We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I tend to veer away from the too touristy places and seek out places like these instead.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The owner/staff really looked out for me. They provide a map w/nearby stores/night markets, local places to eat. Had an early flight back but they prepared a sandwich, coffee, juice for me to take along and also arranged for my cab ride.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THETONIWEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay here and you were happy to stay among real local neighbours. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 458 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Karan, the proprieter of Focal Local, is the best! He makes you feel like you are at his home rather than a hotel. His English is excellent, his advise on what to do and how to get around is detailed and right on the mark. When we arrived my husband was feeling ill, so I asked for Karan to microwave some water for me to make some instant soup. Not only did he heat the hot water I had brought down in a mug, but he also gave me a thermos filled with boiling hot water that we were able to use throughout the night! His expressions of concern were such a comfort to us. When we asked about what hospital to go to (if we would be in need of that) he even had good advice on which hospital spoke English, provided good service, was nearby and was reasonable in cost. After sleeping for two weeks on extra-hard Thai mattresses, the firm western mattress in our warm was welcomed greatly! The decor of our room was creative and inspiring. WiFi - great. We stayed in the Siamese room, which was in the front of the hotel. We could hear the street noise, but we also go to see the action of the neighborhood, which we enjoyed. The breakfasts were great. If we return to Bangkok, we will definitely be staying here again. Thank you, Karan, for providing a sweet spot of quiet in a bustling city.

Room Tip: Siamese room is on the street side so the street noise is present, but we enjoyed seeing the everyda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wife2SMIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you had a good time here, even though your husband was a bit sick. In addition, we're glad that the street noise didn't bother you much and you enjoyed seeing the local way of life through your windows. We'll look forward to seeing you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I traveled with my fiancé all over SEAsia- and when looking for places to stay in Bangkok, we were a little worried that this place wasn't in the "heart" of it all... We opted here though, for the price and the raving reviews.

The place is small enough and run by the owner himself and his parents- not outsourced. Due to this, he really does put his heart and soul into his work and is so unbelievably warm and hospitable- it truly is like staying with a friend. It's quiet- walkable to a small mall and little shops- They provide you a tuk-tuk ride once a day to either the river port or bts, I believe- although we just always went straight to the water taxi.

It is no giant hotel chain where you earn points and are treated with forced hospitality. It really is just a sweet little spot- truly in the "heart" of Bangkok. This experience is exactly why people fall in love with Thailand and its people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamies_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate knowing that you had a good time and felt like home at Focal Local. We'll do our best to keep it up. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Focal Local for 4 nights at the start of our trip and 1 night at the end. We had originally booked a room at a bigger hotel across the river, but we are SO glad that we ended up staying here instead (after reading the excellent reviews). This place certainly lives up to the hype. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly - Karan responded promptly to our inquiries and made us feel very welcome, even over email! The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean (we stayed one night in the Yesteryears room and one night in the Siamese room), and the Thai breakfasts are amazing, always leaving us full well beyond lunch time. The wifi connection was also excellent.
As first-time travellers to Thailand we absolutely loved the location - a real Bangkok neighbourhood close enough to all the sights but out of the way of the touristy areas. We enjoyed strolling through the morning and evening markets in the local area and always felt very safe walking along the streets to come home at night. The free tuk tuk ride to the pier/train each day was also very handy.
We found that the map provided on Focal Local's website made it very easy for our taxi drivers to get us there - we had no trouble either of the two times we came by taxi from the airport.
Overall we had an amazing stay, and will certainly be back if ever we return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local instead of the big hotel. We're glad you were not disappointed and enjoyed your stay here. It's our pleasure being a part of your memorable holiday. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was so relieved to see this place, after a hectic morning in Bangkok it was exactly what I needed. The entire place is very cozy and quiet and the rooms thoughtfully decorated. It's located in a quiet alley in a part of Bangkok I would have normally skipped but would like to return to. The staff was extremely friendly and spoke great English, and supplied me with maps and directions to the local markets/shopping centers as well as anything else I asked about. I found my room to be very comfortable and slept well throughout the night. Breakfast here was delicious and one of the best I had on my trip!

One tip - be sure you are very thorough about getting directions or the address before you go to check in, my taxi drivers all had a very hard time finding it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeh50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local for your stay in Bangkok. We're really happy to know that you had a good time here and liked this part of Bangkok. Also thank you for the tip about getting the directions for taxi drivers, it will help other travellers. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are on our final day having stayed here just a couple of days but we could'nt have asked for a better place to stay. We arrived 2am and were greeted immediately with no fuss. Karan and his father Tom? both speak excellent English and were both extremely helpful and friendly. Being my first day ever in Thailand he gave us the information to confidently explore Bangkok by tuk tuk, ferry, boat, taxi and train. The thai breakfast is aroy mak (very tasty!) and cooked fresh. Karan even helped with having a shirt ironed before our night out. I would stay here again just because the staff are so welcoming helpful and friendly. 5 out of 5.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Stonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you very much. It's our pleasure having you here and knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. This little B&B will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived around midnight and were greeted at reception with tea and a smile. The front desk was fabulous about offering suggestions for places to visit, and areas to avoid. We felt like we were being wonderfully looked after at this guesthouse and are really glad we chose them as our guesthouse.

Room Tip: We were in Siamese room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad you were not disappointed and had a good time here. Hope you've arrived home with lots of good memories from this trip. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 731 in Bangkok
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Home Bangkok
#6 of 731 in Bangkok
383 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 731 in Bangkok
464 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#8 of 731 in Bangkok
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $57 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing