe travel and please do stay in touch and Hang and I both hope you will return and come and see us again here at the river. Warmest regards, Remon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#22 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#187 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#71 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurum The River Place
#292 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#406 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Property: Praya Palazzo
Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#171 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing