We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional service , great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Professional service , great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here for few days. We were really really disappointed that.......... we have to leave this wonderful hotel. Staff was so helpful always give a very warm smile to us. The breakfasts were great. Room was comfortable with very big bed. Overall , we were pleased with Focal Local B&F service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kengoi2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the impressive review. This little place will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
235
39
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Focal Local twice - and both times we had a beautiful room with enough space, a clean bathroom and a comfortable bed. The entire staff helped us greatly with all our enquiries in a perfect manner. The served breakfast was delicious, and the B&B is just a short walk from the MRT. The W-Lan service was excellent.

When we return to Bangkok - Focal Local will definitely be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EirikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us twice. It's our pleasure having you here and we're glad you enjoyed staying with us. This little house will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at Focal Local with my partner for six nights over two visits. I usually stay at Siam Square in Bangkok but chose this place for a change, with the aim of being more in the 'real' Bangkok. The staff are super helpful and friendly, particularly the manager Karan. They helped us with all of our queries and gave us some great tourist advice too.

The room was great, extremely clean and with good quality facilities. The room was on the small side, but fine for two people. It was a bit noisy during the day but to be expected based on the location. At night it was much quieter.

The location isn't perfect, although having looked at a map before arriving it was as expected. You can walk to the sky train in about 20 minutes and less to the river pier. Or Focal Local offer a free tuk tuk once per day to either destination. We ended up spending up to 400B per day on transport.

Breakfast was fantastic (we opted for Thai as per recommendations on Trip Advisor). Everything is cooked fresh and is delicious!

Would definitely recommend staying at Focal Local.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicfish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. We're glad you wanted to stay away from the centre for a change and were not disappointed. We'll look forward to seeing you again for your next Bangkok visit. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at focal local just for one night and was amazing, the staff is great and very helpful, the breakfast is one of the best dishes we had at bangkok. The location is good because you can get there by boat, taxi or subway. The neighborhood its full of small restaurants and its not the typical touristic place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monybilbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Even though you stayed only a night at Focal Local, we're glad you had a good time here. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The owner/staff really looked out for me. They provide a map w/nearby stores/night markets, local places to eat. Had an early flight back but they prepared a sandwich, coffee, juice for me to take along and also arranged for my cab ride.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THETONIWEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay here and you were happy to stay among real local neighbours. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Karan, the proprieter of Focal Local, is the best! He makes you feel like you are at his home rather than a hotel. His English is excellent, his advise on what to do and how to get around is detailed and right on the mark. When we arrived my husband was feeling ill, so I asked for Karan to microwave some water for me to make some instant soup. Not only did he heat the hot water I had brought down in a mug, but he also gave me a thermos filled with boiling hot water that we were able to use throughout the night! His expressions of concern were such a comfort to us. When we asked about what hospital to go to (if we would be in need of that) he even had good advice on which hospital spoke English, provided good service, was nearby and was reasonable in cost. After sleeping for two weeks on extra-hard Thai mattresses, the firm western mattress in our warm was welcomed greatly! The decor of our room was creative and inspiring. WiFi - great. We stayed in the Siamese room, which was in the front of the hotel. We could hear the street noise, but we also go to see the action of the neighborhood, which we enjoyed. The breakfasts were great. If we return to Bangkok, we will definitely be staying here again. Thank you, Karan, for providing a sweet spot of quiet in a bustling city.

Room Tip: Siamese room is on the street side so the street noise is present, but we enjoyed seeing the everyda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wife2SMIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you had a good time here, even though your husband was a bit sick. In addition, we're glad that the street noise didn't bother you much and you enjoyed seeing the local way of life through your windows. We'll look forward to seeing you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I traveled with my fiancé all over SEAsia- and when looking for places to stay in Bangkok, we were a little worried that this place wasn't in the "heart" of it all... We opted here though, for the price and the raving reviews.

The place is small enough and run by the owner himself and his parents- not outsourced. Due to this, he really does put his heart and soul into his work and is so unbelievably warm and hospitable- it truly is like staying with a friend. It's quiet- walkable to a small mall and little shops- They provide you a tuk-tuk ride once a day to either the river port or bts, I believe- although we just always went straight to the water taxi.

It is no giant hotel chain where you earn points and are treated with forced hospitality. It really is just a sweet little spot- truly in the "heart" of Bangkok. This experience is exactly why people fall in love with Thailand and its people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamies_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate knowing that you had a good time and felt like home at Focal Local. We'll do our best to keep it up. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,781 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 606 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing