We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trieste
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The place to stay!!!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hi to everybody who are reading!
My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights, at the end of January. We felt like at home!
All the staff have been professional, friendly, willing to help us in any case.
The location is good, in a safe area.
The staff of B&B provide to call and pay the tuk tuk one a day to give you the best service to reach the sky train station to reach the centre of Bangkok.
The breakfast......amazing, delicious!
The last day we were there, we had the flight at 2pm, we were all the day around the city, walking a lot and sweating a lot. Well, the receptionist gave them the possibility to have a shower, anyway if we hadn't a room, using their bathroom!!!!
We suggest to everybody the Focal Local B&B!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Elegant, comfortable, clean, quiet....amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silatkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you've arrived home well with lots of good memories about Thailand. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
239
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

First of all, Focal Local is unique as its name.Its rooms are tastefully done according to its names.The basic amenities are very well provided.You have hot water, a/c, mini fridge,TV,wardrobe space all available.The location of this place is in a very residential area and there is atms, 7-eleven,eateries and train station all very nearby.Our stay there for over 6 days was well spent and after soaking wet in the bangkok heat, I really looked forward to coming home, ie Focal Local.Its clean, maintained by a small group of people.The management(which includes, Karan, his dad and Ms Song) is very upto date with tourist info and hospitality skills.Karan is also a good chef, since he makes the breakfast everyday for us and it was the best meal of the day! So over all, Focal Local, is ur ideal backpacker place to relax, unwind,eat, chill and get ready for your bangkok's innumerable travel trips.Oh almost forgot, it has wifi and a general computer too...So kudos to Karan and entourage for maintaing the standards and having gives us a good and peaceful time during our visit.

Room Tip: Choose yesteryears room or Siamese,i reckon its a bit not so noisy but all rooms are glass panelled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Focal Local twice on your trip. It's our pleasure having you here and I'm gald you loved Focal Local and felt like home. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My mother and I stayed here on the tail end of our trip around Thailand. We stayed for 4 nights while traveling in and around Bangkok. The B&B is small, with a very personal feel! Karan and staff are informative and friendly and willing to help in any way while you are planning your days.

Some might say that being away from the "action" is a negative but we both felt it was a bonus for the location. The small road outside is loaded with placed to buy snacks, eat and had the feel of being in the middle of a Thai neighborhood. The trip to the BTS was not far and Karan provided a free Tuktuk to the BTS or the Central Pier. Either of these can get your to all the best placed to visit in Bangkok.

The breakfast was amazing! We both went Thai breakfast each day which included things like fried rice with shrimp or noodles or a thin egg omelet filled with pork with rice on the side. Breakfast came with tea/coffee and juice and was followed up with a plate of fruit. Karan also offered to pack us a breakfast for the days we set out before 7am.

No complaints whatsoever about this stay! Karan even got up on the morning we left and 3:30am!! to wish us well and make sure the taxi was on time.

Amazing place and would stay here again and again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Focal Local to accommodate you at the end of your Thailand trip. We're glad you enjoeyd your stay here. Hope you will be back home with lots of good memories about Thailand. We'll look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recommend this small hotel very much. This hotel is located in a very nice local area near the skytrain. Everything you want to see you can reach from here. We’ve just stayed here for one night during our last night, but when we come back to Bangkok we definitely come back here. The staff is really nice. They help you with everything, even printed our boarding passes, and the breakfast is great too! The rooms all have a different style and are very beautiful, nice and clean. The bathroom is very luxury!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local. We're glad to be the last stop for you to rest before flying back home. Your review brings a great power to our team. Hope to see you again next time. Kon Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a nice small place to stay - excellent if you are fed up with the faceless hotels.

Things I liked - friendly and helpful reception / owners; good tasty breakfast; clean and comfortable rooms; good wifi; computer for guest use in the 'lobby'; interesting neighbourhood with a variety of restaurants a short walk (10-20 mins) away; toilet off the lobby which you can use if you arrive early (before check in), or if you come back later after check out; one free tuk tuk ride per day; free welcome drink.

Things which could make it a 5 star - hot water with tea / coffee available in the lobby; the TV channels were rubbish -maybe have a DVD library for guests?

Things that they can't change, but you should be aware about - while in the evening and at night the road outside is quiet, in the morning 'rush hour' there is quite a lot of traffic which can be noisy. The neighbourhood was a plus point for me,but for some people it would be too local with not enough English speaking friendly places nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I love the way you put clear plus side and the drawbacks. It helps other travellers to picture Focal Local and the area. Your recommendations are very important for us. All in all, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we'll have a chance to serve you again. Cheers :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this B&B based on its ranking and other reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. It is in a perfect location, just out of the city centre in an area with a less touristy feel but is still just a short tuk tuk or taxi ride away from all the major attractions.

Karan was very friendly and helpful, giving us a map, tips on places to eat and things to do. A free tuk tuk ride is also provided each day with your stay, Karan will flag it down and tell the driver where to take you. He also gave us a piece of paper with the address on the B&B in Thai; very handy for non English speaking taxi drivers, and even the ones who did speak English!

The rooms are fairly small but are clean, nicely decorated and seem fairly recently renovated. The air con worked well which is more than some other places on our travels. Free wi-fi is also provided as well as free use of their computer with Internet.

For breakfast there were 2 options: Thai breakfast (noodles with chicken which doesn't sound like breakfast but was very nice) or a more standard breakfast of toast and eggs. Tea and Orange juice were also good.

We stayed for 2 nights either side of a trip to Koh Samet and were looking forward to heading back to The Focal Local after our first visit!

One thing I would say, when I booked the room online I paid 900 baht for a taxi from the airport to the B&B (around £18) which I thought was good as it was about an hour away but the taxi back to the airport after our stay was less than half that price so might be better to arrive at the airport with the address and possibly a map with the location marked and jump in a taxi. You must ensure that they start the meter running though else they will make up a fare which could be a lot higher! This is the case whenever you get a taxi in Bangkok. Karan will advise you on things like this and will also call a taxi from the B&B and make sure the meter is on before you set off.

Thanks again to Karan for a pleasurable stay and we will definitely be staying at The Focal Local if we go back to Bangkok.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review with useful information for other travellers. It was nice accommodating you here. We'll look forward to welcoming you again. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I do not use this term lightly, this B and B is amazing. The hotel staff were just fantastic and the rooms were gorgeous. The bed was so clean and comfortable (which is not easy to find in south east asia) in a quiet location of Bangkok.The room was kept extremely clean, you can tell the staff take and enormous amount of pride in their guest house.
Reasonably central to most of the sights and areas, the guest house provided a complementary tuk tuk every morning to either the train station or to the pier for a river boat ride.
The breakfast was amazing, yet one morning we had to leave at 6:30am for a tour to the tiger temples. The hotel staff said unfortunately we would miss breakfast due to how early we were leaving... to our surprise we found a bag packed with sandwiches and orange juice on our bed that night with a note saying 'enjoy your trip to the tiger temple, we have packed breakfast for you'
I have never experienced such hospitality and comfort as I have at the Focal Local.
Thank you so much for making our stay so special!
Love from Jonathon and Lauren

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Focal Local and for your review here. It's our pleasure to accommodate you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Focal Local. Your compliment is valuable and it keeps us moving. Kob Kun Krub :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,044 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
W Home Bangkok
#3 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Property: Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local b&b
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing