We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 755 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very clean, quiet, and modern rooms. Hearty and tasty breakfasts cooked by Karan himself. Beautifully decorated place with a lovely sitting area on the 2nd floor (make sure to check it out if your room is on the ground floor). Interesting location in a non-touristy part of town. (Visiting the major sites by longboat required an extra cross-river boat hop, but this added to your overall experience of Bangkok.) A lot nearby including a great little massage place, markets, and local eateries. Above all, warm hospitality from the hosts and staff. Once we asked to borrow a knife after buying a large papaya from the market-instead, they offered to do it for us and had it sent to our room all neatly cut up and arranged on a plate with pick-forks. Thank you to Karan and his Dad and aunt, and all the staff at Focal Local for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeypapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure having you and your family here. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed exploring Bangkok like locals. Hope you've arrived home with lots of memorable experiences. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 476 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Loved staying here :-)

Staff: the staff make this place! They are so helpful and willing to help you in any way!

Rooms: The rooms were nice and spacious. Large bed, hot shower, and AC!

Location: The Focal Local is pretty far away from downtown Bangkok. This wasn't a problem for us because we had a guide pick us up and drop us off. I think they give you a free tuk tuk ride to public transportation, so you can always use that. Also, we had a great time walking down the street visiting local massage places (1 hr for only $6) and wandering around!

Breakfast: Each morning we had a great breakfast! It includes coffee or tea, amazing juice, and your choice of a western or thai meal. I would def choose the thai breakfast every time!!! So delicious!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NextVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed staying with us and found the location was not a problem. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

It is one thing to say that the rooms at Focal Local were imaginatively decorated, the breakfast choices ample and delicious and the expert travel assistance readily available (all true!) but our stay was so much more. Focal Local was like being home. Karan, his Dad and his aunt and all staff truly cared for us during our recent 4 night stay. Smiles and help were always available in answer to our many questions. A birthday cake was prepared for my husband as a special surprise. Rooms were found for us when our flight home was cancelled due to poor USA weather. We loved the neighborhood location and found the commute to the river transportation or sky train to be a non-issue. This B&B is a first class operation. Congratulations Focal Local and thank you.

Room Tip: all outstanding- we stayed in 3- noise a non-issue with air conditioning running on low
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hovancsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you've arrived home well after unpleasant weather in the States. It's our pleasure having you all here. You made this little B&B lively. We'll look forward to seeing you again some day. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well, where do I start.. 
Karan, we are very thankful to you & your staff for making our stay in Bangkok a wonderful experience. Apologies for a late review though.
As usual, I booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews/rating & it was worth the research/reading!. Karan made our stay/travel in Bangkok very delightful & easy.
They serve breakfast every morning & that’s another “filling” experience in itself!. We were there for 3 days & enjoyed every bit of hospitality they could offer.
Karan/staff arrange a tuk tuk ride (one per day) to get you to either ferry/metro stations & it’s a good gesture, big value add
Make sure to ask Karan’s recommendations regarding sightseeing/ markets. We visited some of the places based on his suggestions & would have missed those if not him. So sit with him & plan you day trips.
It’s a small boutique/guesthouse, so you will get individual attention unlike a big hotel/chains. You will need this if you are a first timer or if you are travelling without any guide/group.
Highly recommended place & people, would definitely visit/stay next time in Bangkok.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, have a theme/color based
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shree81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It's never too late, all reviews are important for us. Your enjoyable stay will keep us going. We're gald to be a part of your memorable trip in Bangkok. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After an overnight train ride which broke down and arrived several hours late to Bangkok it was a delight to arrive at Focal Local. I loved the location and spent my first evening just wandering around the side alleys and checking out a local veggie restaurant that the staff recommended. Your offered a free tuk tuk to the rive or BTS station but honestly I walked to both and found it no distance. After wandering to the main tourist area of Bangkok I was even more happy with my choice to stay at Focal Local. The design of the hotel is really great, each room having it's own theme. Breakfast was fantastic every morning choice of western or local food. Lots of fresh fruit and water on offer. The staff were welcoming and smiling all the time and very helpfully with directions and advice. Next time I'm in Bangkok I will definitely try and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliodhnaZtoical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. It's our pleasure having you here. We're glad you were not disappointed and enjoyed staying with us. We'll look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kob Kun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I would recommend this place to people who want to stay in a more local Bangkok style. The surrounding neighbourhood does not have many tourist attractions but you see how Bangkok-ers live, eat and play. You won't get hassled for tuk-tuks or ping-pongs shows.
I would not recommend it to younger crowds looking for parties. I also would caution those wanting to trek through Bangkok as you are further from the city centre from other accommodations. It is a fifteen walk to the river pier but the B&B will offer a complementary tuk-tuk to the sky train or river pier.
The room itself - yesteryears- was great, albeit, somewhat noisy at night and early in the morning.
The owner and staff were wonderful. They were informative and gave us advice for our ongoing adventures.They send an email postcard which is great. The breakfast was tasty, not a large portion, but tasty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you had a good time here and got the core concept of Focal Local, which is being away from busy city life. However, you still can reach many attractions by river boats and Skytrain. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Focal Local for 4 nights to discover Bangkok.
Yes, the place is not very close to the tourist attractions, but these spots are easily reached by boat or skytrain (and we don't understand the complaints about this, because you know where the hotel is when you book it... right?).

We slept in two rooms: Yesteryears and Simply Gorgeous. Both rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Yesteryears was bigger than Simply Gorgeous, however there was more noise in the Yesteryears room coming from outside. The staff was very friendly and helped us with all sorts of questions. The Thai style breakfast was the best we had in Thailand. We would definitely recommend this B&B!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mariekehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you very much for staying at Focal Local. We really appreciate knowing that you enjoyed every aspects from location, rooms, breakfasts and service. Your satisfaction is a great fuel for us to run this little B&B. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again in the future. Kob Khun Krub :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#2 of 755 in Bangkok
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 755 in Bangkok
487 reviews
W Home Bangkok
#6 of 755 in Bangkok
390 reviews
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#15 of 755 in Bangkok
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 755 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $56 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing