We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweseme stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 733 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Planned a last minute 2 day layover in bkk and just followed tripadvisor's advise. Were happy we did. Awesome stay, would certainly recommend! They could not have been any nicer! Not right at all the attractions but the tuk tuk and very helpf staff make up for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xhuxhmaxhuxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thanks a lot for the review and for choosing Focal Local. We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay here. We will look forward to seeing you again. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 459 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and did enjoy this B&B for the most part. Our room ("Yesteryears") was nice and the Thai breakfast was yummy. The staff was nice and friendly and the 1 free tuk-tuk ride each day was a nice gesture. But I do think that it's a little bit expensive for what you get, and it is pretty far away from Bangkok's tourist attractions. While some people might like to be a bit off the beaten track and away from touristy areas, I prefer being more in the center of things.
So while there is no denying that this is a very pleasant B&B, I will probably chose to stay somewhere else the next time I'm in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahkg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you very much. It's our pleasure having you stay with us and knowing that you enjoyed your stay here. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Being nervous of visiting Thailand and especially Bangkok for the first time we looked at many of the reports on Tripadvisor and other booking websites about experiences at many chain hotels and were truly shocked at what we read. So we changed our strategy as follows: 1/ rank the B&Bs, guest houses and boutique hotels by Tripadvisor member recommendations, 2/ review the comments esp. 'Poor' and 'Terrible' (if any), 3/ email the accom. from their own website re: availability, and then 4/ book accordingly.

Using this we came across three absolute gems - all family run - each in a real local safe Thai neighbourhood area: Focal Local in Bangkok; Subuy Guest House in Chiang Mai; and Baan Kao in Bangkok. At all three we experienced true Thai hospitality.

For Focal Local we noticed that this was voted Tripadvisor Best for 2012; it was situated in a safe 'local neighbourhood' area of old Bangkok; it was relatively near a Skytrain station at Krung Thon Buri / Krung Thonburi; and importantly they could arrange a pickup by limo. from the Airport so that we didn't have to worry about the unpleasant taxi scams that we had so widely read about.

So we emailed them and got an immediate reply saying that they had reserved the room 'Splash' for us whilst requesting a 10% deposit by Paypal. That was fine and we booked our first night's stay there.

After a long over-night flight we arrived at Bangkok Airport, and after being surprised that our luggage actually arrived and unscathed too we negotiated the huge and crowded Arrivals area, went outside and quickly saw my name displayed on a board for our pickup. Very efficient. But it took over an hour to get into Bangkok proper - the traffic (and fumes) were horrendous.

When we got to the Guest House it was a short way up a side road surrounded by little shops, houses, and street vendors. A real Thai 'local neighbourhood.' We were greeted immediately by the owner and given a refreshing ice-cold herbal drink. Then we were shown up to our room 'Splash.'

The room was literally decorated or rather the back wall was painted in lurid 'splashes' of multi-coloured paint. There was a fridge with complementary bottles of water. The shower was built in to a corner of the room - but this was no inconvenience to us. The bed was comfy, especially after the sleeper-seats in Club Class.

Outside the rooms on the first floor we found a small patio with a cascading water feature. It was very restful to just sit there and meditate.

That evening we went for a walk around the area and felt entirely safe (except for some potentially rabid feral dogs - but these are actually everywhere in Bangkok). But we got caught in a monsoon rain storm and so quickly bought some snack food at the local 7-Eleven (very cheap), and retired for the night.

Breakfast was an interesting mixture of Thai fruits and English cuisine. Their poached eggs on toast were to die for - delicious!! They even managed a proper pot of English Breakfast tea for my companion.

That day they let us leave our luggage safely at the hotel whilst we explored Bangkok. The free tuk-tuk to Krun Thornburi Skytrain Station was useful - our first tuk-tuk ride!! But the walk to / from the Station is actually not that long via the backstreets.

That night we were booked to take train 51 to Chiang Mai to work as volunteers at Lek's Elephant Nature Park for abused elephants; so we took the MRT (Metro) to Hua Lamphong Railway Station to suss out how the sleeper train services worked.

When we returned to collect our luggage they gave us a drink to start us on our way. And then they called a taxi for the Station.

So staying at Focal Local was THE most perfect beginning to our adventurous first time to Thailand.

P.S. We wanted to stay at Focal Local again on our way home, but they were fully booked. However they had remembered our request and sent us an e-card to say "sorry that there had not been any cancellations." But what great customer service!!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated - that's the fun of staying here!! But see the website if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your time writing a detailed review for us. We sincerely appreciate it. We're also gald that you felt comfortable and safe at Focal Local. Hope you had a wonderful trip through Thailand and we wish we would have a chance to accommodate you agin in the future. Kob Kun Krub :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

the guesthouse has a very nice and warm atmosphere. the rooms are very nicely equipped.
the reception and staff are very friendly, kind and helpful. the location is a good alternative to the more touristic parts of the city. recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_A00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much. We'll keep up our good works. Hope to see you again. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay at Focal Local was the perfect way to start our month-long trip of South-East Asia. The whole experience was a delight, from the initial emails sent to and from the lovely Karan, to waving goodbye as we were - reluctantly - heading off to the next destination. Fantastic location, within walking distance of both the BTS and ferry stops (or a free tuk-tuk ride per day if you don't feel like walking!) in a real Bangkok neighbourhood, lovely foyer and room, awesome and powerful air-con, excellent breakfast, and lovely staff. My partner and I are vegetarian, so not only did they prepare us a special & delicious vegetarian breakfast, Karan went out of his way to recommend a vegetarian restaurant a few minutes walk away that was fantastic. Any queries we had about things to see and how to get there he was more than happy to help with, don't hesitate to ask! Thank you to Focal Local, we will be back.

Room Tip: The yesterdays room is gorgeous with cute retro fittings, on the ground level if you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing lots of lovely pictures at Focal Local. We really appreciate making the begining of your long trip enjoyable. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Kob Kun Krub :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I are nearly 60 and stayed 2 nights in this wonderful lttle Band B.It is situated away from the tourist traps in the Thonburi area close to the river and the main Temples.It is right amongst the local families and their daily lives.If you like an authentic experience this is the place,Tuk Tuks.food stalls everywhere,the staff are very friendly and Karan gave us great ideas to explore Bankok everyday.We had a real Thai massage ,the best so far and discovered an upmarket restaurant on the river which was world Class. You have a choice of Thai or traditional eggs for breakfast which was delicious.My wife and I have travelled the world extensively and highly recommend this quaint and well managed establishment

Room Tip: We had the living nature room overlooking a lane way with the Bangkok life in full swing,great airco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pav54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Focal Local. We're very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here and loved the real local touch in this area. Your happiness keeps us moving. Hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again. Take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are two middle aged ladies who travelled in Thailand in September/October and came to this B and B as it was so highly recommended. We were bitterly disappointed. The staff were not the kind friendly family we expected to see, the service from the staff who were occasionally there was very average, the room was clean but featureless, and had a terrible outlook over a somewhat skanky alley. Our English breakfast consisted of a fried hard egg on one slice of toast with a glass of orange and some pineapple, hardly inspiring... The hot water in the shower was cold, the directions given to us to visit the Flower Market were so out of whack that we got lost, and on one occasion when we went to reception to ask a question the lady behind the counter did a runner and after a five minute wait someone else appeared. All in all, we cannot figure out how this place got such great reviews. We gave this B and B two stars. One for cleanliness, the other for the free tuk tuk ride to the pier.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you very much for your time writing a review for us. I’m sorry that our place extremely disappointed you. However, it’s good for us to hear another perspective from travelers like you. In addition, it would help other travelers to know that our service was average and our rooms have terrible skanky alley view from your point of view. Moreover, it helps us to communicate with the travellers that we normally serve Thai food for breakfast. While you decided not to have it, we tried our best to make a fried hard egg with “2” slices of toasts actually. I also have to apologise that we didn’t get a chance to explain to you that the button on the water heater machine is used for adjusting the level of the heat of water (the rain shower from another valve only makes cold water).
Regarding your excursion, we recommended you a number of attractions and was told that you’ve been to most of them (I guess you’ve been travelling in Bangkok for days), so we came up with the flower market. Unfortunately you got lost, we will consider giving more detailed directions to other guests next time. All in all, we appreciate knowing that you’ve given 2 stars for our cleanliness and the free Tuk Tuk ride to the pier. We’re truly happy for you that you booked and stayed with us only for a night, so you didn’t have to suffer from staying in a place you didn’t like. We hope Focal Local was the only disappointment in your trip and you enjoyed all other things in our beloved country. All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 733 in Bangkok
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Home Bangkok
#6 of 733 in Bangkok
383 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 733 in Bangkok
464 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#8 of 733 in Bangkok
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $58 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing