We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Focal Local Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in a really well run B&B away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The rooms were very clean and well decorated, the bed very comfortable, the food was delicious, and the service was great. Karan really makes the place very special - he seemed to be a step ahead of us with planning. He would have tuk tuks and taxis waiting when we came down and when we were leaving he had arranged taxi pick-up at the right time without us asking.

The reason I only gave it a four star is the location. The hotel is a bit far from all the main attractions. The hotel pays for tuk tuk to the sky train one time a day. Once a the sky train, it took us 10 minutes via sky train to get to Saim Square, and it was a bit longer to the Sunday market and the other attractions. The riverfront attractions are very close. For us it was not a big issue on most nights, we did not mind the extra time getting from the B&B to the attractions around the city. And although the location is a little far, it was nice to come back to a peaceful area of town

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It's our pleasure to hear that even though we're not in the centre of Bangkok, but you still enjoyed the area with local touch away from hustle and bustle Bangkok. We look forward to seeing you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 454 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed in focal Local, in middle December for two days and we had a great time. the hotel is stylish, clean and the location is great. don't miss the breakfast and don't leave Focal Local without trying the great massage next door. Karan, thank you for everything, we are expecting you in Greece.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Thank you so much. We really appreciate being a part of your memorable holiday in Thailand. See you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've stayed many places, but few as memorable as focal local. Karan the owner is the most pleasant guy and willing to help you in any way he can. The breakfast is always very special and the rooms each have their own unique decor. He takes an interest in all his guests and you meet people at breakfast every morning from all over the world. If you're looking for having the sense of being in Bangkok and not just another cookie cutter place, this is the one. I booked the place with friends who stay at fancy hotels and now they are convinced of the pleasures of staying at a small place.You'll love it and when in Bangkok I will always stay here.

Room Tip: Ask Karan for local food recommendations. Take the water local boats on the river for about 50 cents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventurersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Thanks a lot. We are so glad that our little Focal local is being a part of your memorable trip in Bangkok.....All the best :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was really impressed by this family-run bed and breakfast. It is a small B&B, but each of the rooms are decorated with a certain theme. I stayed in the Siamese room which was decorated Thai style. In the morning, Karan and his family make a delicious homemade breakfast for you. The B&B itself is down an alley off a larger street. Look for the 7 Eleven. I didn't think the traffic noise outside the B&B was a problem at all. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the breakfasts are great!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Thanks a lot. I hope we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have stayed in Focal Local on our first two days in Bangkok and it was a stay beyond any expectation. The neighborhood it is located is just perfect for travellers looking the genuine side of the city they visit, though it has very easy connection to any part of Bangkok you want to visit, because of the skytrain which is just a three minutes tuk-tuk ride away. The hotel except from its wonderful decoration is impecably clean featuring comfortable beds and even bathroom amenities amd slippers. Don't miss the massage next door, which we found one of the best we had during our one month trip in Thailand and don't miss the delicious home cooked Thai breakfast. Although we were not big fans of Thai cuisine, the breakfast was delicious. a very special thanks to wonderful Karan for his help, kindness and useful advise for anything we would ask. We would never think staying in a different place in Bangkok. Karan and all the team at focal local you are AMAZING !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaSardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

We really appreciate making your enjoyable stay in Bangkok. We'll look forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Focal Local is an absolute gem!We stayed here twice, when we flew into Bangkok in June it was the only place we had booked on our three month trip through southeast Asia and it was the best place we stayed. We flew out of Bangkok and made sure we could stay at Focal Local again on our way home in August. The location was great, we were surrounded by local businesses and markets and close to the train and ferry stations. The atmosphere and decor was excellent, a small seven room building with individually themed rooms-we stayed in the Siam room which was beautiful, clean and had an awesome rain head shower. Next door is a Thai massage place that I made sure to go to every morning-the perfect way to start your day! A couple doors down is an amazing spot run by a husband and wife for the best Tom Yum and Won Ton soup for lunch. Karan, the owner of Focal Local is an incredibly warm and honest person- we are so lucky to have met him! He really made our trip special. He is a great cook and makes delicious breakfasts of fried rice and cashew chicken. He gave us advice about how to get places and where to go without any pressure or commissions. My boyfriend had been to Bangkok about seven years ago and stayed on Khao San Road and was honestly dreading going back to Bangkok but Karan and Focal Local made it so enjoyable we ended up staying there for almost a week in total! Focal Local is affordable and has great value- plus you are supporting a local business! The other plus is that other than the guests of Focal Local you will see very few other foreigners and travelers in the area, mostly just friendly locals. Staying at Focal Local and meeting Karan was one of the most memorable parts of our trip. I highly recommend staying at Focal Local B&B, you won't be disappointed! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelseyjanewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2011

Thanks a lot, we really appreciate your review with caring details. It's our pleasure to have you as guests here. Hope to see you again. Best wishes for 2012...Happy New Year! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Focal Local, we felt as though we were visiting an old friend. Karan (the owner) greeted us with a warm, friendly smile and refreshments on our late evening arrival from the airport (they had arranged a seamless transfer for a small extra fee). Our room (Yesteryears) and the whole B&B was spotlessly clean, bed huge and comfy, everything worked and we adored the Retro theme! We spent two nights but could have easily spent two months there. Karan, his family and staff make you feel right at home and nothing's ever too much trouble. The breakfasts (traditional Thai) were fantastic and Karan's wealth of local knowledge, combined with fluent English, made navigating Bangkok's exciting craziness so much easier. Its location is only a short and cheap 5 minute tuk-tuk ride (which Karan and/or his staff will fetch for you) to the nearest BTS Skytrain station. Keep your wits about you walking up the little Soi Focal Local's located on dodging all manner of traffic (just adds to the great character and charm of the place!) and make sure you sample the tasty fare from the local night food stalls he recommends as well! Thanks so much Karan, family and staff for making our first two nights in Bangkok so enjoyable/memorable and we can't wait to catch up again when we're coming through next!

Room Tip: If a little bit of road noise bugs you, request one of the rooms on the second floor away from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Focal-Local, Manager at Focal Local Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Thanks so much. Focal Local was much more lively with the guests llike you. We'll maintian our standard to ensure that your next stay at Focal Local will never be the same, but more memorable! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 728 in Bangkok
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Home Bangkok
#5 of 728 in Bangkok
382 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#8 of 728 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 728 in Bangkok
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focal Local Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focal Local Bed and Breakfast

Address: 289 Soi Charoennakorn 28 | Charoennakorn Road, Klongsan, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $57 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Focal Local Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focal Local is a boutique Bed and Breakfast located on Thonburi district in historic downtown Bangkok. Formerly known as the old capital of Thailand, Thonburi district offers the perfect getaway from busy city life without compromising on transport. The ideal location to visit a local touch of Bangkok, with local temples, daily markets and local food stalls. Focal Local is just 5 minutes away from the BTS sky train station and Chao Phraya River by Tuk Tuk [Thai Motor Tricycle Taxi]. Our different themed rooms are designed to match the diverse tastes of all our guests. In addition, the authentic Thai or Western complimentary breakfast is served upon guest's preference. We offer guests extra services including in-room WiFi, Internet corner, and free shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS sky train or the pier. We can also assist you booking some tours in and outside Bangkok. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Focal Local Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focal Local Hotel Bangkok
Focal Local b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing