We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smiley”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely, kind people here. Beautiful room and swish bathroom. Only in Bangkok for one night but would definitely return to Focal Local.
Very helpful with directions. Didn't use it but they offer free transport to sky train.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scriggledriggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Focal Local. Even though it was short, but we're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope we'll have a chance to accommoddate you again in the future. Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    60
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
243
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here in the summer of 2012 with my girlfriend and I must say that the place exceeded my expectations, the hotel is small and well kept, the food was very good and freshly cooked every day, the rooms were clean and the stuff friendly, and I must say that it was also cheap to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your time writing a review for us. Please be reminded that you're always welcome here for you next holiday in Bangkok. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHITEHORSE
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose to stay at Focal Local based on the reviews we saw on trip advisor and were so pleased that we did. The map and instructions provided to get us to the B&B from the airport were excellent and we arrived at a time in the evening that made for a very fast journey indeed - I can't quite recall what the fair was but it was less than 400baht including the 50 baht extra for tolls. The location is down a small Soi in a local area which was perfect for us. We were met with a refreshing glass of iced lemon grass juice and promptly checked in to the SPLASH room which we loved. This is a quiet room tucked in at the back of the B&B. It was plenty big for us with good storage space and a fridge that had cold water in it. The B&B is kept extremely clean but the best thing about it is the exceptional service and friendliness of the family running it. Karan and his father are so deeply kind and helpful and they went out of their way to help us settle into our trip to Thailand. There is a small but quite good morning market just a couple hundred meters from the B&B where we got the best deals of our entire trip to Thailand - in hindsight I wish we went there more and picked up all the items we thought we'd see again some place else - because in many cases we didn't see them again. The breakfasts were simply amazing - terrific presentation and substantial enough that they kept us going all day - we often just drank cold drinks because we weren't hungry through the day and it was very hot. TukTuk or taxi is quite affordable to get to many local sites or just to get you to the BTS to start your day. We highly recommend going to "The Artists House" which is near by (70 - 100 Baht by taxi). We loved it so much that we went there twice and Karan was very helpful in flagging down a taxi and giving them instructions so that we could get there. I had THE BEST THAI MASSAGE of our trip near by this B&B at a place called CMK or MBK or something similar - hopefully Karan can give you the exact name and location as I told him about it after visiting. I received a number of massages during our 3 week stay in Thailand and nothing compared to this place that I believe primarily has local clientel - terrific pricing too at 200 Baht from a 1 hour massage - it's a proper Thai Massage. We took advantage of many of the local shops and my daughter got a fantastic hair cut including wash, head massage cut, dry and straight iron for 200 Baht. I think by now you are getting the idea that staying in a local area reeps many benefits and in particular you will pay local prices for food, services and market items. We would stay here again in a heart beat - it was by far the best service we received during our stay in Thailand. If you plan to venture out to Kanchanaburi from Bangkok it is easy to get a taxi to the train station and pay 100 Baht for the trip to Kanchanaburi - also highly recommended. I really just can't say enough good things about our stay at Focal Local - after travelling on planes for 22 hours it was wonderful to arrive in a hassle free place and receive so much assistance. There is no doubt our stay here set us up for the most wonderful trip in Thailand - we'll be back in 2015!!!! One word of caution - we spent a day at Chatuchat market thinking it would be the nirvana of market shopping - it wasn't. It's overpriced and the vendors really aren't all that interested in dealing with the farangs - taxis and tuktuks try to rip you off but BTS is right there - I'm glad we went but be warned there are much better deals out there at markets - go to the local morning market first to get an idea what's what.

Room Tip: Send an email to the owners to ask about the rooms to find the one that suits you best. They all lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Focal Local and for your time writing the detailed review here.
We really appreciate knowing that you had a good time at Focal Local and preferred local lives in this area. Please note that you're always welcome at this little homey B&B. See you in 2015. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very small, but clean and lovely. They draw some very funny and interesting pictures in the room, ;-) you'll see if you are there. The surrounding is really local Bangkok, you'll find local food and market nearby. The crew is very friendly, you'll be good friend with the keeper Karan, he will patiently tell you where to go and where will be fun. He always wrote lovely notes for taxi driver and bus drivers. BTW, the food there is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuyuntao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much. We're glad making your stay enjoyable. This little B&B will always welcome you for your next Bangkok visit. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our host opened the door for us after midnight on our late arrival from Chiang Rai. This B and B appealed because of the homelike feel and the friendliness of the staff. Located in the suburbs but close to the river there was a feeling of being in the "real" Bangkok. The rooms are clean and well serviced but are a little small.
Breakfast was of a Thai persuasion and delicious. Served with fresh juice, fruit and a rice dish different each morning.
Our young host on the day shift answered all our questions about local tours and attractions. I particularly enjoyed his pointing which exits to take on the Sky Train and what alleys to cut through. This little pointers made a huge difference in our stay.

Room Tip: We changed rooms for the last night and got one of the rooms beside the road. It was noisier due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BisoninExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad you were not disappointed, but enjoyed your stay here. We're having a plan to renovate the rooms and make them bigger. We'll look forward to welcoming you again with our more comfortable room next time. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 3 perfect days in Focal Local.

IMPORTANT: Make a foto of the adress IN THAI. So taxi drivers will find it faster ;) (Cost around 40THB from Skytrain station). Only take taxis and ask them to turn on the taxi meter, if they don't want to, take another one. Tuc Tucs are for tourists and cost normally much more!

The rooms are nice painted and have everything you need.
Staff helps you with all questions and even supports you planning daytrips.
We paid around 5000THB for 3 nights, what is a verry good price for such a good location.

Many thanks again FOcal Local Team; it was a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudito-Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review with useful tips for other travellers. Your compliment is a great encouragement and will keep us working better. Kob kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Focal Local. The staff were incredibly helpful, thoughtful and hospitable. We arrived at 1am and the owner was there to greet us with cold tea, a map and was willing to answer any questions we had at that time!

The room was impeccably clean and the breakfast (which is included in the price) was very nice. We found some very good local food restaurants about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. They were very good and very cheap. We also hopped on the metro and the ferry taxis - all about a 10 min walk from Focal Local. There is also a more upscale night market nearby (10 mins by taxi).

We received a lot of helpful tips from the staff. It was a great place to start our trip to Thailand.

Thank you Focal Local!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 863KarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local to be the first stop for your Thailand trip.
It's our pleasure having you here. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 861 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 861 in Bangkok
8,187 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 650 in Bangkok
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing