We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thief”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Green House BKK

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green House BKK
Ranked #57 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thief”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My daughter just traveled for 1 month through Vietnam, Cambodia, and Thailand, she stayed at this hostel on her last night, before her flight she asked if she could store her Backpack in a locker, they told her they were full, and said a back room was safe, when she returned later that day it was gone!! her camera was in the bag with all the photos she took on her first overseas trip, and all her souvenirs, clothes etc etc, there was nothing she could do, as her flight was in a few hours......the girls at the front desk said somebody maybe took by mistake, possible but probably not!, so be very careful with this hostel, this is a scam in other parts of Asia, your bag disappears just before you are due to fly out!.....make sure your bags are locked to something if you can't get a locker, as you can tell Dad is furious about this!

Shane.... Australia.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank shane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadir Z, Front Office Manager at Green House BKK, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Miss Shane,
Firstly , I am really apologize for the situation that happen with your daughter. I am not sure where your daughter put the bags. As our policy if our locker was full and customers really want to keep the bag with us. We will have only public area to put .
We will always suggest that the guest should keep important things with you because it is public area . I know it can not compare about your feeling and your value stuff that has been lose . But we are really apologize again for what happen.

Best Regards,
NATTHIDA KLUMJAIBOON ( NATT )
Front Office Manager at Green House Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    161
    125
    54
    60
See reviews for
21
161
102
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights. This place is all you need for a basic accommodation with no flares. The guesthouse had tasty food (more expensive then street food, but good quality and tasty). The room was clean and smelled nice. The double bed and pillows were quite comfortable as well. This is a good place to stay if your looking for budget ( we got a.c. And a double bed for 440 baht, just over 14 usd) but your not willing to stay somewhere that looks scary or smells bad. If this place isn't nice enough, check out some of the boutique places nearby that will run you between 600-1500 baht per night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good service and excellent price comfortable restaurant with good music all types of Asian food Israeli food western food and amazing people in the best location in Bangkok
I'll be back there again for sure thanks to Green House

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Perfect for backpackers, cheap budget hotel with free wifi, good food (reccommend the pumpkin soup). It's on the street behind koh San road so can be nosy if room is at back. Perfect location if you like the nightlife of bangkok. Great street food right outside. The beds are not the most comfortable but it clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellybrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

great service, clean rooms, hot showers, cool A/C. Front desk was very nice, the resturant and front of the hotel is bar none better than anything else on Ram Buttri and Khoa San.
ONLY COMPLAINT...they have locks on the outside of the doors. overnight some idiot locked mine and i pretty much had to break it open to get out to make my bus at 6 a.m.
Id recommend to anyone looking for this sort of thing

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arowdygator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

While the beds may not be the comfiest, the price is certainly right and the location is ideal (one street over from Kohsan Rd (so a little but quieter!). If you stay at the hostel you get 15% off at the restaurant, which has delicious curries!

Overall, the staff were friendly, and the amenities were suitable (a friend and I split a private room with AC and an attached private washroom). It suited us just fine.

The perfect place to stay for a few nights while in Bangkok!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenHouseTravel, Front Office Manager at Green House BKK, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi My name is Natty ,
I am working as a Front Office Manager at Green House Bangkok.
Firstly , Thank you so much for your nice compliments for us. We are really appreciated that.
And we are really glad that you are enjoyed while you spend time here.

Hope to see you again soon ! Thank you so much.
Have a great day!
Natty
Front Office Manager
At Green House Hostel & Travel Agency , Bangkok , Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked a triple room with a fan and a twin with AC.

Greenhouse is in a good location, 2 seconds from Khaosan Rd. This means tourist prices for everything and nothing comes for free.

I would recommend Greenhouse again because it was entirely average. Not the most cheapest but still around 6 quid a night per person which isn't so bad.

The best part that recommends it over others is the 200 baht charge to sling another matress down on th floor of any room. So 3 of us on a budget were still able to get AC by getting a twin.

For food, don't be fooled by the apearance of the kitchen across the street run by a Thai called Max. A dish is 40 baht compared to the hotels 100, so give the hotel restaurant a miss unless you go for western breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishRayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#44 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Chart
Baan Chart
#39 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#87 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
Nitan Hostel Khaosan
#93 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House Hostel
Green House Hostel
#560 of 1,158 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#136 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House BKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House BKK

Property: Green House BKK
Address: 84 Rambuttri st | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green House BKK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREEN HOUSE is a guest house and restaurant next to the world famous Khao San Road. Conveniently located close to a local landmark, the Viengtai Hotel on Soi Rambuttri, the 80-room guest house is open to all nationalities and offers clean, functional budget accommodation with a wide range of options of rooms including single, double, twin and triple fan or air-conditioned rooms and dorm rooms with en suite bathrooms or shared facilities. GREEN HOUSE offers one of the best restaurants in the area. A full international menu with great middle-eastern and Thai food is washed down with a full wine list, a well stocked bar including cocktails and a good range of cold beers! Now with Free Wi-Fi!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Green House BKK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Bkk Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing