We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply georgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 741 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The managment and all another things like our Room "simply gorgeous"! Great people, great food, boat taxi and BTS are very clos. Managment werry helpful, arranged us a cheep Taxi to the Bus station for Kanchanaburi:)

Room Tip: Nice People and location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sygmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed everything at Focal Local. We'll keep up the good works. Hope you had a pleasant trip through Thailand. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 463 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed as a group of 3 couples for 2 nights for our quick Bangkok visit. Everything was amazing - coordination with Karan was very easy (we kept changing, adding more people, etc), rooms were cozy and comfortable, shower great, breakfast fresh and tasty. He also gave us great info how to see the city quickest way, where to eat and how to get everywhere. Also area is very authentic, exactly how we wanted it, we felt in the middle of real Bangkok and not touristic areas. It is very easy to get to center by boat after nice short walk to the boat station. I also got food poisoning during the flight and had to lay down for a day, so Karan asked to cook me white rice and toast and suggested electrolytes, which I had with me but didn't think of it. Very pleasant stay, will totally come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ella_g0ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. It's our pleasure having you all here. We appreciate knowing that you had a good time here and liked the area. I'm glad you recovered from the food poisoning quickly and still had time to explore Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here one night and really enjoyed our stay. Karan's dad greeted us and helped us settle in and then directed us to a wonderful restaurant around the corner from the hotel. We stayed in the Chic Suite which was tiny but cute and served its function perfectly. We enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and then we really appreciated the use of their phone as we had a minor emergency with our plane reservation and our cell phones could not call a local Thai number. Upon check-out, they efficiently arranged a tuk-tuk to take us to the BTS. Truly, we could not have asked for or needed anything more out of this charming Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us. Even though it was a short stay, but we're glad you had a good time here. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here for two nights after coming back from Vietnam. This is a lovely thai guesthouse located within walking distance to the BTS (tuk tuk service is provided by the hotel). Rooms are spotlessly clean and you feel like being a local (breakfast is basically thai). Still the main asset is the friendly manager who will go out of his way to direct you and help you navigate around. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssafos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay here and felt like being a local. That's our core concept :D We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

we stayed there three times within 5 weeks. this b&b has 7 rooms, every room is different, very stylish and super clean. for the breakfast you can choose between western and thai. food was excellent. what this place really makes out are the people working there. karan and his team are very kind and helpful with everything. rooms streetside can be a little loud in the morning. if you can choose take a room at the backside. small familiar place with a lot of charme. Excellent price/performance ratio. this is for people who don't like mainstream. thanks a lot, was a great stay. nathan&simona

Room Tip: "rooms at the back are a bit more quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boni1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us 3 times during your trip. It's our pleasure having you here. You're always welcome here for your next holiday in Thailand. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

First off, Asok is great! Actually, all the staff was fantastic! The breakfasts are delicious (my wife and I had the Thai meals each day), and they will get you tea, coffee, and the fruit juice of the day.
The rooms are simple- we stayed in Splash, and it was very simple yet comfortable. They took care of the room each day, and everyday ensured our stay was pleasant. This hotel feels like it is down an alley, but it is off a busy side street.
The things that were most excellent about this place - and why you would want to stay, too - is:
1. Friendly and helpful staff
2. Location - you are around the Thai people and their everyday life, not in a 25 story hotel like you'd have back home. This IS Thailand.
3. Location again - a 5 minute tuk-tuk ride or 20 minute walk to either the BTS or the Water taxi. VERY convenient- no need to stay in downtown Bangkok.

We enjoyed it, and if you aren't expecting the Shangri-La, InterContinental, Hilton, or luxury hotel, you'll enjoy it too!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay in the Splash room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaGenester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed staying in our little B&B surrounded by local neighbours rather than big hotels in town. Hope you've gone back home with memorable experience. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very clean, quiet, and modern rooms. Hearty and tasty breakfasts cooked by Karan himself. Beautifully decorated place with a lovely sitting area on the 2nd floor (make sure to check it out if your room is on the ground floor). Interesting location in a non-touristy part of town. (Visiting the major sites by longboat required an extra cross-river boat hop, but this added to your overall experience of Bangkok.) A lot nearby including a great little massage place, markets, and local eateries. Above all, warm hospitality from the hosts and staff. Once we asked to borrow a knife after buying a large papaya from the market-instead, they offered to do it for us and had it sent to our room all neatly cut up and arranged on a plate with pick-forks. Thank you to Karan and his Dad and aunt, and all the staff at Focal Local for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeypapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure having you and your family here. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed exploring Bangkok like locals. Hope you've arrived home with lots of memorable experiences. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#2 of 741 in Bangkok
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Home Bangkok
#4 of 741 in Bangkok
388 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 741 in Bangkok
475 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#8 of 741 in Bangkok
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 741 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $55 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing