We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet guesthouse in the heart of Banglamphu!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortville Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortville Guesthouse
Ranked #132 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet guesthouse in the heart of Banglamphu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Clean, quiet guesthouse only 10 minutes from the madness of Khao San Road. Rooms were small, but very clean. Provided with 2 bottles of water each day. A/C worked great. Front desk staff helpful. Breakfast not included in room price but discount given if you stay here. Breakfast is excellent!! An hour of free internet included with room as well. Not much of a "hostel vibe"...didn't meet a single person while staying here but that was ok as we were only there to sleep. Stayed here at the beginning of trip and liked it so much ended our Thailand trip here as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmc1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    117
    64
    15
    12
See reviews for
11
136
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

my wife i stayed from the 6th of feb for four nights to be fair good for price but hotel needs to just to fine tune things.

rooms are not big but we weren´t able to get balconey room which is worth the extra 2 - 3 euros as you get a fridge and 5 hours wifi included. we had superior room and didn´t have fridge and only one hour of wifi per day, so not asgood value and of course we didn´t have a balconey.

had to change rooms as front room had a bit of traffic noise but for a hostel good valuse as budget hotel aveage as breafast not included and no pool.

maybe better when soft opening is completed.

cheers

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovereignoverme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed on new years eve just prior to flight home. So convenient for Ko San Road (5 mins walks). Modern and chic

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lesleyp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed at Fortville when I arrived in Bangkok for 2 nights and at the end of my Thailand trip for another 2 nights. A friend that lived in Thailand recommended this place to me and I will forever be grateful!
It is affordable and a great deal for what you get. The staff is incredibly, friendly and more than helpful. The coffee shop, RPO, is great and I've had the best coffee here. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are also great with western toilets and my showers have always been warm! The rooms also have satiellite TV with BBC news, German, French, Thai and Chinese channels.

One of the best features is the location of Fortville. It's about 5 blocks to Khao San road, but you would never know it. It's also only 2 or 3 blocks from the Chao Prae river. You can take a river taxi tour down the river and get off at Wat Po and The Grand Palace. Best place to stay if you want to wander around and come back to your room and leave and wander again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adagio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

Nicely tucked away Guesthouse near KhaoSan Road. This guesthouse was newly constructed and away from the main traffic so it is quiet at night. The room was tastefully decorated with high ceilings. Unfortunately the the unfinished concrete style does make it feel slightly like a prison.

The room does not include breakfast which we didn't seem to mind as there are many street stalls close by. The front staff was very helpful with directions to the slights we wanted to see. Most of the main attractions are within walking distance, or you can take the ferry which is also close by the guesthouse.

Overall it was a good value place to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_vancouver_bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We only stayed here for 2 nights but it was definitely one of the best places we found in Thailand. Right near the Phra Sumen Fort puts you in close vicinity of Khaosan Road for all the nightlife you could want. The guesthouse was fabulous. The rooms are spartan but clean and very comfortable. The cafe downstairs offers discounts to hotel guests and their menu is nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Stay here. The rooms are spotless and the airconditioning is excellent. There is an excellent internet cafe attached. You must order the mango smoothie! Close to Kao San Rd, too. The staff bend over backward to be helpful. Relax on the patio overlooking the canal. A very value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lettucespray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#350 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#303 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#306 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#346 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Smile Buri House
Smile Buri House
#60 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortville Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortville Guesthouse

Property: Fortville Guesthouse
Address: 9 Phrasumen Rd. | Pom Phrasumen (Phrasumen Fort), Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortville Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortville Guesthouse is a reasonably priced boutique guesthouse. It is the first and the only one in Thailand with a “FORT” designed. Not only the exterior is different, also the interior is charming.With a “FORT” theme, we concentrate on our guests’ safety as our number 1 priority since the fortress represents security and protection. We provide CCTV, 3 Emergency Fire exits (including the main stair), smoking detectors, fire alarm system, and fire extinguishers on every corner of each floor. With us, guests can be sure that they will be safe in the arm of Fortville.According to the research on our targeted guests’ demand, Fortville Guesthouse provides you Standard Double, Superior Double, Superior Twin, and Deluxe Balcony with in-room facilities such as LCD TV with in-house satellite, double layers curtain, double glasses window (for noise pollution), comfortable bed and mattress, water heater, refrigerator (Deluxe Balcony Only), and more. All the rooms are simply designed to offer you private comfort with heartwarming hospitality.That is not it. To kiss your butt, we also provide some more to excite and comfort you such as, Boutique Elevator, Luggage Storage Room, Safe Deposit Boxes, Canal Bank Garden, and Roof-Top Restaurant. Moreover, you can stay in touch with your families and friends by using our WIFI anywhere in the building.With all these, we are sure that you cannot find one like us in Thailand.Just come and Feel It Yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Fortville Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortville Guesthouse Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing