We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of calm”
Review of Praya Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Praya Palazzo
Ranked #255 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Haven of calm”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at Praya Palazzo for two nights at the end of a three week tour of Thailand. Not wanting to undo all of the hard earned relaxation of our holiday, I chose Praya Palazzo because of its promise as being, "ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life". And it didn't disappoint. It really is a haven of calm in the bustle of Bangkok. The only sounds that accompanied our sleep were the crickets and frogs calling from the gardens.

A serene atmosphere, beautiful rooms, lovely breakfasts and a private boat to take us to the east side of the river where many of Bangkok's main tourist attractions are within easy walking distance. The staff were discreet and extremely helpful too and continue to go beyond the normal duty of service to help me resolve an unrelated issue which transpired during our stay in the city. I can't commend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexjchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Alexjchilds,

It gives me great pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at Praya Palazzo. Our staff strive to make sure that every guest leaves with fond memories and I am very happy to read that they have managed to do so. I will be sure to share this with the team and thank them for a job well done.
Thank you for sharing your experience and encouraging travellers to come and visit us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warm regards

Sophie Couturier
General Manager
sophie@prayapalazzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    78
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
175
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Yorks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip and returned five weeks later at the end, for another two as we flew into and out of BKK. If I had not paid for all the nights together, I would not have come back.

Okay, positives first. The palazzo is a beautiful building, and the decor of the rooms and public rooms is in keeping with it's age and grand style. There are even information boards and photos showing how it looked when it was abandoned, and the painstaking work that has gone into restoring it, and exceeding it's former elegance.

Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and had the usual features that you would expect when you are paying over £90/$140 a night. A fridge, safe, hairdryer, AC, lovely view, shower, toiletries, great bed with luxury linen.
Breakfast was good - fruit salad, cereals, croissants, bacon, sausage, omelettes etc.

The staff were friendly and the pool was great; I had four long swims (over 60 lengths and never had to share it with anyone).

But, I wouldn't stay there again.
Why? Well, there's some basic issues that need sorting out.

I chose the hotel because it was something different - historic, the quirkiness of taking a boat as there is no road access - but that turned out to be a near disaster.
The boat seems to come and go at will, we were given a mobile to call the boat guys, and sometimes they'd be there in a few minutes, sometimes, over half an hour.

On the last day, we allowed an hour and a half from the quayside to get back to the hotel, have a shower and set off for the airport (ample time). Well, we called the hotel, saw the boat set off. Up the river. And disappear. Then it returned. To the hotel, and though we called and called, no one answered - we asked the staff at the hotel across the river to call up for us, which they did - but, hey, it's not their job - we ended up waiting an hour, when the boat came, we had time to throw our bags onto it, and go, tuk-tuk to the sky train and had to run to the front of all the aiport queues - we were the baddies at the aiport when you see a member of staff walking around with your name on and 'final call' printed on it, and being announced over the tannoy.We were minutes from missing our flight.
Just not good enough.

The boat should have some kind of timetable, and this needs to be implemented sooner than messing about with needless things like putting a orchid on your pillow each night, folding the leading edge of the toilet roll into your point (I mean, why?) and piping the breakfast butter into moulds and freezing them. Pretty, but unusable on toast for at least half and hour. Oh, and the first night, we had no hot water as it had not been switched on - and another night, when we arrived late (we had emailed two days before, so they knew) we could get absolutely nothing to eat - kitchen closed they said.

Stick to the east side of the river, where you can come and go as you please.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lady-Bettina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Lady-Bettina 1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay at Praya Palazzo. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the property, its heritage and facilities.

I am sorry to read that you encountered inconveniences though. It is a shame that you did not bring up the issues to me while at the property, when we still can try and fix them or at least make it right.
I also sincerely apologize that you almost missed your flight on your departure day. Although our boat picks up guests from 2 piers, (Phra Athit just across the hotel and Wat Rajathiwas up north after the Rama VIII Bridge), guests normally do not wait for more than 30 minutes. I am confident that this was an unfortunate one-off incident as our staff strive to accommodate our customers in a timely manner.
The great majority of our guests have a wonderful time with us but we did not live up to our reputation regarding your stay, and for this I am deeply sorry.

We are continuously working at keeping a high level of standard and I hope you can give us another chance should you return to Bangkok.
In the meantime, please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Sophie Couturier
General Manager
sophie@prayapalazzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Over the years I have stayed in most of the top hotels in Bangkok. The stay at the Praya Palazzo was to try something different. It did not disappoint. It is a gem; charming, comfortable, good food with highly attentive service. It is clearly very well managed . It is not ideal for a business visit, being only accesible by boat, but for anyone seeking a discerning break it would seem to be just the ticket.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Will K,

Thank you very much for choosing to try our hotel for your stay while in Bangkok. I am glad to read that a great time with us. Thank you also for recommending us to future travellers to Bangkok. Hoping to welcoming you again soon, please let me know if I may be of assistance to you for your next visit.
Warm Regards

Sophie Couturier
General Manager
sophie@prayapalazzo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent only 1 night here but we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very nice, the staff are very helpful, food is incredibly awesome.

This hotel offers a unique getaway in a big city like Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kesama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that your short stop at the hotel was an enjoyable one.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warm Regards

Sophie Couturier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

A really fantastic hotel unlike any other. This mansion is located walking distance to Khao San Road which is great for shopping and eating out but is very quiet and peaceful as it is located just on the other side of the river. Only accessible by boat the staff pick you up and drop you off to the other side of the river as many times as you like. The staff are extremely helpful, the food was excellent and high tea is a must there. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and there is also free wifi which we found quite useful as we needed to access the internet during our stay. We really enjoyed our stay at the Praya Palazzo as we found it very relaxing and comfortable and it was also convenient to go on outings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for such an enthusiastic review. We are delighted you had a great holiday while staying with us.
We are glad that you found our location and boat rides convenient and that you were happy with our service.
We look forward to your next visit. Don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Thanks again!

Warm Regards

Sophie Couturier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Praya Palazzo hotel early September, despite the bad weather this time of year we had a very nice stay in our suite. The hotel is located on the other side of the river so it's very peaceful and quite but not so far from a lot of tourist attractions.

It was a very different style of hotel that lives up to the category of "boutique". To get to the hotel they had a private boat pick us up and take us across to the river and vice-versa when we wanted to go out, that alone was a unique experience.

I highly recommend Praya Palazzo, it offers a luxurious unique get-away inside Bangkok but away from the hustle and bustle of this huge city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnC471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for this nice review, we are proud that you had a good stay and enjoyed the quietness of our location.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

In the meantime, I stay at your disposal for any further assistance.

Warm Regards

Sophie Couturier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We spent couple of days in this hotel. I have to say that there were nice people and good service. Rooms were clean but without space for using your notebook with some papers. There were not business lounge and the internet connection was horrible.

In spite of that the hotel competition in Bangkok is really strong the prices are too high and hotel level is average.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlado B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prayapalazzo, General Manager at Praya Palazzo, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Vlado_179,

Thank you very much for taking the time to fill in our questionnaire at the property and for this review.

While I am happy to read you appreciated our team and service, I am understand that you were disappointed with our business facilities. At Praya Palazzo, the team and I are committed to delivering exceptional service and providing a haven of peace and quiet to our guests. They come to us to visit the surrounding touristic sites and come back to a relaxing environment.

As you mention, we suit this clientele better and even if business people are always welcome, they will not find a business lounge and may prefer another hotel to get such services. However, our internet connection should be working well and I apologize that it was not the case during your stay. We have reviewed our network and set up since.

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations for this particular trip but hope you would come back for a leisurely stay.
In the meantime, please feel free to contact me for any further assistance.

Kind Regards

Sophie Couturier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#18 of 867 in Bangkok
1,709 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#174 of 867 in Bangkok
315 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#217 of 867 in Bangkok
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aurum The River Place
#282 of 867 in Bangkok
195 reviews
Banglamphu
Chakrabongse Villas
Chakrabongse Villas
#101 of 1,245 in Bangkok
133 reviews
Ibrik Resort by the River
#296 of 867 in Bangkok
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praya Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praya Palazzo

Property: Praya Palazzo
Address: 757 / 1 Somdej Prapinklao Soi 2, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#179 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Praya Palazzo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praya Palazzo is a stylish 17-room mansion with a rich historical background that offers a unique experience for the discerning travelers. Dating back to the ancient kingdom of Siam, the mansion is situated in the heart of Bangkok on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. Ideal for travelers who want to relax while enjoying city life in the oldest part of Bangkok, Praya Palazzo is in walking distance to many historical sites and attractions such as The Grand Palace, The Temple of the Emerald Buddha, Wat Arun (The Temple of Dawn), Chinatown, The National Museum, and Kao San Road just to name a few. Praya Palazzo brings back the sense and lifestyle of the King Rama V period, conveying authentic Thai culture through vision, taste, scent, rhyme and touch. We are proud to offer you personalized service with style but not snobbism, casual atmosphere but not neglect, high standards but not stiffness, simplicity and authenticity. We look forward to sharing with you the passion and love that allowed this residence to stand still today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praya Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praya Palazzo Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing